Rayman Arena is playable on CXBX-R

Talk about Rayman himself and Rayman games!

Moderator: English moderators

Post Reply
Zinx
Moine
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 12:23 pm
Tings: 270

Rayman Arena is playable on CXBX-R

Post by Zinx »

Rayman Arena's Xbox version is now playable on the Xbox emulator CXBX-R.
If i am not mistaken the Xbox and Gamcube versions are superior to the PS2 version (not sure of the PC version).
This might be the best way to play a console version of the game because the Gamecube version of the game is currently bugged on Dolphin.
You can see a video of gameplay here.
ICUP321
Poilu
Posts: 102
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:37 pm
Tings: 520

Re: Rayman Arena is playable on CXBX-R

Post by ICUP321 »

Rayman 3 also seems to be booting in-game for me on CXBX-R as well, but there's no sound and a lot of the character models are deformed.
Screenshot: https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EOOhQ2tWkAM ... name=large
Adamek2008
Moine
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2017 7:37 am
Location: Poland
Contact:
Tings: 265

Re: Rayman Arena is playable on CXBX-R

Post by Adamek2008 »

People creating roms for CXBX-R have to fix it, it's hard to play in such a state.
Image
Hello Guys I Like Rayman :) :) :) :)
Zinx
Moine
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 12:23 pm
Tings: 270

Re: Rayman Arena is playable on CXBX-R

Post by Zinx »

Adamek2008 wrote: Tue Jan 14, 2020 2:02 pm People creating roms for CXBX-R have to fix it, it's hard to play in such a state.
It's not the people's fault lol.
The emulator is an experimental state currently and the compatibility increases over time.
And you know you could just run the PC version because its the exact same as the console versions lol.
Steo
Rayman 3
Posts: 30513
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: Drink
Tings: 227455

Re: Rayman Arena is playable on CXBX-R

Post by Steo »

That's cool. It's really surprising that Arena works, Xbox emulation is extremely difficult to work with compared to other platforms. I think the reason is because Xbox's are so similar to Windows.
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687
Adamek2008
Moine
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2017 7:37 am
Location: Poland
Contact:
Tings: 265

Re: Rayman Arena is playable on CXBX-R

Post by Adamek2008 »

Zinx wrote: Tue Jan 14, 2020 5:26 pm
Adamek2008 wrote: Tue Jan 14, 2020 2:02 pm People creating roms for CXBX-R have to fix it, it's hard to play in such a state.
It's not the people's fault lol.
The emulator is an experimental state currently and the compatibility increases over time.
And you know you could just run the PC version because its the exact same as the console versions lol.
Ok, but I still don't believe that the emulator can glitch the game in this way.
Image
Hello Guys I Like Rayman :) :) :) :)
RayCarrot
Uglette
Posts: 2136
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 5:46 pm
Tings: 29139

Re: Rayman Arena is playable on CXBX-R

Post by RayCarrot »

It's clearly an emulator glitch. The ROM is just the same as on console. Nothing to do differently there.
Steo
Rayman 3
Posts: 30513
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: Drink
Tings: 227455

Re: Rayman Arena is playable on CXBX-R

Post by Steo »

Yeah as RayCarrot says, it's the same as the console. On a modded Xbox, you run the .xbe file to start the game, Cxbx-R also opens .xbe files, so there's no difference in the ROM/ISO for the emulator, they're standard.
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687
Zinx
Moine
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 12:23 pm
Tings: 270

Re: Rayman Arena is playable on CXBX-R

Post by Zinx »

Rayman 3 is now getting more in-game and almost playable (there is still some bugs here and there) :
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JvAlOhV ... e=youtu.be
Post Reply