Rayman 2

Talk about Rayman himself and Rayman games!

Moderator: English moderators

Which version is your favourite?

PC
64
36%
Nintendo 64
3
2%
Dreamcast
28
16%
PlayStation 1
14
8%
Revolution (PlayStation 2)
65
36%
Forever (GBC)
2
1%
DS
1
1%
iOS
1
1%
3DS
2
1%
 
Total votes: 180

RayCarrot
Uglette
Posts: 1795
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 5:46 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:
Tings: 25324

Re: Rayman 2

Post by RayCarrot » Fri Nov 22, 2019 7:27 am

IIITA wrote:
Fri Nov 22, 2019 1:28 am
RayCarrot wrote:
Thu Nov 21, 2019 9:55 am
Well it's not the only method, you can use the Rayman Control Panel which can also patch the disc release to get rid of the pirate head error. Or just copy the files manually.
But I'm also curious why it has suddenly stopped working. Early versions of Windows 10 handled it fine...
Now Rayman Control Panel's turn.
It started to install R2 in Windows 10,Good grief !!
But got error shown below.
Image

GRAPHICS2.DAT failed to copy over, which did not occur in Windows XP with Alcohol 120%.

Do you think that mds mdf images made this error only in Windows10 with current update, I don't know ?
The images DID worked in Windows XP SP3 with Alcohol 120%, but not in Windows 10 x64 Build 1909 with Alcohol 120% !
Certain discs have the .DAT files overflow the actual available data, thus they can't be read normally. I wasn't aware of this until recently, and as the files are just dummy files for the DRM they don't need to be installed. In the next update I'll just have the installer ignore those files which should make it all works again :)

IIITA
Moustique
Posts: 156
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 2:08 pm
Tings: 995

Re: Rayman 2

Post by IIITA » Fri Nov 22, 2019 9:01 am

RayCarrot wrote:
Fri Nov 22, 2019 7:27 am
IIITA wrote:
Fri Nov 22, 2019 1:28 am
RayCarrot wrote:
Thu Nov 21, 2019 9:55 am
Well it's not the only method, you can use the Rayman Control Panel which can also patch the disc release to get rid of the pirate head error. Or just copy the files manually.
But I'm also curious why it has suddenly stopped working. Early versions of Windows 10 handled it fine...
Now Rayman Control Panel's turn.
It started to install R2 in Windows 10,Good grief !!
But got error shown below.
Image

GRAPHICS2.DAT failed to copy over, which did not occur in Windows XP with Alcohol 120%.

Do you think that mds mdf images made this error only in Windows10 with current update, I don't know ?
The images DID worked in Windows XP SP3 with Alcohol 120%, but not in Windows 10 x64 Build 1909 with Alcohol 120% !
Certain discs have the .DAT files overflow the actual available data, thus they can't be read normally. I wasn't aware of this until recently, and as the files are just dummy files for the DRM they don't need to be installed. In the next update I'll just have the installer ignore those files which should make it all works again :)
Thank you for your reply.
Ya, I checked files installed by Snagglebee's Rayman 2 Remake.iso and found that only LEVELS0.DAT shall be under C:\Program Files (x86)\UbiSoft\Rayman2\Data\World\Levels folder but no GRAPHIC*.DAT.
So, Rayman Control Panel v7.0.0.0 is trying to copy all files including DRM dummy files such as GRAPHICS*.DAT, I figured out.
Oh, I hope the Rayman Control Panel would be updated for eliminating such extra copy trying.

PluMGMK
Sandra Misu
Posts: 30447
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Tír an "Tuisil Ghinidigh" agus an "Mhodha Choinníollaigh"
Contact:
Tings: 4768

Re: Rayman 2

Post by PluMGMK » Fri Nov 22, 2019 8:47 pm

Wow, dummy files? Those sneaky buggers!

That first-person mod sounds like something for me to try, maybe reinject some difficulty in the game after all these years!

StelzenBomber
Chef Dragon
Posts: 1671
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:07 pm
Tings: 19532

Re: Rayman 2

Post by StelzenBomber » Tue Dec 03, 2019 7:31 pm

Idk if its already knowen but you can skip the trigger for golem 13 in revolution and walk around on the platform with the final mask , and you clip through it!

You need to do some sort of jump over to the platform before his trigger, i dont remember which

This happend to me the very first time i got there and you can imagine how confused i was

Henchman1028
Razoff
Posts: 1108
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 4:30 am
Tings: 7571

Re: Rayman 2

Post by Henchman1028 » Thu Dec 05, 2019 6:28 am

When I fought Grolem 13, after beating him, I noticed my save file was somehow deleted. I had to make a new one once I reached the Prison Ship.

Hunchman801
Bad Rayman
Posts: 77552
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2003 6:50 pm
Location: Paris, France
Contact:
Tings: 553620

Re: Rayman 2

Post by Hunchman801 » Sat Dec 07, 2019 3:12 pm

Henchman1028 wrote:
Wed Nov 13, 2019 11:56 pm
So, what would the sanctuary at the end of the Iron Mountains in Rayman Revolution where you fight Grolem 13 be called? The Sanctuary of Lightning and Air?
Back in the early days of the forum, several people, me included, liked to call it the Sanctuary of Iron and Air. Iron for the Iron Mountains, and air because Grolem 13 is air-themed, among others.

It's a shame Revolution didn't include a proper guardian, by the way. Grolem 13 feels very rushed, whether it's the poor gameplay of the boss battle, the lack of inspiration with regard to its design and the rather shitty name and description (the French version reads "Just-in-time manufacturing"; is he supposed to be a pirate creation or something?).
Image

PluMGMK
Sandra Misu
Posts: 30447
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Tír an "Tuisil Ghinidigh" agus an "Mhodha Choinníollaigh"
Contact:
Tings: 4768

Re: Rayman 2

Post by PluMGMK » Sat Dec 07, 2019 4:21 pm

I think in the English version it said "Bigum Aerum Tornadus Recyclus". I think both are self-deprecating remarks on the part of the developers about the very flaws you mentioned. :P

dr_st
Dora Dodemer
Posts: 139
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 5:52 pm
Tings: 5788

Re: Rayman 2

Post by dr_st » Mon Dec 09, 2019 4:45 pm

The funny thing about Grolem 13, is as lackluster as the fight is, the music is actually one of the more interesting tracks in Revolution.

CunningCondor
Flabard
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2019 11:17 pm
Tings: 160

Re: Rayman 2

Post by CunningCondor » Fri Dec 13, 2019 7:41 pm

I know this is an age old question but I was wonderin'...

I currently have the PC version of Rayman 2 but I'm wondering if the PS2 version is better?

I know the Dreamcast version is ideal but I ain't got a Dreamcast.

StelzenBomber
Chef Dragon
Posts: 1671
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:07 pm
Tings: 19532

Re: Rayman 2

Post by StelzenBomber » Fri Dec 13, 2019 7:50 pm

Ps2 version has its ups and downs

Play on emulator and decide for yourself

RayCarrot
Uglette
Posts: 1795
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 5:46 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:
Tings: 25324

Re: Rayman 2

Post by RayCarrot » Fri Dec 13, 2019 8:44 pm

CunningCondor wrote:
Fri Dec 13, 2019 7:41 pm
I know this is an age old question but I was wonderin'...

I currently have the PC version of Rayman 2 but I'm wondering if the PS2 version is better?

I know the Dreamcast version is ideal but I ain't got a Dreamcast.
The PC version is the original and has the original content. DC version just added some minigames and changed the hub and other minor stuff. Noting major.
The PS2 version did a lot of major changes, too many to list. Some of them pretty much everyone likes, such as more details in levels, 2D textures being 3D models etc. But a lot of changes are controversial, like actual hub areas to explore, having to play minigames to maximize your health, levels being mixed together in weird ways, no music upon replaying most levels and A LOT more pirate fights.
I'd say start with the PC version and then check out the PS2 one.

CunningCondor
Flabard
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2019 11:17 pm
Tings: 160

Re: Rayman 2

Post by CunningCondor » Fri Dec 13, 2019 8:45 pm

StelzenBomber wrote:
Fri Dec 13, 2019 7:50 pm
Ps2 version has its ups and downs

Play on emulator and decide for yourself
I've never been one for emulation. I have a PS2 anyhow. I'm just tryna find out if it's overall better than the PC version.

CunningCondor
Flabard
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2019 11:17 pm
Tings: 160

Re: Rayman 2

Post by CunningCondor » Fri Dec 13, 2019 8:47 pm

RayCarrot wrote:
Fri Dec 13, 2019 8:44 pm
CunningCondor wrote:
Fri Dec 13, 2019 7:41 pm
I know this is an age old question but I was wonderin'...

I currently have the PC version of Rayman 2 but I'm wondering if the PS2 version is better?

I know the Dreamcast version is ideal but I ain't got a Dreamcast.
The PC version is the original and has the original content. DC version just added some minigames and changed the hub and other minor stuff. Noting major.
The PS2 version did a lot of major changes, too many to list. Some of them pretty much everyone likes, such as more details in levels, 2D textures being 3D models etc. But a lot of changes are controversial, like actual hub areas to explore, having to play minigames to maximize your health, levels being mixed together in weird ways, no music upon replaying most levels and A LOT more pirate fights.
I'd say start with the PC version and then check out the PS2 one.
One thing is that I haven't been able to use a controller for the PC version (I'm playing the GOG version ported to Mac via PaulTheTall) and while I got used to the unusual keyboard controls over time, I'm sure I'd enjoy a controller more. I've already suck many hours into the PC version so I'm just left wondering if switching to PS2 would be an upgrade overall.

Steo
Rayman 2
Posts: 26684
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: na Corcaí Buafacha
Tings: 184333

Re: Rayman 2

Post by Steo » Sat Dec 14, 2019 12:42 am

It depends on whether you like the changes that Revolution has (some love them, some hate them), and whether you don't mind a lower framerate, since the PS2 runs the game kind of poorly.

The lower framerate annoys me a lot, it's something I really can't stand personally, so I play the Dreamcast version. It's like the PC version and runs at 60fps, but it has the extra minigames with Globox Village, and extra enemies too compared to PC. It also replaces the Hall of Doors with the Isle of Doors, which is another personal preference thing.

Also, you can multiquote by scrolling down on the full editor & preview instead of having to double post. ;)
How much Ray may a Rayman man if a Rayman may Man Ray?
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687

CunningCondor
Flabard
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2019 11:17 pm
Tings: 160

Re: Rayman 2

Post by CunningCondor » Sat Dec 14, 2019 1:44 am

Steo wrote:
Sat Dec 14, 2019 12:42 am
It depends on whether you like the changes that Revolution has (some love them, some hate them), and whether you don't mind a lower framerate, since the PS2 runs the game kind of poorly.

The lower framerate annoys me a lot, it's something I really can't stand personally, so I play the Dreamcast version. It's like the PC version and runs at 60fps, but it has the extra minigames with Globox Village, and extra enemies too compared to PC. It also replaces the Hall of Doors with the Isle of Doors, which is another personal preference thing.

Also, you can multiquote by scrolling down on the full editor & preview instead of having to double post. ;)
I do think I'd appreciate being able to play a 3D Platformer with a controller instead of a keyboard, but then theres the question of whether the content of the ps2 version is a downgrade of the PC version or not

Steo
Rayman 2
Posts: 26684
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: na Corcaí Buafacha
Tings: 184333

Re: Rayman 2

Post by Steo » Sat Dec 14, 2019 1:50 am

I wouldn't call it a downgrade anyway. It basically just made a lot of changes and has a hub world instead of the Hall/Isle also, but some of these changes I find a bit weird personally, so I prefer the original. There are also some other changes that I wasn't sure were really necessary.

It's still a good game, in fact, many people class is as their favourite version. I'm just that fussy with framerate and find the hub world a bit like a maze, so I'd rather play the original at 60fps with a linear level selection. :P
Last edited by Steo on Sat Dec 14, 2019 4:40 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: When your phone thinks wouldn't meant would
How much Ray may a Rayman man if a Rayman may Man Ray?
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687

CunningCondor
Flabard
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2019 11:17 pm
Tings: 160

Re: Rayman 2

Post by CunningCondor » Sat Dec 14, 2019 1:59 am

Hm. I may just hafta buy it and do a side by side comparison then.

Steo
Rayman 2
Posts: 26684
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: na Corcaí Buafacha
Tings: 184333

Re: Rayman 2

Post by Steo » Sat Dec 14, 2019 4:39 am

CunningCondor wrote:
Sat Dec 14, 2019 1:59 am
Hm. I may just hafta buy it and do a side by side comparison then.
I meant to type I wouldn't call it a downgrade, but my phone autocorrected to would. :facepalm:
How much Ray may a Rayman man if a Rayman may Man Ray?
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687

CunningCondor
Flabard
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2019 11:17 pm
Tings: 160

Re: Rayman 2

Post by CunningCondor » Sat Dec 14, 2019 5:08 am

Steo wrote:
Sat Dec 14, 2019 4:39 am
CunningCondor wrote:
Sat Dec 14, 2019 1:59 am
Hm. I may just hafta buy it and do a side by side comparison then.
I meant to type I wouldn't call it a downgrade, but my phone autocorrected to would. :facepalm:
ah. :p

The Jonster
Murfy
Posts: 27146
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2018 6:15 am
Location: En el más largo de los atajos
Tings: 64340

Re: Rayman 2

Post by The Jonster » Sat Dec 14, 2019 9:58 am

Just gotta love autocorrection. :lol:

Personally I wouldn't say the PS2 is either a downgrade or an upgrade. The best way for me to describe PS2 would be like a remaking of the original with a lot of changes done. Aside from the fps in certain areas and the lack of music that plays upon revisiting levels (my main peeves on this game), it's a good game. I'd say it's my 3rd favourite after the original PC and the DC versions.
Life happens. Just gotta roll with it!
Image
Steo wrote:
Thu Aug 15, 2019 5:05 pm

^ reminds me of mixing up directions and breaking the forum. :lol:

Post Reply