Rayman 2: Graphics Fix (Supports NVIDIA, Fixes Lag)

Talk about Rayman himself and Rayman games!

Moderator: English moderators

Locked
RibShark
Électoon
Posts: 1622
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 8:03 pm
Contact:
Tings: 15

Rayman 2: Graphics Fix (Supports NVIDIA, Fixes Lag)

Post by RibShark » Sun Aug 31, 2014 11:06 am

EDIT: Seems like there are more issues than anticipated. Can anyone facing issues try this download instead?.

Recently, I discovered a way to fix the graphics of Rayman 2, which doesn't work so well on newer PCs. This should fix the following issues (and maybe more!):
  • The game should now work properly in fullscreen, with no window border visible!
  • The game should run fluidly between 30fps and 60fps, with no frame drops or lag!
  • The game should work with NVIDIA cards on the latest drivers!
  • The game should run without requiring any Glide drivers (such as nGlide) to be installed!
  • The game should now not flicker at startup (which itself was a side-effect of the Glide workarounds)!
  • The game may accept switching via alt-tab, but it might still crash.
Instructions
  1. Download the fixed .dll files.
  2. Open the .zip file you downloaded, and place the three .dll files in the Rayman 2 installation folder (in the same folder as the Rayman 2 executable).
  3. Attempt to open GXSetup.exe. If every box is blank and a pirate-head is displayed, right click GXSetup.exe, click "Properties", click the "Compatibilty" tab, then select "Run the program in compatibility mode for: Windows XP Service Pack 2" and try again. If it still does not work, go back into the compatibility tab, then select "Reduced colour mode: 8-bit (256) colour" and try again.
  4. Once GXSetup.exe has been opened with no boxes blank, under Renderer, select the option containing "DirectX6", and under Resolution choose your prefered resolution. All other setting should be kept as default (although changing them may still work).
  5. Now start the game, and it should work flawlessly!
If anyone has any issues getting this to work, reply to this topic and I will do my best to help you.
Last edited by RibShark on Sun Aug 31, 2014 12:36 pm, edited 4 times in total.

Master
Rayman Origins
Posts: 49982
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 10:14 am
Location: Somewhere specific, I'd assume.
Tings: 404000

Re: Rayman 2: Graphics Fix (Supports NVIDIA, Fixes Lag)

Post by Master » Sun Aug 31, 2014 11:08 am

Ooh, a fix for the 60 FPS instability? I'm going to check this out for sure.

Hmm, I've got it set up, but it immediately crashes once the initial loading screen is finished.
Image

RibShark
Électoon
Posts: 1622
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 8:03 pm
Contact:
Tings: 15

Re: Rayman 2: Graphics Fix (Supports NVIDIA, Fixes Lag)

Post by RibShark » Sun Aug 31, 2014 11:19 am

Master wrote:Ooh, a fix for the 60 FPS instability? I'm going to check this out for sure.
Seems I made a mistake. It still fluctuates between 30 and 60fps, but it doesn't lag horrendously on Windows 8 anymore. I will work on fixing that though.

RibShark
Électoon
Posts: 1622
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 8:03 pm
Contact:
Tings: 15

Re: Rayman 2: Graphics Fix (Supports NVIDIA, Fixes Lag)

Post by RibShark » Sun Aug 31, 2014 11:40 am

Master wrote:Hmm, I've got it set up, but it immediately crashes once the initial loading screen is finished.
Can I have a screenshot of your GXSetup.exe? (Also, do you have a glide wrapper such as nGlide installed?)

OCG
Roméo Patti
Posts: 18552
Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 9:24 am
Location: RPC Pirate Ship
Contact:
Tings: 9820

Re: Rayman 2: Graphics Fix (Supports NVIDIA, Fixes Lag)

Post by OCG » Sun Aug 31, 2014 11:59 am

Pasting the 3 dll files result GXSetup to freeze at white screen.
Image
Image [YouTube] [Facebook] [Twitter] [DeviantART]

[Skype: アンドリヤ (OCG)] [Xbox Live: OldClassicGamer] [PSN: OldClassicGamer] [Steam: OldClassicGamer] [Nintendo Network ID: OldClassicGamer] [3DS FC: 0275-8128-3030]

Thank Mr. Skeltal Image

RibShark
Électoon
Posts: 1622
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 8:03 pm
Contact:
Tings: 15

Re: Rayman 2: Graphics Fix (Supports NVIDIA, Fixes Lag)

Post by RibShark » Sun Aug 31, 2014 12:06 pm

OldClassicGamer wrote:Pasting the 3 dll files result GXSetup to freeze at white screen.
Hmm... for me GXSetup starts after waiting at the white screen. However, my antivirus did cause some issues. Try disabling your antivirus or adding the dll files to the exceptions list.

Droolie
Oumbr
Posts: 4969
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 7:31 pm
Tings: 54355

Re: Rayman 2: Graphics Fix (Supports NVIDIA, Fixes Lag)

Post by Droolie » Sun Aug 31, 2014 12:21 pm

Hmm, it does run for me, but it fails to display most of the textures. What's your ubi.ini RibShark? Maybe that would help.

RibShark
Électoon
Posts: 1622
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 8:03 pm
Contact:
Tings: 15

Re: Rayman 2: Graphics Fix (Supports NVIDIA, Fixes Lag)

Post by RibShark » Sun Aug 31, 2014 12:28 pm

Well, this is certainly odd. It seems everyone has different problems...

Anyway, this is my Ubi.ini:

Code: Select all

[Rayman2]
GLI_DllFile=GliDX6
GLI_Dll=DirectX6
GLI_Driver=display
GLI_Device=Direct3D HAL
GLI_Mode=1 - 1600 x 900 x 16
Language=English
ParticuleRate=High

RibShark
Électoon
Posts: 1622
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 8:03 pm
Contact:
Tings: 15

Re: Rayman 2: Graphics Fix (Supports NVIDIA, Fixes Lag)

Post by RibShark » Sun Aug 31, 2014 12:37 pm

I've put an alternate download at the top. Graphics may be slightly worse, but compatibility may be higher.

Master
Rayman Origins
Posts: 49982
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 10:14 am
Location: Somewhere specific, I'd assume.
Tings: 404000

Re: Rayman 2: Graphics Fix (Supports NVIDIA, Fixes Lag)

Post by Master » Sun Aug 31, 2014 1:13 pm

I'm not using a Glide wrapper, here's my Ubi.ini for you

Code: Select all

[Rayman2]
GLI_DllFile=GliDX6
GLI_Dll=DirectX6
GLI_Driver=display
GLI_Device=Direct3D HAL
GLI_Mode=1 - 1024 x 768 x 16
Language=English
ParticuleRate=High
Image

deton24
Dora Dodemer
Posts: 759
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:22 am
Location: Poland
Tings: 5581

Re: Rayman 2: Graphics Fix (Supports NVIDIA, Fixes Lag)

Post by deton24 » Sun Aug 31, 2014 1:58 pm

My Windowed Mode fix

GOG version has f* up access to GXSetup which is responsible for settings. It's because some files is missing.
Just use my fix and get GXSetup back (run as admin) to set resolution,
install nGlide, and get also full screen back and better graphics than DX6.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/rdv7uieevzt8h ... x.zip?dl=0

Is there any way to play in 32 bit instead 16? I haven't found.
Last edited by deton24 on Sun Aug 31, 2014 2:00 pm, edited 2 times in total.

RibShark
Électoon
Posts: 1622
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 8:03 pm
Contact:
Tings: 15

Re: Rayman 2: Graphics Fix (Supports NVIDIA, Fixes Lag)

Post by RibShark » Sun Aug 31, 2014 1:59 pm

Odd.

I guess the DLLs just aren't compatible with certain machines. I'm keeping this topic up though, as I am planning to do something.

@Deton24: Glide graphics are poor compared to DirectX, so I wanted to avoid using glide wrappers.

GOT4N
Électoon
Posts: 3425
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 7:10 pm
Tings: 10

Re: Rayman 2: Graphics Fix (Supports NVIDIA, Fixes Lag)

Post by GOT4N » Sun Aug 31, 2014 2:05 pm

swag bb
you're too good Rib' GG!


RibShark
Électoon
Posts: 1622
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 8:03 pm
Contact:
Tings: 15

Re: Rayman 2: Graphics Fix (Supports NVIDIA, Fixes Lag)

Post by RibShark » Sun Aug 31, 2014 3:39 pm

I thought so, but, it seems not.

Still working on something cool though, so bare with me.

Could a mod delete this topic for now, as I am working on something that will heavily surpass this.

Master
Rayman Origins
Posts: 49982
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 10:14 am
Location: Somewhere specific, I'd assume.
Tings: 404000

Re: Rayman 2: Graphics Fix (Supports NVIDIA, Fixes Lag)

Post by Master » Sun Aug 31, 2014 3:45 pm

Hmm, we don't delete topics unless they're spam, I'll lock this.
Image

Locked