Linux

Talk about everything but Rayman!

Moderator: English moderators

PluMGMK
Pizzicatta
Posts: 30424
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Tír an "Tuisil Ghinidigh" agus an "Mhodha Choinníollaigh"
Contact:
Tings: 3303

Re: Linux

Post by PluMGMK » Tue Aug 28, 2018 7:52 pm

Ah yes, KDE looked like Windows 7 over a decade before Windows 7 was even a thing! :mrgreen: I remember Josh ranting about that once…
Well done on wrestling with VMWare like that anyway! That takes me back to the time before I ditched it for QEMU… To this day, I believe it's the only non-Windows-only hypervisor offering addons for Win9x, so that's good, at least for people like us! :P
A Perl script parsing the output of an "ls*" huh? When I see such hackery from professionals, it makes me feel much better about what I do in my spare time. :hap:

Fifo
Moskito
Posts: 8722
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2013 7:08 pm
Location: rm –rf /*
Tings: 24785

Re: Linux

Post by Fifo » Tue Aug 28, 2018 8:55 pm

PluMGMK wrote:Ah yes, KDE looked like Windows 7 over a decade before Windows 7 was even a thing! :mrgreen:
So I’m not the only one who gets the resemblance!
PluMGMK wrote:Well done on wrestling with VMWare like that anyway!
Thanks. It paid off at the end!
PluMGMK wrote:That takes me back to the time before I ditched it for QEMU…
Glad I could bring back memories.
PluMGMK wrote:To this day, I believe it's the only non-Windows-only hypervisor offering addons for Win9x, so that's good, at least for people like us! :P
Yup, that’s why I use it!
PluMGMK wrote:A Perl script parsing the output of an "ls*" huh?
Exactly.
PluMGMK wrote:When I see such hackery from professionals, it makes me feel much better about what I do in my spare time. :hap:
:bigup:

PopuriAO29
Ambre Écueil
Posts: 284
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 10:09 am
Location: Indonesia
Contact:
Tings: 6430

Re: Linux

Post by PopuriAO29 » Wed Aug 29, 2018 3:39 am

I have Vine Linux ISO, I think it's japanese linux distribution. plus i had download some old versions such as SUSE linux, Ubuntu, etc.
I've been tried to download iso for Linux and windows, so i was about testing on VM.
Image

The Embed Discord (See how much members being online):
Image
When you see ">", use the discord button (above) to join.

Doki Doki no Waku Waku! -Akko Kagari

incognito
Électoon
Posts: 15619
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 10:34 am
Tings: 0

Re: Linux

Post by incognito » Wed Aug 29, 2018 9:41 pm

Tbh I don't really get the whole retro OS ing done on computers, especially Linux, well, at least on Windows you can get some knowledge outta yer system and how stuff used to be and all, but on Linux it is a different flavor and all, as a dude highly valuing his time, I'd rather spend it setting up a secured rock stable system rather than playin around with oldie stuff 'y know ? That's just personal tho :)

PluMGMK
Pizzicatta
Posts: 30424
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Tír an "Tuisil Ghinidigh" agus an "Mhodha Choinníollaigh"
Contact:
Tings: 3303

Re: Linux

Post by PluMGMK » Wed Aug 29, 2018 10:00 pm

Tbh I've never played with ancient distros, but it's kind of interesting to see them all the same. Reminds me of that project to get old KDE versions compiling on modern systems. I should check that out again…

PopuriAO29
Ambre Écueil
Posts: 284
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 10:09 am
Location: Indonesia
Contact:
Tings: 6430

Re: Linux

Post by PopuriAO29 » Thu Aug 30, 2018 11:41 am

Have anyone haven't heard the old version for GNOME Desktop Environment? I have Vine Linux 2.5/2.0, which it might be older version of GNOME Desktop.
Image

The Embed Discord (See how much members being online):
Image
When you see ">", use the discord button (above) to join.

Doki Doki no Waku Waku! -Akko Kagari

Fifo
Moskito
Posts: 8722
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2013 7:08 pm
Location: rm –rf /*
Tings: 24785

Re: Linux

Post by Fifo » Thu Aug 30, 2018 12:17 pm

PopuriAO29 wrote:Have anyone haven't heard the old version for GNOME Desktop Environment? I have Vine Linux 2.5/2.0, which it might be older version of GNOME Desktop.
I’ve got a few old Linux distros with older versions of GNOME.

PopuriAO29
Ambre Écueil
Posts: 284
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 10:09 am
Location: Indonesia
Contact:
Tings: 6430

Re: Linux

Post by PopuriAO29 » Thu Aug 30, 2018 3:02 pm

Guess Vine Linux is actually Japanese linux distribution. started in 1999. I have got some older versions on ftp for ISO Vine Linux (like 2.5 or 2.0)
Being to know i might find wallpapers for any Linux distributions.
Image

The Embed Discord (See how much members being online):
Image
When you see ">", use the discord button (above) to join.

Doki Doki no Waku Waku! -Akko Kagari

Steo
Rayman 2
Posts: 26644
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: na Corcaí Buafacha
Tings: 183433

Re: Linux

Post by Steo » Mon Sep 10, 2018 6:08 am

Can someone lend me a hand please? I'm trying to run Debian 9 Stretch with a GTX 970 and a HD 6950 I had lying around. My idea is to have both so that I can boot into Windows if I want, but have an option to use Linux with the AMD. Anyway I can't get the AMD to work.

I finally got the AMD to display video and it hangs on boot with some nouveau errors. What I find a little funny is it seems to give fifo errors :lol:

Under that it just says gr: init failed, - 110

I basically just want both GPUs to remain in the computer and Linux to use the AMD. I don't even care if I have to make it disable the Nvidia completely in Linux to work. Does anyone know what I might be doing wrong? I'll try give more info in the morning about it if more is needed, I'm tired now :P
How much Ray may a Rayman man if a Rayman may Man Ray?
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687

PluMGMK
Pizzicatta
Posts: 30424
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Tír an "Tuisil Ghinidigh" agus an "Mhodha Choinníollaigh"
Contact:
Tings: 3303

Re: Linux

Post by PluMGMK » Tue Sep 11, 2018 8:32 pm

If you create a file with the extension ".conf" in the "/etc/modprobe.d" directory, and put in "blacklist nouveau", that should prevent it from loading nouveau at all. That should make it pick up the other card instead…

Steo
Rayman 2
Posts: 26644
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: na Corcaí Buafacha
Tings: 183433

Re: Linux

Post by Steo » Tue Sep 11, 2018 8:46 pm

I had actually tried that then ran update-initramfs -u and something else was happening but I think it was still hanging on boot after it switched displays. I'll try do that now and see what happens.

I think because my Nvidia card is primary it's using it as VGA before loading the OS.
How much Ray may a Rayman man if a Rayman may Man Ray?
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687

PluMGMK
Pizzicatta
Posts: 30424
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Tír an "Tuisil Ghinidigh" agus an "Mhodha Choinníollaigh"
Contact:
Tings: 3303

Re: Linux

Post by PluMGMK » Tue Sep 11, 2018 8:49 pm

Steo wrote:I think because my Nvidia card is primary it's using it as VGA before loading the OS.
Sounds plausible.
I don't know if I've ever pulled off anything like this. The closest is the VM configuration in which the AMD is primary, and the NVIDIA is secondary and passed through to a Windows VM. I've pulled that off all right, only with the even more delicate configuration of two NVIDIAs! Would you be up for trying that?

Steo
Rayman 2
Posts: 26644
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: na Corcaí Buafacha
Tings: 183433

Re: Linux

Post by Steo » Tue Sep 11, 2018 9:02 pm

I can try it yeah. I think the only difference is I have to use "Launch CSM" because the HD6950 doesn't have UEFI though that's OK really. I'll be buying a new one anyway should I stick to Linux.
How much Ray may a Rayman man if a Rayman may Man Ray?
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687

PopuriAO29
Ambre Écueil
Posts: 284
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 10:09 am
Location: Indonesia
Contact:
Tings: 6430

Re: Linux

Post by PopuriAO29 » Sat Sep 15, 2018 9:14 pm

I downloaded some old versions for Ubuntu. They have old beta version including 8.10 Alpha 3. On BetaArchive Forum, i saw Linux Distribution Betas Topic by Courage. all seems FTP site was down, and i wanted to download the older distro linux.

Anyway, I have Ubuntu 8.04 Alpha 6, It seems almost identical to be final, Dated March 2008 (while 8.03). I'll let you know to find some old linux distro i wanted.
By the way, here's the desktop for Vine Linux 2.6 R4! it uses Old GNOME Desktop Environment.

Image
Image

The Embed Discord (See how much members being online):
Image
When you see ">", use the discord button (above) to join.

Doki Doki no Waku Waku! -Akko Kagari

PluMGMK
Pizzicatta
Posts: 30424
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Tír an "Tuisil Ghinidigh" agus an "Mhodha Choinníollaigh"
Contact:
Tings: 3303

Re: Linux

Post by PluMGMK » Sat Sep 15, 2018 10:24 pm

Ah, the Mozilla suite! :nostalgic:

Steo
Rayman 2
Posts: 26644
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: na Corcaí Buafacha
Tings: 183433

Re: Linux

Post by Steo » Sun Sep 16, 2018 3:59 am

Just as a matter of interest, what desktop environments are you Linux users into? :hap:
How much Ray may a Rayman man if a Rayman may Man Ray?
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687

PluMGMK
Pizzicatta
Posts: 30424
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Tír an "Tuisil Ghinidigh" agus an "Mhodha Choinníollaigh"
Contact:
Tings: 3303

Re: Linux

Post by PluMGMK » Sun Sep 16, 2018 10:44 am

I mostly use Sway, but I also have a GNOME installation that I sometimes use. I'm not a huge fan of GNOME's UI, but that's where Jonas Ådahl &co. have been doing a lot of cutting-edge Wayland work.

EDIT: I only just figured out after about six years that Alt Gr+K creates the dead ring for the Å character. Wish I'd known that last year when I was doing my project reports involving ångströms. :fou:

Steo
Rayman 2
Posts: 26644
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: na Corcaí Buafacha
Tings: 183433

Re: Linux

Post by Steo » Thu Sep 27, 2018 11:36 pm

I was using GNOME on Debian while I was messing about with stuff. I used Cinnamon on Mint to test stuff anf had Origins working perfect on the HD6950 GPU I have but then my computer kept shutting off :mrgreen:

I don't think it was even the GPU causing it but it's not a great GPU in particular.
How much Ray may a Rayman man if a Rayman may Man Ray?
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687

Hoodcom
Bad Rayman
Posts: 37348
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2003 5:32 pm
Location: R̸̨̧̛̝͎͔̹͉̫̞͚͎͈̫̲̘͕̞͔̼̣͍̞̤̹̫̘̼͚̤̮̟͍̺̯͍̜̹͓̤͖͎͌̀̿͗̍͌̈́̿̿͑̄̀͌̒̅͛̄̾̈͠ͅayman Pirate-Community Lodge
Contact:
Tings: 493940

Re: Linux

Post by Hoodcom » Tue Oct 02, 2018 5:12 pm

Has anyone else been playing with Steam's proton ability with running Windows games under linux more directly?

So far I've only tried it out on my Asus ZenBook with the Intel graphics, but everything I've tried thus far seems to work fine. For the heck of it I even ran DragonBall Xenoverse 2 on it. It runs, is about all I can say. :lol: (I knew it wouldn't run well on Intel to begin with, I just had to confirm it.)

Though Sonic Mania for example was excellent. So I'm certainly excited for this.


Aside from that, I hope Plum won't mind my technical inquiries I've been giving him lately. :mrgreen:

Steo
Rayman 2
Posts: 26644
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: na Corcaí Buafacha
Tings: 183433

Re: Linux

Post by Steo » Tue Oct 02, 2018 5:16 pm

I would like to try it out myself when I get an AMD GPU, though I guess nothing is stopping me from just trying it with the Nvidia proprietary drivers for now, just to test it out :P

Edit: Actually though it's not really that powerful, my laptop has AMD graphics and surely it would do better than Intel :o
How much Ray may a Rayman man if a Rayman may Man Ray?
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687

Post Reply