Linux

Talk about everything but Rayman!

Moderator: English moderators

Steo
Globox Noël
Posts: 20932
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: Globox Village
Tings: 122745

Re: Linux

Post by Steo » Sat Oct 20, 2018 3:33 am

I have tried messing around with a few distros, but I've mainly used Mint. I can understand why people would prefer Linux over Windows 10 and I don't blame them.

I think it would be nice to see GoG do something similar to Steam (proton) and actually make some of those games work better on Linux. With a system as powerful as mine, I prefer not to be limited by an OS. Linux limits gaming while Windows 10 is so bad in general :lol:

As I said though, proton seems promising and I can only hope to see more improvements in the future and hopefully something similar for non steam clients.
Image
Image
Rayman 3 scores:

FC: 36178 CF: 103059 BOM: 81495 LOTLD: 120486 DOTK: 106819 LS: 37470 SBTC: 86068 HH: 95088 TOTL: 100563 TOTAL: 767226

Raymanarenaps2
Premier Grand Mini
Posts: 610
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 3:42 am
Tings: 2890

Re: Linux

Post by Raymanarenaps2 » Sat Oct 20, 2018 9:05 pm

Maybe if you send feedback to gog, they might add Linux suport. Linux doesn't have that big of a user base but If they know that people want Linux suport they might add it.

Steo
Globox Noël
Posts: 20932
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: Globox Village
Tings: 122745

Re: Linux

Post by Steo » Sat Oct 20, 2018 9:26 pm

That's probably the only reason at the minute is game compatibility that's stopping people. The only reason I'm using Windows now is for program compatibility but Linux is actually pretty amazing and so customizable too, not to mention it's free to use.

The Linux user base is growing dramatically in the past few months though. It doesn't utilise even nearly as many resources as Windows either and clearly isn't full of bloatware crap.

I'd actually love GoG to do that so I might actually contact them and ask. No harm and the more people that ask them the better.
Image
Image
Rayman 3 scores:

FC: 36178 CF: 103059 BOM: 81495 LOTLD: 120486 DOTK: 106819 LS: 37470 SBTC: 86068 HH: 95088 TOTL: 100563 TOTAL: 767226

Raymanarenaps2
Premier Grand Mini
Posts: 610
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 3:42 am
Tings: 2890

Re: Linux

Post by Raymanarenaps2 » Thu Oct 25, 2018 10:07 am

So, today I tried Tiny Core Linux and I got the version of it that would let you use wifi, but I couldn't get it to to find a any connection point. I ended up reinstalling Bodhi Linux.
Last edited by Raymanarenaps2 on Fri Oct 26, 2018 9:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

PopuriAO29
Sandra Misu
Posts: 241
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 10:09 am
Location: Indonesia
Contact:
Tings: 4625

Re: Linux

Post by PopuriAO29 » Fri Oct 26, 2018 8:52 am

I just went download package for Tiny Core Linux, which i have CorePlus ISO for installing on HDD. and as for Ubuntu 14.04, i decided download packages only (which i'm not gonna install package after downloaded). Firstly i have Lubuntu 14.04 LTS to install on VMware Workstation.
Image

The Embed Discord (See how much members being online):
Image
When you see ">", use the discord button (above) to join.

Doki Doki no Waku Waku! -Akko Kagari

Raymanarenaps2
Premier Grand Mini
Posts: 610
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 3:42 am
Tings: 2890

Re: Linux

Post by Raymanarenaps2 » Sat Oct 27, 2018 8:56 pm

I replaced my Moksha Desktop environment with Icewm which the Tiny Core distro uses. So now I am using Bodhi Linux with the Icewm window manger. (which acts as a very lightweight desktop environment as well.) I am trying it now and it is the most responsive thing I ever used so far the windows pop up instantly before a program is even loaded which is nice.

Steo
Globox Noël
Posts: 20932
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: Globox Village
Tings: 122745

Re: Linux

Post by Steo » Sun Oct 28, 2018 12:57 am

I'm liking the idea of using Linux but at the moment I've been just using MInt because I don't really like Ubuntu for some reason and I don't know too much about the others as of yet. I tried Fedora and seen that it uses .rpm installation files instead of .deb and dnf in place of apt.
Image
Image
Rayman 3 scores:

FC: 36178 CF: 103059 BOM: 81495 LOTLD: 120486 DOTK: 106819 LS: 37470 SBTC: 86068 HH: 95088 TOTL: 100563 TOTAL: 767226

Raymanarenaps2
Premier Grand Mini
Posts: 610
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 3:42 am
Tings: 2890

Re: Linux

Post by Raymanarenaps2 » Sun Oct 28, 2018 5:23 am

I made my own Linux Distro.
It is based off of Bodhi Linux, actually, it pretty much is Bodhi Linux.
I hadn't yet to change the boot screen yet but I will in a future update.
This distro has a lot of changes and useful programs to use from the get go including Chromium/Firefox, Vlc, Some games(open source games.), a free image editor called Gimp and lastly Gnotes.
There are more apps beside those but I plan on taking some of them away from future releases to make future releases of the Distro much smaller in install size. (I didn't want it to be over a gb.)
You can just install them again if you want some of these apps, but until then they are all here on this release.
Be sure to check the Gnotes app for some information and tips related to my distro from yours truly.
The task bar and desktop is a little empty, even when compared to the original minimalistic Bodhi Linux setup the reason is so it stays out of your way and to let you do what you want to do with it. (only applies if you choose the Moksha desktop which is the default.)
If you want to add stuff to the taskbar check the Gnotes app for information.
Sadly it takes up alot more storage mostly because of the apps I preloaded on it but you can easily remove these apps after installation to free up alot of space. I tell you how you can do just that on the Gnote app.

The iso is 1.7 gb to install. You can get the Distro from here. https://ufile.io/up4y1 The download will be up for only 30 days after this post has been posted.

The Distro will ask you for a password to enter. For this public edition of the Distro, the password is R0b200 to be able to log in and use it. As of now there is no way to make an account so you have to use what is provided, but i'l add that feature in a future update of this Distro.
If you want to change your password, open the Xterm app, enter in " passwd rob " then it will let you change the password. I'm not sure how to change the username yet.

PluMGMK
Pizzicatta
Posts: 28585
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Tír an "Tuisil Ghinidigh" agus an "Mhodha Choinníollaigh"
Contact:
Tings: 3875

Re: Linux

Post by PluMGMK » Sun Oct 28, 2018 8:35 pm

So I've decided to install i3 so that I can use a tiling WM even when I'm using the NVIDIA driver (since sway doesn't support said driver). And now I realize that the i3 logo has text in the same font I used in my signature, the origins of which I was just contemplating earlier today. :confus:

Steo
Globox Noël
Posts: 20932
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: Globox Village
Tings: 122745

Re: Linux

Post by Steo » Tue Nov 06, 2018 2:35 am

I'm planning to mess about with a few different distros on my laptop when I get the parts during the week instead of constantly messing with my PC. I'm also wondering if wine-d3d9-staging 3.19 will still have the sprite issues on Rayman Origins as I never actually sorted that out last time I tried. I tried compiling wine 3.15 myself using the staging and d3d9 patches, but no matter what way I done it, the gallium nine box was just greyed out.
Image
Image
Rayman 3 scores:

FC: 36178 CF: 103059 BOM: 81495 LOTLD: 120486 DOTK: 106819 LS: 37470 SBTC: 86068 HH: 95088 TOTL: 100563 TOTAL: 767226

PluMGMK
Pizzicatta
Posts: 28585
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Tír an "Tuisil Ghinidigh" agus an "Mhodha Choinníollaigh"
Contact:
Tings: 3875

Re: Linux

Post by PluMGMK » Sat Nov 10, 2018 8:48 pm

PluMGMK wrote:
Sun Oct 28, 2018 8:35 pm
So I've decided to install i3 so that I can use a tiling WM even when I'm using the NVIDIA driver (since sway doesn't support said driver). And now I realize that the i3 logo has text in the same font I used in my signature, the origins of which I was just contemplating earlier today. :confus:
So apparently this isn't actually the case, it's just that my browser decided to use that font when rendering SVGs! :fou2: It's my fault because I screwed up a FontConfig upgrade a few months ago, but I'm still not sure what I did wrong. :?

PopuriAO29
Sandra Misu
Posts: 241
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 10:09 am
Location: Indonesia
Contact:
Tings: 4625

Re: Linux

Post by PopuriAO29 » Sun Nov 11, 2018 7:46 am

So, i copied the packages deb file from Ubuntu 14.04 that i downloaded using lubuntu 14.04 synaptic. However, one of issue was detected when running Kubuntu 15.04, the Firefox 60 is clearly fine for me.
Image

The Embed Discord (See how much members being online):
Image
When you see ">", use the discord button (above) to join.

Doki Doki no Waku Waku! -Akko Kagari

Steo
Globox Noël
Posts: 20932
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: Globox Village
Tings: 122745

Re: Linux

Post by Steo » Sun Nov 25, 2018 4:13 am

With all these distros and environments to choose from, I still don't really know what version of Linux would suit me best. I really admire the customisation and how open Linux is though.

I mean, with WIndows I'd clearly choose WIndows 7, but with Linux it's another kettle of fish. The one I have tried out for the longest so far is Mint, mainly because I wanted to test stuff out and prefer it over Ubuntu. I wanted to just use plain Debian only I seem to be having all sorts of problems getting that to work, especially with my Vega 64.
Image
Image
Rayman 3 scores:

FC: 36178 CF: 103059 BOM: 81495 LOTLD: 120486 DOTK: 106819 LS: 37470 SBTC: 86068 HH: 95088 TOTL: 100563 TOTAL: 767226

PluMGMK
Pizzicatta
Posts: 28585
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Tír an "Tuisil Ghinidigh" agus an "Mhodha Choinníollaigh"
Contact:
Tings: 3875

Re: Linux

Post by PluMGMK » Thu Dec 06, 2018 11:09 pm

Check out this crazy theory. :paranormal: It reads like a joke, but as someone pointed out, together with this, it doesn't seem that far-fetched. :paranormal:

Steo
Globox Noël
Posts: 20932
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: Globox Village
Tings: 122745

Re: Linux

Post by Steo » Fri Dec 07, 2018 12:30 am

If this is true, this is a really good thing for Linux in terms of game/program compatibility. :o
Image
Image
Rayman 3 scores:

FC: 36178 CF: 103059 BOM: 81495 LOTLD: 120486 DOTK: 106819 LS: 37470 SBTC: 86068 HH: 95088 TOTL: 100563 TOTAL: 767226

Raymanarenaps2
Premier Grand Mini
Posts: 610
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 3:42 am
Tings: 2890

Re: Linux

Post by Raymanarenaps2 » Mon Dec 10, 2018 4:20 am

So, ever since I first started using Linux I had been consistently searching for a lightweight Linux Distro. I eventually found Bodhi Linux which is a very lightweight/modern Distro.

I later learned about window managers and Desktop Environments, I decided that window managers were generally much lighter than all the Desktop environments I messed with, but if you want a full desktop environment I recommend the Moksha desktop environment for the most lightweight and costumisable.

I went through a lot of window managers, and now I am using just the openbox window manager by itself, (no desktop environment,) which I found to be the easiest to use for being so lightweight. With this window manager set, I would be sure to have a task manager to keep track of what program is open when you minimize the windows.

When you load it up it'l start as a blank screen, when you get to the blank screen you just need to right click anywhere on the screen then a menu will appear. Go through that menu to find and open your applications.

So, you can now pick

Post Reply