Tonic Trouble on Windows 7

Talk about everything but Rayman!

Moderator: English moderators

Edd
Bébé Globox
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 8:50 pm
Tings: 30

Tonic Trouble on Windows 7

Postby Edd » Fri Mar 17, 2017 9:47 pm

I have finally managed to get Tonic Trouble (the Special Edition) working on Windows 7.

First some background information. There are two version of Tonic Trouble: The N64 version and the Special Edition (or beta version). Both versions were released in 1999. I prefer the Special Edition for many reasons including better graphics and bigger levels. You can easily spot the difference between both versions by looking at the health bar: The N64 version has thermometers and the Special Edition has red spades.

Here is how I got Tonic Trouble running on Windows 7:

Insert the CD (or mount the ISO image) and run SETUP.EXE. Luckily the installer is still working. During installation I chose "DirectX5 configuration (~ 224 Mb)". The default installation directory (C:\UbiSoft\Ed\) can be changed if desired.

When clicking on "Play" after installation or when running the Tonic Trouble desktop icon, I get the following error message:

"Cannot initialize Tonic Trouble. You do not have enough space on your hard drive."

Instead, start Tonic Trouble via MaiD3Dvr.exe in the installation directory. However, I get graphical glitches when starting Tonic Trouble now.

So what you need to do is download dgVoodoo:
http://dege.freeweb.hu/
I downloaded the latest version 2.53.
I followed this tutorial for dgVoodoo:
https://www.play-old-pc-games.com/compatibility-tools/dgvoodoo-tutorial/

Basically what you need to do is download dgVoodoo. It is a zip archive and contains two directories (3Dfx, MS) and one executable (dgVoodooSetup.exe). You need to copy all files from the MS directory (three dll files) and dgVoodooSetup.exe to the Tonic Trouble installation directory:

http://imgur.com/a/W6xwm

Next, you need to run dgVoodooSetup.exe. Click on the ".\" button to change the "Config folder / Running instance" to the Tonic Trouble installation directory and then click on "OK":

http://imgur.com/a/P2XON

(A new file named dgVoodoo.conf should now exist in the Tonic Trouble installation directory.)

There are no more graphical glitches for me when running Tonic Trouble now via MaiD3Dvr.exe:

http://imgur.com/a/MVWL6

I found that the music was missing (but the sound was fine). So what I did was I copied the directory GAMEDATA/WORLD/SOUND from the CD to the installation directory. Choose to merge folders and to not copy existing files. For some reason, a couple of MPX files were not copied during installation.

If Tonic Trouble is running fine then you can remove the dgVoodoo Watermark (dgVoodooSetup.exe / DirectX / dgVoodoo Watermark) and change the resolution to match your screen (dgVoodooSetup.exe / DirectX / Resolution).

The only issue I'm still having is that the intro video does not play.

Haruka
Rayman 2
Posts: 26719
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 9:19 pm
Tings: 178780

Re: Tonic Trouble on Windows 7

Postby Haruka » Sat Mar 18, 2017 8:56 pm

Howdy, that would be worth trying out!

I just wonder about something: does nGlide works as an alternative to dgVoodoo?

Edd
Bébé Globox
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 8:50 pm
Tings: 30

Re: Tonic Trouble on Windows 7

Postby Edd » Mon Mar 20, 2017 6:58 pm

I haven't tried nGlide. I will test it when I have time.

Edd
Bébé Globox
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 8:50 pm
Tings: 30

Re: Tonic Trouble on Windows 7

Postby Edd » Sat Apr 08, 2017 8:20 am

Okay so I tried running Tonic Trouble with nGlide but without success.

On the other hand, dgVoodoo works great. I just finished the last level. I collected all silver spades in all levels except for two silver spades in the pyramid. Funnily enough, that's how far I got many years ago as a kid.

ZuTheSkunk
Poulet Zombie
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 10:22 am
Tings: 115

Re: Tonic Trouble on Windows 7

Postby ZuTheSkunk » Wed Feb 21, 2018 11:19 am

I cannot get this to work. I did everything as instructed, and yet MaiD3Dvr.exe keeps instructing me to insert CD, even though the CD is already in. Using the shortcut results in a black screen followed by a crash of the application.
Image Image

Harpic fraîcheur
Lums Magicien
Posts: 24017
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 7:57 pm
Location: Au pays des prouts
Tings: 1310606

Re: Tonic Trouble on Windows 7

Postby Harpic fraîcheur » Fri Feb 23, 2018 1:30 pm

I will try this out. :)
Une nouvelle vague de fraîcheur, Harpic fraîcheur verte ! 8)
Image Image
boomboleros7 wrote:Harpic est imbattable. Harpic est légendaire. Harpic est divin.


Return to “Off Topic”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests