Rayman emulation

Discuss tools to aid in the modification and running of Rayman games.

Moderators: English moderators, Modding and utilities team

The Jonster
Joe
Posts: 24336
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2018 6:15 am
Tings: 50825

Re: Rayman emulation

Post by The Jonster » Sat Jul 07, 2018 2:12 pm

Edit:nvm I fixed it. :D
RAYMAN GO PLAY SOMEWHERE ELSE, I’M TRYING TO CONCENTRATE!!!
Image
Steo wrote:
Thu Oct 04, 2018 5:26 pm
^ reminds me of someone who can take a lot of criticism and still refuses to get angry with me. ^ is really friendly with others and < is actually impressed at this stage :)
R4Y_ANC3L wrote:
Sat Sep 01, 2018 1:29 pm
Aaron wrote:
Sat Sep 01, 2018 9:58 am
Oh yeah and happy birthday to Jonster :teuf:
Well, today isn't technically Jonster's birthday. You are wishing his Ting account a "Happy Birthday". :oops2:

Shadowrayman
Flabard
Posts: 245
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 11:33 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:
Tings: 160

Re: Rayman emulation

Post by Shadowrayman » Sat Jul 14, 2018 12:07 am

I'm running Rayman 2 in Project64 and everything works fine except the loading screen animations don't appear, can anyone help?
Why haven't I still haven't made my signature yet?

The Jonster
Joe
Posts: 24336
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2018 6:15 am
Tings: 50825

Re: Rayman emulation

Post by The Jonster » Sat Jul 14, 2018 4:59 pm

What version are you using and can you show a video?
RAYMAN GO PLAY SOMEWHERE ELSE, I’M TRYING TO CONCENTRATE!!!
Image
Steo wrote:
Thu Oct 04, 2018 5:26 pm
^ reminds me of someone who can take a lot of criticism and still refuses to get angry with me. ^ is really friendly with others and < is actually impressed at this stage :)
R4Y_ANC3L wrote:
Sat Sep 01, 2018 1:29 pm
Aaron wrote:
Sat Sep 01, 2018 9:58 am
Oh yeah and happy birthday to Jonster :teuf:
Well, today isn't technically Jonster's birthday. You are wishing his Ting account a "Happy Birthday". :oops2:

Shadowrayman
Flabard
Posts: 245
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 11:33 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:
Tings: 160

Re: Rayman emulation

Post by Shadowrayman » Sun Jul 15, 2018 2:03 am

My version is 2.3.2.202 however I found a way to get the loading screen by enabling "Detect CPU write to the N64 frame buffer" but inside the hole of the loading screen, there is a ton of coloured pixels and a pixelated line on the bottom of the screen. I will make a video when I get time.
Why haven't I still haven't made my signature yet?

Shadowrayman
Flabard
Posts: 245
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 11:33 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:
Tings: 160

Re: Rayman emulation

Post by Shadowrayman » Wed Jul 18, 2018 12:06 pm

The Jonster wrote:What version are you using and can you show a video?
Here's the video

The graphics plugin I'm using is Glide64
Why haven't I still haven't made my signature yet?

R4Y_ANC3L
Oumbr
Posts: 6879
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2017 6:14 pm
Location: https://youtu.be/kFxbZqu6eMM, Halogen Highway, Tetorigawa, Okehazama
Tings: 53120

Re: Rayman emulation

Post by R4Y_ANC3L » Thu Jul 19, 2018 2:27 am

Shadowrayman wrote:My version is 2.3.2.202 however I found a way to get the loading screen by enabling "Detect CPU write to the N64 frame buffer" but inside the hole of the loading screen, there is a ton of coloured pixels and a pixelated line on the bottom of the screen.
It does that usually. It's not too much trouble, fortunately.
It's normal...from the emulation's case.
Image
Marius et Luigius procedunt sunt siblings. Quod est messed ascendit navem eis sunt. Non postulo ut prohibere sh!t. Gravissime.
Image
LoveMetal wrote:< definitly finds R4Y more frightening than Fifo's posts.

The Jonster
Joe
Posts: 24336
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2018 6:15 am
Tings: 50825

Re: Rayman emulation

Post by The Jonster » Thu Jul 19, 2018 2:52 am

Shadowrayman wrote:
The Jonster wrote:What version are you using and can you show a video?
Here's the video

The graphics plugin I'm using is Glide64
Oh that's what you're talking about. As R4Y said before, that's pretty normal for this game with Glide, considering that I recently used this exact line-up for my R2 walkthrough. You could switch to Jabo but that plug-in has problems of its own too with this game.
RAYMAN GO PLAY SOMEWHERE ELSE, I’M TRYING TO CONCENTRATE!!!
Image
Steo wrote:
Thu Oct 04, 2018 5:26 pm
^ reminds me of someone who can take a lot of criticism and still refuses to get angry with me. ^ is really friendly with others and < is actually impressed at this stage :)
R4Y_ANC3L wrote:
Sat Sep 01, 2018 1:29 pm
Aaron wrote:
Sat Sep 01, 2018 9:58 am
Oh yeah and happy birthday to Jonster :teuf:
Well, today isn't technically Jonster's birthday. You are wishing his Ting account a "Happy Birthday". :oops2:

Shadowrayman
Flabard
Posts: 245
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 11:33 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:
Tings: 160

Re: Rayman emulation

Post by Shadowrayman » Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:08 am

The Jonster wrote:
Shadowrayman wrote:
The Jonster wrote:What version are you using and can you show a video?
Here's the video

The graphics plugin I'm using is Glide64
Oh that's what you're talking about. As R4Y said before, that's pretty normal for this game with Glide, considering that I recently used this exact line-up for my R2 walkthrough. You could switch to Jabo but that plug-in has problems of its own too with this game.
I might try Jabos plugin except in the widescreen options it won't let me select widescreen.

I am also getting a problem when running Rayman 2 Revolution in PCSX2 where it runs too slow, tried putting graphics to lowest, still too slow, no matter what I do it is still too slow. It starts to get slow when Murfy teaches you how to swim when you jump in the water, it slows down so much so it is barely playable. fixed it anyway figured out how to use speed hacks.
Why haven't I still haven't made my signature yet?

ElPrimordial
Tribelle
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2018 12:42 am
Tings: 65

Re: Rayman emulation

Post by ElPrimordial » Fri Jul 27, 2018 1:05 am

Hello all! I just wanted to do one's bit and share with you some nice shaders that I found for such awesome game that is Rayman 1!!!

These are for ePSXe emulator and Pete's OpenGL2 plugin.

My configuration:
Image
1.- Remember to change "Shader level" and turn on/off "Screen Filtering" accordingly of what you'll see noted on each shader example.
2.- Remember to enter in "..." feature (right next to "Shader effects" option) the PRECISE route for each shader, and to pick the same extension: option 5 for .slv/slf files (as in the picture) or option 3 for .fp/vp.
3.- Also pay a visit to the shader carpet you're going to use, and open any readme or an image showing you the recommended configuration, in case I missed something and when you used that shader, things doesn't look like the examples I'm posting here.

Where get these shaders?
http://www.emu-france.com/emulateurs/5- ... ders-pack/
Almost all shaders listed here are from Emu-France pack.

Want to know more?
https://www.ngemu.com/threads/links-and ... gin.76098/
Those folks invested 12 LONG YEARS developing shaders! Man, that's COMMITMENT!!!

Well now, let's begin!

Image
First a picture with no shader, for comparison purposes.

Image
CRT shader: Not my cup of tea, but since I found many variations of this shader in that pack and was a very popular request in NGEmu shader development threat, I posted it here. (Apparently one can control the amount of lines by changing shader level but I didn't try it and I'm not sure if works in all cases... for more info read ngemu thread and/or shader readme files, if there is any).

Image
Image
AA+Bump+NV HQ and AA+Bump Map+Natural V5 shaders: a very interesting 'texturization', that makes look like the game was running over a canvas, a fabric and similar surfaces. One can control the amount of 'texturization' by changing shader level.

Image
Image
Bilinear Sharp and Lanczos Sharp shaders: another interesting effect IMHO. Other comparable shaders are Jinc2-Sharper; Simple Edge Directed Interpolation (SEDI). Check the curious effect in the purple cotton candy skies!

Image
CComic it doesn't look too good in 2D games.

Image
Image
Its quite interesting how a small change, can make a shader look much better.
Actually, this is one of the few exceptions... the norm is that things look much awful when one doesn't configure the shader correctly and/or use it for games of different type that the one intended when developing it (3D shader for 2D for example).

Image
Really cool shader if was possible to make lines thinner. That noise effect give it a very nice touch!

Image
Image
xBR; xSaI; 2x-5xBR; 2xBR; 5xBR; 6xBRZ; AA; AA & DDT; AA & xBR; SimoneT pure 2D games shaders: These looks extremely similar, much differences comes from how bright or dark they are. These are the best for 2D games: very colorful, smooth, and bright, awesome textures, specially for Rayman themes.

Image
And the very best and finest, IMHO, its AA & xBR 2D + 3D FXAA Hybrid + NTSC TV colors emulation shader. Natural shaders were the ones that delivered the best colors but now NTSC colors emulation are much brighter, crisper and delightful.

Some more images, just in case:
https://imgur.com/gallery/AhbQFtQ

Steo
Globox Noël
Posts: 20845
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: Globox Village
Tings: 122310

Re: Rayman emulation

Post by Steo » Fri Jul 27, 2018 1:37 am

Welcome to RPC :)

Personally I've become a fan of the pixel perfect scaled sharp edges since I use the OSSC but I admit that some of these do look pretty cool. I like to have more vibrant colours though than most people would, so I would agree on using NTSC TV colours.

That is a really nice addition to the art though with some of those filters and it makes the game look a lot newer.
Image
Image
Rayman 3 scores:

FC: 36178 CF: 103059 BOM: 81495 LOTLD: 120486 DOTK: 106819 LS: 37470 SBTC: 86068 HH: 95088 TOTL: 100563 TOTAL: 767226

PluMGMK
Pizzicatta
Posts: 28566
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Tír an "Tuisil Ghinidigh" agus an "Mhodha Choinníollaigh"
Contact:
Tings: 3780

Re: Rayman emulation

Post by PluMGMK » Fri Jul 27, 2018 8:25 pm

The effect of making it look like it's on a canvas is interesting, especially given that an "oil-painting" look is part of Rayman Legends' artstyle. Still, this being a very different game, it probably doesn't work so well; I'd have to see it in action.

Oh, and welcome!

The Jonster
Joe
Posts: 24336
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2018 6:15 am
Tings: 50825

Re: Rayman emulation

Post by The Jonster » Fri Jul 27, 2018 9:38 pm

Hmm, I should test this myself when I have the chance. And welcome ElPrimordial!
RAYMAN GO PLAY SOMEWHERE ELSE, I’M TRYING TO CONCENTRATE!!!
Image
Steo wrote:
Thu Oct 04, 2018 5:26 pm
^ reminds me of someone who can take a lot of criticism and still refuses to get angry with me. ^ is really friendly with others and < is actually impressed at this stage :)
R4Y_ANC3L wrote:
Sat Sep 01, 2018 1:29 pm
Aaron wrote:
Sat Sep 01, 2018 9:58 am
Oh yeah and happy birthday to Jonster :teuf:
Well, today isn't technically Jonster's birthday. You are wishing his Ting account a "Happy Birthday". :oops2:

Steo
Globox Noël
Posts: 20845
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: Globox Village
Tings: 122310

Re: Rayman emulation

Post by Steo » Fri Jul 27, 2018 10:47 pm

I think due to the nature of Rayman 1, the gameplay is better without the filter but some people will think differently and the still pictures look great. I think the comic one is a pretty cool effect :)
Image
Image
Rayman 3 scores:

FC: 36178 CF: 103059 BOM: 81495 LOTLD: 120486 DOTK: 106819 LS: 37470 SBTC: 86068 HH: 95088 TOTL: 100563 TOTAL: 767226

The Jonster
Joe
Posts: 24336
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2018 6:15 am
Tings: 50825

Re: Rayman emulation

Post by The Jonster » Fri Jul 27, 2018 11:03 pm

It is indeed! The last ones makes me a bit curious but overall I still like the game without the filter, it works well enough for me.
RAYMAN GO PLAY SOMEWHERE ELSE, I’M TRYING TO CONCENTRATE!!!
Image
Steo wrote:
Thu Oct 04, 2018 5:26 pm
^ reminds me of someone who can take a lot of criticism and still refuses to get angry with me. ^ is really friendly with others and < is actually impressed at this stage :)
R4Y_ANC3L wrote:
Sat Sep 01, 2018 1:29 pm
Aaron wrote:
Sat Sep 01, 2018 9:58 am
Oh yeah and happy birthday to Jonster :teuf:
Well, today isn't technically Jonster's birthday. You are wishing his Ting account a "Happy Birthday". :oops2:

ElPrimordial
Tribelle
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2018 12:42 am
Tings: 65

Re: Rayman emulation

Post by ElPrimordial » Sat Jul 28, 2018 9:28 pm

Thanks for your greetings everyone!!
Actually, almost all these shaders look as good in motion as these snapshots. What better excuse to try the ones that caught your attention and replay Rayman just one more time? :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Steo
Globox Noël
Posts: 20845
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: Globox Village
Tings: 122310

Re: Rayman emulation

Post by Steo » Sat Jul 28, 2018 9:32 pm

ElPrimordial wrote:Thanks for your greetings everyone!!
Actually, almost all these shaders look as good in motion as these snapshots. What better excuse to try the ones that caught your attention and replay Rayman just one more time? :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Or 10 more times because it's such a good game :mrgreen:

I'll try them out though since if I wanted to use no shader I could just use the real hardware :P
Image
Image
Rayman 3 scores:

FC: 36178 CF: 103059 BOM: 81495 LOTLD: 120486 DOTK: 106819 LS: 37470 SBTC: 86068 HH: 95088 TOTL: 100563 TOTAL: 767226

ElPrimordial
Tribelle
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2018 12:42 am
Tings: 65

Re: Rayman emulation

Post by ElPrimordial » Tue Jul 31, 2018 5:42 pm

Indeed, 1 replay per shader :D

Aaron
Tarayzan
Posts: 5825
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2017 4:55 pm
Location: Hungary
Contact:
Tings: 44170

Re: Rayman emulation

Post by Aaron » Tue Jul 31, 2018 5:54 pm

I didn't say this until now because I wasn't subscribed to this topic, but welcome ElPrimordial! :D
Image
Signature made by R4Y_ANC3L

Shadowrayman
Flabard
Posts: 245
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 11:33 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:
Tings: 160

Re: Rayman emulation

Post by Shadowrayman » Fri Aug 03, 2018 8:21 am

The 5xBR v3.7 looks pretty good for the game, in Rayman Optimum it has an option where you can do that might try it out. Oh and welcome ElPrimordial!
Why haven't I still haven't made my signature yet?

ElPrimordial
Tribelle
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2018 12:42 am
Tings: 65

Re: Rayman emulation

Post by ElPrimordial » Sun Aug 05, 2018 12:53 am

Thanks guys!
Ups, I totally forgot about Rayman Optimun and Plus. Gonna tried them when I manage to get some free time :wink: :wink:

Post Reply