Rayman 2 - Texture Hacking - Tutorial!

Discuss tools to aid in the modification and running of Rayman games.

Moderators: English moderators, Modding and utilities team

GOT4N
Électoon
Posts: 3425
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 7:10 pm
Tings: 10

Re: Rayman 2 - Texture Hacking - Tutorial!

Post by GOT4N » Tue Apr 22, 2014 6:22 am

Taking it, it looks much much better, also I kept the old mod from me but I reduced it. I'm adding it to the list.

Master
Rayman Origins
Posts: 49982
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 10:14 am
Location: Somewhere specific, I'd assume.
Tings: 404000

Re: Rayman 2 - Texture Hacking - Tutorial!

Post by Master » Tue Apr 22, 2014 8:16 am

Thanks Ad! As for your question, I haven't actually tried out modifying texture resolutions, think I'll give it a whirl when I get back.

Alright, Wesh, hopefully it'll be enjoyed by many.
Image

SilentSanctuary
Roméo Patti
Posts: 243
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2011 4:30 pm
Tings: 9685

Re: Rayman 2 - Texture Hacking - Tutorial!

Post by SilentSanctuary » Tue Apr 22, 2014 5:51 pm

Wow, this seems amazing! I've been trying to do this for quite some time with no results whatsoever.
Image

PluMGMK
Pizzicatta
Posts: 28566
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Tír an "Tuisil Ghinidigh" agus an "Mhodha Choinníollaigh"
Contact:
Tings: 3780

Re: Rayman 2 - Texture Hacking - Tutorial!

Post by PluMGMK » Tue Apr 22, 2014 8:50 pm

Master wrote:Very much so, though those tools were released by a member called MixerX some time ago, so that ability's been a thing for a few months now.
I do recommend you try it, I've been poking around, and I've just discovered that there was a third coloured magic sphere in addition to the orange and blue ones, complete with its own stand too!
Hmm. A third sphere/base colour would make more sense in COBD part 1. Now all we need to do is figure out how to hack the map and change one of them to use the unused texture. :fou:

GOT4N
Électoon
Posts: 3425
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 7:10 pm
Tings: 10

Re: Rayman 2 - Texture Hacking - Tutorial!

Post by GOT4N » Wed Apr 23, 2014 6:12 am

PluMGMK wrote:
Master wrote:Very much so, though those tools were released by a member called MixerX some time ago, so that ability's been a thing for a few months now.
I do recommend you try it, I've been poking around, and I've just discovered that there was a third coloured magic sphere in addition to the orange and blue ones, complete with its own stand too!
Hmm. A third sphere/base colour would make more sense in COBD part 1. Now all we need to do is figure out how to hack the map and change one of them to use the unused texture. :fou:
you can do it. You just rename the name of files to use one of the two sphere and it should work.

PluMGMK
Pizzicatta
Posts: 28566
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Tír an "Tuisil Ghinidigh" agus an "Mhodha Choinníollaigh"
Contact:
Tings: 3780

Re: Rayman 2 - Texture Hacking - Tutorial!

Post by PluMGMK » Thu Apr 24, 2014 8:24 am

No, I meant that we should change the map of the first part of Cave of Bad Dreams to use a red sphere at the first mini Jano battle and then have the normal yellow and blue spheres in the next puzzle.

Master
Rayman Origins
Posts: 49982
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 10:14 am
Location: Somewhere specific, I'd assume.
Tings: 404000

Re: Rayman 2 - Texture Hacking - Tutorial!

Post by Master » Thu Apr 24, 2014 8:07 pm

Ah, I see what you mean, have the game retrieve the red textures for that part in the Cave of Bad Dream only. The rest retain the same orange and blue colouration.
Image

PluMGMK
Pizzicatta
Posts: 28566
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Tír an "Tuisil Ghinidigh" agus an "Mhodha Choinníollaigh"
Contact:
Tings: 3780

Re: Rayman 2 - Texture Hacking - Tutorial!

Post by PluMGMK » Fri Apr 25, 2014 10:22 am

Exactly. And I know our knowledge is nowhere near complete enough to do that, hence the :fou: smiley.

Master
Rayman Origins
Posts: 49982
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 10:14 am
Location: Somewhere specific, I'd assume.
Tings: 404000

Re: Rayman 2 - Texture Hacking - Tutorial!

Post by Master » Fri Apr 25, 2014 1:09 pm

Well, we can hope, right?
Image

Master
Rayman Origins
Posts: 49982
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 10:14 am
Location: Somewhere specific, I'd assume.
Tings: 404000

Re: Rayman 2 - Texture Hacking - Tutorial!

Post by Master » Sun May 04, 2014 11:30 am

Argh, I told myself to leave this topic be until I was free to mess about with the textures again, but I feel the need to get this one resolved quickly. I was merely wondering if it were possible to have a batch command to convert a large number of Targa files back to .gf, as opposed to having to convert them back one at a time via CMD as the method currently specifies.
Image

PluMGMK
Pizzicatta
Posts: 28566
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Tír an "Tuisil Ghinidigh" agus an "Mhodha Choinníollaigh"
Contact:
Tings: 3780

Re: Rayman 2 - Texture Hacking - Tutorial!

Post by PluMGMK » Sun May 04, 2014 11:54 am

That shouldn't be a problem, I think.

Perhaps:

Code: Select all

@echo off
    for /R %%f in (*.tga) do (
    gf2.exe -i %%f %%~nf
)
If %%~nf strips the ".tga", it should be left as just ".gf".
Maybe gf2.exe doesn't like being batched, but I don't see why it wouldn't.

GOT4N
Électoon
Posts: 3425
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 7:10 pm
Tings: 10

Re: Rayman 2 - Texture Hacking - Tutorial!

Post by GOT4N » Sun May 04, 2014 4:28 pm

Master wrote:Argh, I told myself to leave this topic be until I was free to mess about with the textures again, but I feel the need to get this one resolved quickly. I was merely wondering if it were possible to have a batch command to convert a large number of Targa files back to .gf, as opposed to having to convert them back one at a time via CMD as the method currently specifies.
Did you tried to replace the -e text in convert_all.bat and the .gf files to gf.tga and .gf.tga to .gf ?

Master
Rayman Origins
Posts: 49982
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 10:14 am
Location: Somewhere specific, I'd assume.
Tings: 404000

Re: Rayman 2 - Texture Hacking - Tutorial!

Post by Master » Sun May 04, 2014 5:09 pm

Nope, I wasn't anticipating there to be so simple a solution, curse me and my lacking knowledge of computer coding.
Image

GOT4N
Électoon
Posts: 3425
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 7:10 pm
Tings: 10

Re: Rayman 2 - Texture Hacking - Tutorial!

Post by GOT4N » Sun May 04, 2014 5:15 pm

Master wrote:Nope, I wasn't anticipating there to be so simple a solution, curse me and my lacking knowledge of computer coding.
I didn't tried too so I dunno if it works :p

Master
Rayman Origins
Posts: 49982
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 10:14 am
Location: Somewhere specific, I'd assume.
Tings: 404000

Re: Rayman 2 - Texture Hacking - Tutorial!

Post by Master » Sun May 04, 2014 5:31 pm

That being said, Plum's solution seems logical, I'll try it out sometime.
Image

LOchii
Électoon
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 11:23 pm
Tings: 20

Re: Rayman 2 - Texture Hacking - Tutorial!

Post by LOchii » Sat Aug 16, 2014 3:46 am

this can be made for Rayman M? :?:

GOT4N
Électoon
Posts: 3425
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 7:10 pm
Tings: 10

Re: Rayman 2 - Texture Hacking - Tutorial!

Post by GOT4N » Sat Aug 16, 2014 9:31 am

Nope :mrgreen:

Master
Rayman Origins
Posts: 49982
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 10:14 am
Location: Somewhere specific, I'd assume.
Tings: 404000

Re: Rayman 2 - Texture Hacking - Tutorial!

Post by Master » Sat Aug 16, 2014 10:31 am

Hmm, come to think of it though, does Rayman M use a similar engine also? I think we've seen that it's pretty likely 3 uses an upgraded 2, so why not M?

Also, I completely forgot about this thread, that DarkRay of ours was a fun project, wasn't it?
Image

GOT4N
Électoon
Posts: 3425
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 7:10 pm
Tings: 10

Re: Rayman 2 - Texture Hacking - Tutorial!

Post by GOT4N » Sat Aug 16, 2014 11:48 am

It was a fun project :mrgreen:
Wait, It does works I think, I mis read gf3 but it was gf2 I think, I'm gonna retry, then post a vid if it works :p

GOT4N
Électoon
Posts: 3425
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 7:10 pm
Tings: 10

Re: Rayman 2 - Texture Hacking - Tutorial!

Post by GOT4N » Sat Aug 16, 2014 12:27 pm

My bad, it's gf3 so no, not possible, maybe using texmod

Post Reply