Rayman Legends Modding - Bring your creations to life!

Discuss tools to aid in the modification and running of Rayman games.

Moderators: English moderators, Modding and utilities team

GOT4N
Électoon
Posts: 3425
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 7:10 pm
Tings: 10

Rayman Legends Modding - Bring your creations to life!

Post by GOT4N »

You guys wanted it, there you go, how to mod Rayman Legends texture. It's kinda long so take your time to not mess up anything else you'll regret it :winkgrin:

Prerequisites:
HxD (http://mh-nexus.de/en/hxd/)
Paint.net (Paint.net)
Extractor.rar (http://s000.tinyupload.com/index.php?fi ... 9983890702)
1. Download extractor.rar
2. Extract this to your Rayman Legends folder
3. Launch CMD in Admin rights and go to the RL folder with cmd
4. Create a folder in Rayman Legends folder: name it "extracted"
5. in CMD type "unpakke.exe upkk_ipk_v5.dll unpack bundle_PC.ipk extracted", wait a long moment. Once it's extracted, rename your bundle_pc.ipk to whatever you want (but don't delete it!)
6. go in extracted folder, keep in mind only .tga.ckd files are moddable
7. find a .tga.ckd file you wanna mod
8. Make a backup of your .tga.ckd file, open the original file into HxD, remove everything before DDS.
9. Save the file and change extension to .dds (keep original name!)
10. Modify what you want in paint.net then save
11. Open the backup of .tga.ckd
12. Copy everything before DDS then paste it at beginning of original .tga.ckd, save and change extension from DDS to .tga.ckd,
13. in CMD get back to folder of Rayman Legends then type "unpakke.exe upkk_ipk_v5.dll pack extracted bundle_PC.ipk", it's going to be veryyyyyy long (30 minutes)
14. It's over, you can launch Rayman Legends and profit of your modding.

Video tutorial:

If it crashes, that means you messed up in your header (because that means file is missing or not openable).
Last edited by GOT4N on Wed Aug 19, 2015 3:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Bradandez
Globox
Posts: 18589
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 12:50 am
Tings: 137530

Re: Rayman Legends Texture Modding - Make your creatons to life!

Post by Bradandez »

Can you do this with the demo too?

GOT4N
Électoon
Posts: 3425
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 7:10 pm
Tings: 10

Re: Rayman Legends Texture Modding - Make your creatons to life!

Post by GOT4N »

Bradandez wrote:Can you do this with the demo too?
I'm not really sure, but you can probably yeah :mrgreen:

Harpic fraîcheur
Fauché
Posts: 26121
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 7:57 pm
Tings: -5

Re: Rayman Legends Texture Modding - Make your creatons to life!

Post by Harpic fraîcheur »

Thank you GOT4N :D

btw : if you want to edit the textures with photoshop just install the nvidia texture tools
Une nouvelle vague de fraîcheur, Harpic fraîcheur verte ! 8)
ImageImage
boomboleros7 wrote:Harpic est imbattable. Harpic est légendaire. Harpic est divin.
Sanhedrin wrote:“Il est autorisé d’avoir des rapports sexuels avec une fille de trois ans et un jour »

joco1010
Électoon
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2015 8:58 pm
Tings: 5

Re: Rayman Legends Texture Modding - Make your creatons to life!

Post by joco1010 »

Amazing! I just unlocked Ubi Ray Painting(That skin for only developers). :)

incognito
Électoon
Posts: 15619
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 10:34 am
Tings: 0

Re: Rayman Legends Texture Modding - Make your creatons to life!

Post by incognito »

YES !

GOT4N
Électoon
Posts: 3425
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 7:10 pm
Tings: 10

Re: Rayman Legends Modding - Bring your creatons to life!

Post by GOT4N »

Still no creations?

Bradandez
Globox
Posts: 18589
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 12:50 am
Tings: 137530

Re: Rayman Legends Modding - Bring your creatons to life!

Post by Bradandez »

I'm currently making quite a few.

GOT4N
Électoon
Posts: 3425
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 7:10 pm
Tings: 10

Re: Rayman Legends Modding - Bring your creatons to life!

Post by GOT4N »

Bradandez wrote:I'm currently making quite a few.
Okay, waiting them! :proud:

MadMax
Électoon
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 12:19 am
Tings: 15

Re: Rayman Legends Modding - Bring your creatons to life!

Post by MadMax »

Can I use the same modding on Rayman Origins ?

gamerz31w
Moustique
Posts: 765
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:35 pm
Tings: 910

Re: Rayman Legends Modding - Bring your creations to life!

Post by gamerz31w »

I have the same question like you you MadMax user.

GOT4N
Électoon
Posts: 3425
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 7:10 pm
Tings: 10

Re: Rayman Legends Modding - Bring your creatons to life!

Post by GOT4N »

MadMax wrote:Can I use the same modding on Rayman Origins ?
You can, the upkk_ipk_v5.dll will be different, but you can, although texmod is faster and better

MadMax
Électoon
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 12:19 am
Tings: 15

Re: Rayman Legends Modding - Bring your creations to life!

Post by MadMax »

I`ve tryed it, but it didnt work with the upkk_ipk_v5.dll =) Just crashed with and error message.

GOT4N
Électoon
Posts: 3425
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 7:10 pm
Tings: 10

Re: Rayman Legends Modding - Bring your creations to life!

Post by GOT4N »

MadMax wrote:I`ve tryed it, but it didnt work with the upkk_ipk_v5.dll =) Just crashed with and error message.
that's what I said :P
You need upkk_ipk.dll for Origins, not upkk_ipk_v5, but why not using TexMod? It's way faster for Origins

MadMax
Électoon
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 12:19 am
Tings: 15

Re: Rayman Legends Modding - Bring your creations to life!

Post by MadMax »

Is there any way to get out all the background,forground and playground graphics ? Like the ground, plants, trees yeah everything .

Bradandez
Globox
Posts: 18589
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 12:50 am
Tings: 137530

Re: Rayman Legends Modding - Bring your creations to life!

Post by Bradandez »

Does this still work?

ICUP321
Feuillu
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:37 pm
Tings: 480

Re: Rayman Legends Modding - Bring your creations to life!

Post by ICUP321 »

So I decided to give Rayman Legends modding a go and this is the result:

RayCarrot
Uglette
Posts: 1975
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 5:46 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:
Tings: 26474

Re: Rayman Legends Modding - Bring your creations to life!

Post by RayCarrot »

I can't remember how the character textures in Legends are organized, but would it be possible copying over characters from Adventures to Legends?

ICUP321
Feuillu
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:37 pm
Tings: 480

Re: Rayman Legends Modding - Bring your creations to life!

Post by ICUP321 »

Carrot-master wrote:I can't remember how the character textures in Legends are organized, but would it be possible copying over characters from Adventures to Legends?
Possibly yes, since it's possible to port over sprites from the console versions of Legends directly into PC.
But the problem is that I can't extract any of the IPK files from Adventures because they're compiled differently. :(

RayCarrot
Uglette
Posts: 1975
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 5:46 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:
Tings: 26474

Re: Rayman Legends Modding - Bring your creations to life!

Post by RayCarrot »

I've got the Adventures textures. I can send you the character sprites if you'd like to try it out.

Post Reply