Rayman 2 HD "Remastered" Graphics Mod Reshade / SweetFX | UPDATE with dgVoodoo for HD Texture Mod

Discuss tools to aid in the modification and running of Rayman games.

Moderators: English moderators, Modding and utilities team

deton24
Photographe
Posts: 927
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:22 am
Location: Poland
Tings: 7581

Rayman 2 HD "Remastered" Graphics Mod Reshade / SweetFX | UPDATE with dgVoodoo for HD Texture Mod

Post by deton24 »

Rayman 2 Graphics Mod Reshade/SweetFX/GemFX/McFX Preset (made with Mediator Framework)
- Additionally, for complete R2 PC HD texture mod see here
- For my Rayman 3 PC Reshade see here / HD tex mod

After many years, Rayman 2 PC has lived to see amateur graphics remaster.
Ambient Occlusion, HDR, FXAA, Motion Blur... and many, many others.
by deton24





More videos:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1HTgqe2 ... dWeyC/view
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Ho_ssH ... yaC88/view
More screenshots:
https://sfx.thelazy.net/games/preset/4225/
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1sNXi5 ... sYGhbv_HUo

(preset 22 on the 1st video, final version on the 2nd with Scroll Lock hack [a bit too bright due to edit problems, probably luminosity was also higher, and blurry HUD was later fixed] and 3rd video without scrol lock hack.

Brightness can be further tweaked in R2 luminosity settings and nGlide/dgVoodoo configurator, or by picking different preset version.

We can run Reshade in Rayman 2 thanks to nGlide/dgVoodoo wrappers.
R2's default DirectX 6/Glide APIs are too old for Reshade to inject, and requires wrappers like nGlide or DgVoodoo (ddraw.dlll) to translate old API calls to DX9/+.

To test out different presets than default one, copy content of ReShade\PersonalFiles\Presets\X into Rayman 2\Reshade
Different, old preset versions attached (among others):
7 - is the least demand from all, and still not very bad.
23 - is the most beautiful but suffers from too big differences between the darkest and brightest parts of the view.
22 - is the opposite
32 - has better colors. Fixed dark areas. Worse look of bright areas than 38.
38 - fixed bright areas. A bit worse colors. Rather playable on all levels. So probably the best. Installed as default if memory serves.
Scroll lock hack (see below) sometimes prevents the characters/figures from overbright/shining, and enhances sharpness but it's troublesome (might be no longer needed in dgVoodoo with attached patch below)
38 though, has two variants attached, and I don't know which which one is current default (minus motion focus and tilt shift I disabled in default one)

Update 2
New installation guide (dgVoodoo, new 60 FPS patch, working with tex mod):

0. Download:
https://yadi.sk/d/FBnB6sIcR31jkA

(AntiVirus false positive in dgVoodooCpl.exe - alternative link with it (might be useful if you want further change contrast and brigthness):
PASSWORD: deton24
https://yadi.sk/d/Xmfww6jTXX70RQ

1. Paste and overwrite all the attached files in your Rayman 2 folder (tested on GOG, and Uplay version).
2*. Download HD Tex Mod - follow the guide (non-obligatory step, but highly recommended!):
viewtopic.php?p=1413452#p1413452

Game comes preconfigured with 1920x1080 x 16 resolution forced in dgVoodoo (plus contrast change and texture depth buffer fix) with relevant .exe for 16:9 (there is no x 32 support in Rayman 2's DX6 like in nGilde).

Change the resolution in dgVoodooCpl.exe copied to the game dir if you need -
if it's not 16:9 resolution, download different widescreen patch), don't overwrite any files from there beside Rayman2.exe after tex mod installation. Changing resolution in ubi.ini is no longer required (dgVoodoo forces its resolution set in configurator).

In case of performance issues - the game is preconfigured with MSAA x8, you can change it in dgVoodooCpl.exe.
You can still use weird bypass to achieve 15 FPS more - just press scroll lock few times for ~7-15 seconds, and frame rate willl increase, but it may end up decreasing graphics quality. Alternatively you can try it out using one of the two 38 presets with motion focus and tilt shift enabled. It may give better results, and after all, it may become randomly disabled in the process.

If you have small game window, very low FPS even without Reshade, no resolution to choose in dgVoodoo Control Panel, use dgVoodoo 2.55.3
(set 256MB VRAM in DirectX, or just don't overwrite dg's configuration file attached with Reshade).

Alternatively, you can try out below guide dedicated for nGlide without support for tex mod (e.g. if you can't run the game in fullscreen or your FPS is very low).

______________________
Previous installation guide (nGlide):

Update 1 New easier instruction:

0. Download:
https://yadi.sk/d/aM4r7cpTJ5XBDg
1. Paste and overwrite all the files to your Rayman 2 folder (tested on GOG, and Uplay version).
2. Install nGlide, run nGlide Configurator (search for it in OS, or look into Menu Start) and chose your resolution there (16:9 binary attached), I recommend to set gamma to 0.7.
I recommend to turn off vertical synchronization and FPS will be capped to 63 FPS, but the game will run faster, and smoother than with V-Sync enabled. One downside is tearing, though. In 9xxx GT GPUs, quite contrary, turning off V-Sync can be required to fix the problem of too fast game.

Everything should work now
(SweetFX enabled notification should be shown on game launch)

Save file with lower luminosity included - you may want to make backup of your old save by storing your old Data\Options and SaveGame folders).

3. Game comes preconfigured with 1920x1080 x32 resolution in ubi.ini (write x16 there if you don't use nGlide but dgVoodoo for tex mod) and with relevant .exe for 16:9, change it if you need (if it's not 16:9 resolution, download different widescreen patch) and edit ubi.ini writing there your current resolution.
4. Run the game, and optionaly press scroll lock multiple times (rather in Hall of Doors section) until the game starts to work in 60 FPS if you don't have powerful GPU enough to run this Reshade out of the box (at least OCed ~RX 570/580 or higher for constant 63 FPS cap with V-Sync off) . To estimate how many FPS you will normally get (without scroll lock hack), I found out that FurMark runned on AMD GCN GPU in 4/3 1920x1440 gives similar FPS (AA off, fullscreen off).

In case of any problems, read careffully below and apply these alternative installation methods/fixes.


Enjoy


(for GOG version) After installing the mod, if your default luminosity hasn't been changed so probably no new save slot was added, copy the attached files from folder Data here:
C:\Users\[User]\AppData\Local\VirtualStore\Program Files (x86)\GOG.com\Rayman 2\Data\

______________________
Older installation guide (deprecated):

1. Just install nGlide and configure Rayman 2 to use it:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/rdv7uieevzt8h ... x.zip?dl=0

You can add this line to your ubi.ini (main folder of R2):
ParticuleRate=High

You may use the widescreen patch (see my signature below) and you must set your widescreen resolution in nGilde, and in ubi.ini/GXsetup then too.

2. Try to put these files to your R2 folder, (if this method works, I think yes):
https://yadi.sk/d/J3iaZKskrQnW2

Then set gamma in nGlide to e.g. 0.7, and afterward adjust luminosity (just lower it a bit).

___
or if the method above fails:
2. Install Reshade (Mediator):
https://yadi.sk/d/rN6ozunqU9L0Dw

3. Copy presets' - folder "Reshade" to the Rayman 2 game folder
https://yadi.sk/d/WqqPUG5WrQnXq
Run unpacked Mediator, and choose game and OpenGL, preset and apply, and 'perm. push to application.'


4. Adjust luminosity in options of the game (probably for every preset separately).
https://www.dropbox.com/s/f5lwxmoz19xvg ... 7.png?dl=0
(Example setting of luminosity for my preset.)

Or here is the 100% savegame (without all lums) which sets luminosity automatically (good setting differs for various displays):
https://www.dropbox.com/s/pp9t806kb8515 ... y.rar?dl=0


5. Run nGlide and set gamma to 0.7.
You can adjust these to values of brightness by your self, but sometimes changing preset on display may give better results.

6. Improve smoothness of the game if you wish, by setting refresh rate and v-sync as below (nGlide is strange).

(smoothness results on OCed HD 7850):
______
60 Hz
(V-sync off) 45 FPS / bad frametime (slow game)
(v-sync on) 30 FPS (if you encounter 30FPS lock with no 60 FPS) / no change of frametime (still bad)

75 Hz
(V-sync off) 45 FPS / better frame time than in 60 Hz (reasonable balance between frame's time and framerate)
(v-sync on) 37 FPS / very good frametime (game runs comparatively to original, but there is less of smoothness)
______

7. Found a weird bypass to achieve 15 FPS more - just press scroll lock few times for a ~7-15 seconds, and frame rate will increase, and sometimes also graphics quality!

_____

Using this hack, for 60 FPS/1080p I recommend HD 7850 or R7 360 (maybe after OC).
For 30 FPS (not recommended) - at least R7 250X, or slightly better HD 7770.

If you don't meet the requirements, you can try out preset 7 along with scrol lock-fast-pressing hack for lower end GPUs.
Be aware that also motion_focus option consumes ~8 FPS (~52 vs 60 FPS). You can disable it if preset has it enabled (explained in instruction above).

8. 32 depth fix (looks good with point 7 applied):
http://raymanpc.com/forum/viewtopic.php ... 9#p1111432

9. Run Rayman 2
(Sometimes it is needed to run the game starting from Mediator and choosing the preset there, if you messing a lot in preset's options, but normally everything works "out of the box" - so by just unpacking my archive to your game directory)

Ignore wrong brightness of subtitles.
Shining of the objects in most cases disapears by scrol lock hack, but be aware that camera moves with Rayman with motion_focus enabled, and it has an influence on graphics quality, but believe me, it's not really annoying,

Enjoy

Advanced options of every addition are untouched.
In case if someone will want to tweak something in the presets, it's good to start with: vibrance/curves/tonemap/HDR. Maybe some manual gamma would useful.
Do not touch settings:
reinhard, skyrim tonemap, filmic curve, cel, colormod -
they affect the quality of graphics.
HPD, lens distortion, fisheye_ca - may cause CRT effect glitch (mostly invisible in motion_focus (demanding), watch out)

To optionally enable motion focus effect which is presented in the first video
(it prevents from some rare graphical glitches when using widescreen .exe - fixed with Cheat Engine [see Widescreen topic])
edit the line:
Motion_Focus 1
in Rayman 2\ReShade\GemFX.cfg or copy attached optional file

Option responsible for blurry HUD is Tiltshift in R2\Reshade\CustomFX.cfg (and in all optional, non-default presets)
Just edit the line:
#define USE_TILTSHIFT 1 (but it usually suppose to be set to 0 to avoid the problem, and that's how it's set by default)

(Image of preset 23)
Original:
http://oi58.tinypic.com/36og.jpg


Pic2:
http://oi61.tinypic.com/mijg9e.jpg
Pic3:
http://oi61.tinypic.com/mpj75.jpg
org:
http://oi61.tinypic.com/2j0hv7r.jpg

Comparisons:
https://sfx.thelazy.net/games/preset/4225/



If SweetFX/Reshade doesn't work at all
The files for overwriting in a game folder. Just copy and paste them, and edit ubi.ini to add your resolution, leave alone bit depth 16 if you're using SweetFX, messes in colors of preset a little.
Anyway, everything should work now.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/0djt029066y0s ... x.zip?dl=0
It contains applied and working preset.
Here it is explained why it happens:
http://raymanpc.com/forum/viewtopic.php ... 4#p1147357

Changelog:
- 18th August's afternoon - presets link freshly added (sry)
- separation of two presets ("Levels" option)
- Preset 32, 38 added (rather the best, compatible with dark locations)
- video added (but the game looks even better)]
- ready package to put in the game added
- save game which sets luminosity automatically
- instruction rebuilt
- no SweetFX bug fix
- 60 FPS fix added
- I added some info about disabling Motion Focus.
- I added some info about fixing blurred HUD
- Blurred HUD fixed in default preset
- Clearing stuff, disabling motion focus in default preset
- HD AI tex mod adaptation (dgVoodoo) and more info, new performance patch
- No more weird border around Rayman model (dgVoodoo did that somehow)

Warning!
If you can not pass some demanding fragment of a game on low FPS (and especially when you don't use fast Scroll Lock hack, just press Scroll Lock to disable Reshade for this moment. You'll get back more smoothness and better frame time in return, to overcome demanding places of the game, then you can turn it on again. Just a friendly remark (since 30 FPS with Reshade wasn't enough in some places for me)

__________________________________________________________________________________________
I'd like to share with that thing if somebody doesn't follow the general Rayman 3 topics.
All textures from R3 PS3/Xbox version are already replaced in GB version, and some new textures are added because that's easier since replacing mod is already created for GB by Maldo.
Maldo - known from Crysis 2 texture mod, made it for R3, and RibShark gave HD textures from X360 for Maldo, then he selected the best ones.

Here is currently the best tex mod for R3 by ICUP:
viewtopic.php?f=13&t=25053&p=1194220
__________________________________________________________________________________________
And there are some improvements made by Maldo in DC version of R2! and also for 1.

http://www.neogaf.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1209094

You can check this out too, I haven't mixed it together so far.

_________________________________________________________
Texture mod (AI upscaled) for Rayman 2 (N64 version):
viewtopic.php?f=89&t=27677
________________________________________________________
Rayman Arena PC HD Tex Mod
viewtopic.php?f=89&t=74263
________________________________________________________

Rayman 2, Rayman M, Rayman Arena, Rayman 3, Rayman Raving Rabids
extracted textures from various platforms:
viewtopic.php?f=89&t=27677#p1361145
_______________________________________________________

fixing DX6 framerate dips from 60 to 30 in Rayman 2 using vanilla game:
https://www.pcgamingwiki.com/wiki/Rayma ... een_fix.29
And more information about issues with the game.
__

If somebody wants to see how Woods of Light looks like in Unity:
viewtopic.php?f=51&t=25510&start=60#p1307797
viewtopic.php?f=51&t=26403
Last edited by deton24 on Tue Jun 30, 2020 12:19 am, edited 150 times in total.
incognito
Électoon
Posts: 15619
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 10:34 am
Tings: 0

Re: Rayman 2 Graphics Mod Reshade - Preset

Post by incognito »

Most impressive, I am gonna give it a try when I will replay Rayman 2
Rayman fan2000
Garatta Ciatik
Posts: 1502
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 5:55 pm
Location: UK
Tings: 10530

Re: Rayman 2 Graphics Mod Reshade - Preset

Post by Rayman fan2000 »

This looks great! I think some of it is a bit overkill, though. The colors are too drastically changed for my taste, but most of it still looks great!
deton24
Photographe
Posts: 927
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:22 am
Location: Poland
Tings: 7581

Re: Rayman 2 Graphics Mod Reshade - Preset

Post by deton24 »

That's the best what I could did without changing settings for every graphic option, which is very difficult to not worsen in matter of performance and look. You can choose the preset which you most enjoy, but last is the most optimized, but still suffers from too much brightness in brighter locations, and darkness is fixed more or less in comparison to previous presets, that's mostly everything what I could achieve. I need to post it somewhere else to catch someone more experienced in all those Reshade settings.



Rayman 2 32 bit color depth fix
Recommended to use with newest preset version.

Worth to see it in original state of game graphics
(in case of applying my mod, just press Scroll Lock to revert changes to normal, and adjust luminousity again).

Source: http://www.jeuxvideo.com/superlumberjac ... /739921747

1. Install nGlide
2. Copy GliVd1vf.dll from folder "Rayman 2\DLL" to folder "Rayman 2\DLL\Glide"
3. Set Glide in GXSetup.exe
4. Edit ubi.ini and replace x 16 to x 32
5. Works!

Compatible with widescreen patch

To get nGlide work with Rayman 2,
proceed with instruction and adding missing files from my post, to fix GXSetup crashes:
viewtopic.php?f=13&t=12794#p981787

Watch out for lauching GXSetup after editing ubi.ini.
It reverts x 32 to 16!

Impressions from non-moded game with 32 bit
Colors have more depth now. More stressed colors like yellow, red. Maybe even there is less neutrally now. But at least, there is less grey in colors. Even Rayman looks better now, more richly. Color of water in Whale Bay, and underwater exploration finally reminds me more some old dev screens/renders. Pretty nice. And I think there is more shading now in certain places.
Share your impressions too.
Last edited by deton24 on Wed Oct 09, 2019 3:04 pm, edited 7 times in total.
IIITA
Ptizêtre Vert
Posts: 166
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 2:08 pm
Tings: 1045

Re: Rayman 2 Graphics Mod Reshade / SweetFX - Preset

Post by IIITA »

I need help playing R2 with nGlide running in Windows 10 Pro Build 1511 and latest as of 6 May 2016;
My PC has 1600x900 minitor;

1. R2 with nGlide set with nGlide103_setup.exe from "Rayman 2 Windowed Mode fix.zip" and ubi.ini is;
[Rayman2]
Choose = 1
GLI_DllFile=GliVd1
GLI_Dll=Glide2
GLI_Driver=
GLI_Device=
GLI_Mode=1 - 1200 x 900 x 16
Language=English
GLI_DllFile=GliVd1

Game screen is 4:3 correctly shown in my PC 1600x900 resolution.

2. Now 32bit depth ; Copy GliVd1vf.dll from folder "Rayman 2\DLL" to folder "Rayman 2\DLL\Glide" and ubi.ini is;
[Rayman2]
Choose = 1
GLI_DllFile=GliVd1
GLI_Dll=Glide2
GLI_Driver=
GLI_Device=
GLI_Mode=1 - 1200 x 900 x 32
Language=English
GLI_DllFile=GliVd1

OK on 4:3 aspect though I could not notice the 32bit superiority. Maybe I am moron, could you suggest the superior point 32 bit depth on some particular screen ?

3. Now Wide screen.
I downloaded Rayman 2 Widescreen.zip and unrared 16:9 Rayman2.exe stamped 6 Sep. 2015 to the game installed directory.
Changed ubi.ini to ;
[Rayman2]
Choose = 1
GLI_DllFile=GliVd1
GLI_Dll=Glide2
GLI_Driver=
GLI_Device=
GLI_Mode=1 - 1600 x 900 x 32
Language=English
GLI_DllFile=GliVd1

Starting the game with Rayman2.exe for widescreen, the game still has the aspect ratio 4:3 not 16:9 !!!
Game screen looks shrunk horizontally.

Could nGlide103 not work widescreen Rayman 2 even in 16 bit depth or 32bit depth ?
deton24
Photographe
Posts: 927
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:22 am
Location: Poland
Tings: 7581

Re: Rayman 2 Graphics Mod Reshade / SweetFX - Preset

Post by deton24 »

You need to set the proper resolution in a nGlide_config as well.
Sometimes 32 Bit with my mod goes crazy a little in matter of colors, but I think it's better, especially on newer presets, but maybe not only.
In original state, without mod, 32 bits looks imho better, colors are more vivid, less faded. But there is not such a big difference, of course, because textures are 16 bit.
Last edited by deton24 on Wed Oct 09, 2019 3:05 pm, edited 2 times in total.
anaphasiia
Pizzicatta
Posts: 219
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 11:50 am
Location: Manhattan
Tings: 3495

Re: Rayman 2 Graphics Mod Reshade / SweetFX - Preset

Post by anaphasiia »

The blurred HUD doesn't leave me with a good impression.
Image
deton24
Photographe
Posts: 927
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:22 am
Location: Poland
Tings: 7581

Re: Rayman 2 Graphics Mod Reshade / SweetFX - Preset

Post by deton24 »

Ahh. It is one option which probably have some positive influence on some other thing.
And in fact, HUD is mostly invisible due to auto-zooming during gamplay feature.
I think it looks nice. Watch the gamplay.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1p5I5pI ... e=youtu.be

Sometimes it may be irrytating.
Last edited by deton24 on Tue Mar 08, 2016 6:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
IIITA
Ptizêtre Vert
Posts: 166
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 2:08 pm
Tings: 1045

Re: Rayman 2 Graphics Mod Reshade / SweetFX - Preset

Post by IIITA »

deton24 wrote:You need to set the proper resolution in a nGlide_config as well.
Do not use 32 Bit with my mod, since colors goes crazy a little.
In original state, without mod, 32 bits looks imho better, colors are more vivid, less faded. But there is not such a big difference, of course, because textures are 16 bit.
Than you for this.
I set it and got the good widescreen game scene.
Image

And what is "HUD" in anaphasiia's post ?
Master
Rayman Origins
Posts: 50019
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 10:14 am
Location: Somewhere specific, I'd assume.
Tings: 404185

Re: Rayman 2 Graphics Mod Reshade / SweetFX - Preset

Post by Master »

The life meters, lum counter, cage counter, etc.
Image
IIITA
Ptizêtre Vert
Posts: 166
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 2:08 pm
Tings: 1045

Re: Rayman 2 Graphics Mod Reshade / SweetFX - Preset

Post by IIITA »

Master wrote:The life meters, lum counter, cage counter, etc.
Thank you, I got understand HUD is for "heads-up display".
Last edited by IIITA on Sun Feb 10, 2019 5:15 am, edited 1 time in total.
gamerz31w
Moustique
Posts: 767
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:35 pm
Tings: 920

Re: Rayman 2 Graphics Mod Reshade / SweetFX - Preset

Post by gamerz31w »

Sounds like Jonatas Franzen's shading packs of Sonic Adventure DX on PC.Know it's time for Rayman 1 and Rayman 3 shading packs.
RayCarrot
Uglette
Posts: 2134
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 5:46 pm
Contact:
Tings: 29129

Re: Rayman 2 Graphics Mod Reshade / SweetFX - Preset

Post by RayCarrot »

There's for Rayman 1 as well, kind of at least. You can download these extensions to DosBox which will have better shading, I believe Rayman Optimum came with it.
Image
RayCarrot
Uglette
Posts: 2134
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 5:46 pm
Contact:
Tings: 29129

Re: Rayman 2 Graphics Mod Reshade / SweetFX - Preset

Post by RayCarrot »

Not sure, I've never tried it myself. I just go with the scalers that come with DosBox as they're good enough. Though the one used in for example Optimum is nicer.
Image
gamerz31w
Moustique
Posts: 767
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:35 pm
Tings: 920

Re: Rayman 2 Graphics Mod Reshade / SweetFX - Preset

Post by gamerz31w »

Did I mention you about Sega Master System emulator on PC that generate hyper realistic render plugins?I think it's mostly use to old school 2d platformers video games only.So you(Carrot-master),Ribshark and deton24 are working on high resolution textures for Rayman 2 on PC.
gamerz31w
Moustique
Posts: 767
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:35 pm
Tings: 920

Re: Rayman 2 Graphics Mod Reshade / SweetFX - Preset

Post by gamerz31w »

deton24 wrote:I can't really understand what you have written.
So PC is better, right?
Well it's the best solution to modify PC game if it's PC platform.
deton24
Photographe
Posts: 927
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:22 am
Location: Poland
Tings: 7581

Re: Rayman 2 Graphics Mod Reshade / SweetFX / 32 bit depth fix

Post by deton24 »

Fix for achieving around 15 FPS+ more during using my SweetFX/Reshade preset on slower GPUs!

Just press very fast scroll lock - it will change colors a bit, and sometimes motion focus effect will disappear, but you will see more FPS.
43>63 FPS increase!

Disabling motion focus effect doesn't help in such drastic performance increase.
I think even colors looks better now, and not, MF disabling also not affects graphics in a similar way.

Tested on Reshade 1.0 (with other effects) all attached in my package.

______________
I actually noticed that colors on my SweetFX preset on 32 bit with scroll lock toggle on/off FPS fix, are better however (they changed a bit)
Post Reply