Rayman 2 Graphics Mod Reshade / SweetFX / NOW 60 FPS / 32 bit depth fix

Discuss tools to aid in the modification and running of Rayman games.

Moderators: English moderators, Modding and utilities team

Post Reply
deton24
Dora Dodemer
Posts: 717
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:22 am
Location: Poland
Tings: 5371

Rayman 2 Graphics Mod Reshade / SweetFX / NOW 60 FPS / 32 bit depth fix

Post by deton24 » Mon Aug 17, 2015 10:48 pm

Rayman 2 Graphics Mod Reshade Preset
After many years Rayman 2 for PC has lived to see amateur graphics remaster
Ambient Occlusion, HDR, FXAA, Motion Blur... and many, many others.
(for Rayman 3 Reshade see here)




by deton24

(preset 22 on the 1st video
final version on the 2nd video
[brightness can be compensated in R2 luminosity settings])

Thanks to nGlide we can run Reshade in OpenGL mode in Rayman 2, and then tweak settings of graphics options. R2's DirectX version is too old.
I have a ready preset(s) for better graphics. Results are very interesting IMHO.

I gave a few presets. Last - 23, is the most beautiful but suffers from too big differences between the darkest and brightest parts of the view.
Previous number - 22, is the opposite, and preset 7 is the least demand from all, and still not very bad.
Update: Preset 32 - better colors. Fixed dark areas. Worse look of bright areas than 38.
Preset 38 added. Fixed bright areas. Little worse colors. Rather playable on all levels. So probably the best.

Installation:

Update, new easier instruction:

0. Download:
https://yadi.sk/d/U2Dk7xnHJCKgrA
1. And just paste and overwrite all files to your Rayman 2 folder (tested on GOG version).
2. Install nGlide, run nGlide Configurator and chose your resolution (16:9 binary attached).

Everything should work now (save file with lower luminosity included - you may want to make backup of your old save by storing your old Data\Options and SaveGame folders).

3. Game comes preconfigured with 1920x1080 resolution in ubi.ini, change it if you need (if it's not 16:9 resolution, download difffrent widescreen patch).
4. Run the game, and press scroll lock multiple times (rather in Hall of Doors section) until the game starts to work in 60 FPS.

In case of any problems, read careffully below and apply these alternative installation methods/fixes.

Enjoy.


Old installation guide:

1. Just install nGlide and configure Rayman 2 to use it:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/rdv7uieevzt8h ... x.zip?dl=0

You can add this line to your ubi.ini (main folder of R2):
ParticuleRate=High

You may use the widescreen patch (see my signature below) and you must set your widescreen resolution in nGilde, and in ubi.ini/GXsetup then too.

2. Try to put these files to your R2 folder, (if this method works ):
https://yadi.sk/d/J3iaZKskrQnW2

Then set gamma in nGlide to e.g. 0.7, and afterward adjust luminosity (just lower it a bit).

___
or if the method above fails:
2. Install Reshade (Mediator):
https://yadi.sk/d/rN6ozunqU9L0Dw

3. Copy presets' - folder "Reshade" to the Rayman 2 game folder
https://yadi.sk/d/WqqPUG5WrQnXq
Run unpacked Mediator, and choose game and OpenGL, preset and apply, and 'perm. push to application.'


4. Adjust luminosity in options of the game (probably for every preset separately).
https://www.dropbox.com/s/f5lwxmoz19xvg ... 7.png?dl=0
(Example setting of luminosity for my preset.)

Or here is the 100% savegame (without all lums) which sets luminosity automatically (good setting differs for various displays):
https://www.dropbox.com/s/pp9t806kb8515 ... y.rar?dl=0


5. Run nGlide and set gamma to 0.7.
You can adjust these to values of brightness by your self, but sometimes changing preset on display may give better results.

6. Improve smoothness of the game if you wish, by setting refresh rate and v-sync as below (nGlide is strange).

(smoothness results of my PC):
______
60 Hz
(V-sync off) 45 FPS / bad frametime (slow game)
(v-sync on) 30 FPS (if you encounter 30FPS lock with no 60 FPS) / no change of frametime (still bad)

75 Hz
(V-sync off) 45 FPS / better frame time than in 60 Hz (reasonable balance between frame's time and framerate)
(v-sync on) 37 FPS / very good frametime (game runs comparatively to original, but there is less of smoothness)
______

edit.
7. I found a weird bypass to achieve 15 FPS more - just press scroll lock few times for a ~7-15 seconds, and frame rate will increase, and also graphics quality!

So now, for 60 FPS/1080p I recommend HD 7850 or R7 360 (maybe after OC).
For 30 FPS (not recommended) - at least R7 250X, or slightly better HD 7770.

8. 32 depth fix (looks good with point 7 applied):
http://raymanpc.com/forum/viewtopic.php ... 9#p1111432

9. Run Rayman 2
(Sometimes it is needed to run the game starting from Mediator and choosing the preset there, if you messing a lot in preset's options, but normally everything works "out of the box" - so by just unpacking my archive to your game directory)

Ignore wrong brightness of subtitles, or blur on them.
The camera moves with Rayman, and it has an influence on graphics quality, it's not annoying, I think it may be better now - it's ''motion_focus'' option, demanding.
This efffect in most cases disapears when you apply point 7.

Enjoy:
Image
Please help in future tweaking of this settings. Advanced options of every addition are untouched. Good to start with: vibrance/curves/tonemap/HDR. Maybe some manual gamma would useful. (Image of preset 23)
Original:
http://oi58.tinypic.com/36og.jpg

Image

Pic2:
http://oi61.tinypic.com/mijg9e.jpg
Pic3:
http://oi61.tinypic.com/mpj75.jpg
org:
http://oi61.tinypic.com/2j0hv7r.jpg

Comparisons:
https://sfx.thelazy.net/games/preset/4225/

Do not touch settings:
reinhard, skyrim tonemap, filmic curve, cel, colormod,
affects the quality of graphics.
HPD, lens distortion, fisheye_ca - may cause CRT effect glitch (invisible in motion_focus (demanding), watch out)

If SweetFX/Reshade doesn't work at all
The files for overwriting in a game folder. Just copy and paste them, and edit ubi.ini to add your resolution, leave alone bit depth 16 if you're using SweetFX, messes in colors of preset a little.
Anyway, everything should work now.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/0djt029066y0s ... x.zip?dl=0
It contains applied and working preset.
Here it is explained why it happens:
http://raymanpc.com/forum/viewtopic.php ... 4#p1147357

Changelog:
- 18th August's afternoon - presets link freshly added (sry)
- separation of two presets ("Levels" option)
- Preset 32, 38 added (rather the best, compatible with dark locations)
- video added (but the game looks even better)]
- ready package to put in the game added
- save game which sets luminosity automatically
- instruction rebuild
- no SweetFX bug fix

Warning! (if you not apply successfuly point 7)
If you can not pass some demanding fragment of a game, just press Scroll Lock, and revert changes for this moment. You'll get back more smoothness and better frame time in return, to overcome demanding places of the game, then you can turn it on again.

__________________________________________________________________________________________
I'd like to share with that thing if somebody doesn't follow the general Rayman 3 topics.
All textures from R3 PS3/Xbox version are already replaced in GB version, and some new textures are added because that's easier since replacing mod is already created for GB by Maldo.
Maldo - known from Crysis 2 texture mod, made it, and RibShark gave HD textures from X360 for Maldo, then he selected the best ones.

And there are some improvements made by Maldo in DC version of R2! and also for 1.

http://www.neogaf.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1209094

You can check this out too, I haven't mixed it together so far.

edit. Here is currently the best tex mod for R3:
viewtopic.php?f=13&t=25053&p=1194220


________________________
(nothing to do with my presets)
For fixing DX6 framerate dips from 60 to 30 in R2, install DXwrapper. For fullscreen, edit wraper's ini. Disable or hide any overlays in case of performance issues. Just to let you know (nothing to do with my presets working with nGlide)

Download https://github.com/elishacloud/dxwrapper/releases
Copy dxwrapper.ini, dxwrapper.dll, ddraw.dll (stub directory), into Rayman 2 directory
Edit dxwrapper.ini: FullScreen = 1
If you previously used Glide, run GXSetup to choose DirectX renderer.
The best DX6 wrapper performance for this game. Behaves smoother than dgVoodoo and WineD3D.

__

If somebody wants to see how Woods of Light looks like in Unity:
viewtopic.php?f=51&t=25510&start=60#p1307797
viewtopic.php?f=51&t=26403
Last edited by deton24 on Wed Nov 21, 2018 2:49 pm, edited 65 times in total.

incognito
Ratcognito
Posts: 15619
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 10:34 am
Tings: 15073

Re: Rayman 2 Graphics Mod Reshade - Preset

Post by incognito » Tue Aug 18, 2015 10:09 pm

Most impressive, I am gonna give it a try when I will replay Rayman 2

Rayman fan2000
Électoon
Posts: 1474
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 5:55 pm
Location: London, UK
Tings: 0

Re: Rayman 2 Graphics Mod Reshade - Preset

Post by Rayman fan2000 » Sat Aug 29, 2015 4:14 am

This looks great! I think some of it is a bit overkill, though. The colors are too drastically changed for my taste, but most of it still looks great!
Image
YouTube ------------------------------------------------------------- Steam

deton24
Dora Dodemer
Posts: 717
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:22 am
Location: Poland
Tings: 5371

Re: Rayman 2 Graphics Mod Reshade - Preset

Post by deton24 » Sat Aug 29, 2015 11:16 am

That's the best what I could did without changing settings for every graphic option, which is very difficult to not worsen in matter of performance and look. You can choose the preset which you most enjoy, but last is the most optimized, but still suffers from too much brightness in brighter locations, and darkness is fixed more or less in comparison to previous presets, that's mostly everything what I could achieve. I need to post it somewhere else to catch someone more experienced in all those Reshade settings.


Offtopic - do not use with this graphic mod - deteriorating quality, but U can use it without it.
Curiousity.

Rayman 2 32 bit color depth fix
Worth to see it in original state of game graphics
(in case of applying my mod, just press Scroll Lock to revert changes to normal, and adjust luminousity again)

Source: http://www.jeuxvideo.com/superlumberjac ... /739921747

1. Install nGlide
2. Copy GliVd1vf.dll from folder "Rayman 2\DLL" to folder "Rayman 2\DLL\Glide"
3. Set Glide in GXSetup.exe
4. Edit ubi.ini and replace x 16 to x 32
5. Works!

Compatible with widescreen patch

To get nGlide work with Rayman 2,
proceed with instruction and adding missing files from my post, to fix GXSetup crashes:
viewtopic.php?f=13&t=12794#p981787

Watch out for lauching GXSetup after editing ubi.ini.
It reverts x 32 to 16!

Impressions from non-moded game with 32 bit
Colors have more depth now. More stressed colors like yellow, red. Maybe even there is less neutrally now. But at least, there is less grey in colors. Even Rayman looks better now, more richly. Color of water in Whale Bay, and underwater exploration finally reminds me more some old dev screens/renders. Pretty nice. And I think there is more shading now in certain places.
Share your impressions too.
Last edited by deton24 on Tue Nov 06, 2018 1:49 am, edited 6 times in total.

IIITA
Mouru
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 2:08 pm
Tings: 885

Re: Rayman 2 Graphics Mod Reshade / SweetFX - Preset

Post by IIITA » Mon Mar 07, 2016 12:09 pm

I need help playing R2 with nGlide running in Windows 10 Pro Build 1511 and latest as of 6 May 2016;
My PC has 1600x900 minitor;

1. R2 with nGlide set with nGlide103_setup.exe from "Rayman 2 Windowed Mode fix.zip" and ubi.ini is;
[Rayman2]
Choose = 1
GLI_DllFile=GliVd1
GLI_Dll=Glide2
GLI_Driver=
GLI_Device=
GLI_Mode=1 - 1200 x 900 x 16
Language=English
GLI_DllFile=GliVd1

Game screen is 4:3 correctly shown in my PC 1600x900 resolution.

2. Now 32bit depth ; Copy GliVd1vf.dll from folder "Rayman 2\DLL" to folder "Rayman 2\DLL\Glide" and ubi.ini is;
[Rayman2]
Choose = 1
GLI_DllFile=GliVd1
GLI_Dll=Glide2
GLI_Driver=
GLI_Device=
GLI_Mode=1 - 1200 x 900 x 32
Language=English
GLI_DllFile=GliVd1

OK on 4:3 aspect though I could not notice the 32bit superiority. Maybe I am moron, could you suggest the superior point 32 bit depth on some particular screen ?

3. Now Wide screen.
I downloaded Rayman 2 Widescreen.zip and unrared 16:9 Rayman2.exe stamped 6 Sep. 2015 to the game installed directory.
Changed ubi.ini to ;
[Rayman2]
Choose = 1
GLI_DllFile=GliVd1
GLI_Dll=Glide2
GLI_Driver=
GLI_Device=
GLI_Mode=1 - 1600 x 900 x 32
Language=English
GLI_DllFile=GliVd1

Starting the game with Rayman2.exe for widescreen, the game still has the aspect ratio 4:3 not 16:9 !!!
Game screen looks shrunk horizontally.

Could nGlide103 not work widescreen Rayman 2 even in 16 bit depth or 32bit depth ?

deton24
Dora Dodemer
Posts: 717
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:22 am
Location: Poland
Tings: 5371

Re: Rayman 2 Graphics Mod Reshade / SweetFX - Preset

Post by deton24 » Mon Mar 07, 2016 3:31 pm

You need to set the proper resolution in a nGlide_config as well.
Do not use 32 Bit with my mod, since colors go crazy a little.
In original state, without mod, 32 bits looks imho better, colors are more vivid, less faded. But there is not such a big difference, of course, because textures are 16 bit.
Last edited by deton24 on Tue Apr 03, 2018 12:00 am, edited 1 time in total.

anaphasiia
Pizzicatta
Posts: 219
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 11:50 am
Location: Manhattan
Tings: 3495

Re: Rayman 2 Graphics Mod Reshade / SweetFX - Preset

Post by anaphasiia » Mon Mar 07, 2016 9:35 pm

The blurred HUD doesn't leave me with a good impression.
Image

deton24
Dora Dodemer
Posts: 717
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:22 am
Location: Poland
Tings: 5371

Re: Rayman 2 Graphics Mod Reshade / SweetFX - Preset

Post by deton24 » Mon Mar 07, 2016 9:39 pm

Ahh. It is one option which probably have some positive influence on some other thing.
And in fact, HUD is mostly invisible due to auto-zooming during gamplay feature.
I think it looks nice. Watch the gamplay.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1p5I5pI ... e=youtu.be

Sometimes it may be irrytating.
Last edited by deton24 on Tue Mar 08, 2016 6:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

IIITA
Mouru
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 2:08 pm
Tings: 885

Re: Rayman 2 Graphics Mod Reshade / SweetFX - Preset

Post by IIITA » Tue Mar 08, 2016 2:06 am

deton24 wrote:You need to set the proper resolution in a nGlide_config as well.
Do not use 32 Bit with my mod, since colors goes crazy a little.
In original state, without mod, 32 bits looks imho better, colors are more vivid, less faded. But there is not such a big difference, of course, because textures are 16 bit.
Than you for this.
I set it and got the good widescreen game scene.
Image

And what is "HUD" in anaphasiia's post ?

Master
Rayman Origins
Posts: 49982
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 10:14 am
Location: Somewhere specific, I'd assume.
Tings: 404000

Re: Rayman 2 Graphics Mod Reshade / SweetFX - Preset

Post by Master » Tue Mar 08, 2016 7:35 am

The life meters, lum counter, cage counter, etc.
Image

IIITA
Mouru
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 2:08 pm
Tings: 885

Re: Rayman 2 Graphics Mod Reshade / SweetFX - Preset

Post by IIITA » Tue Mar 08, 2016 7:55 am

Master wrote:The life meters, lum counter, cage counter, etc.
Thank you, I got understand HUD is for "head-up display".

gamerz31w
Poilu
Posts: 687
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:35 pm
Tings: 520

Re: Rayman 2 Graphics Mod Reshade / SweetFX - Preset

Post by gamerz31w » Tue Mar 08, 2016 3:48 pm

Sounds like Jonatas Franzen's shading packs of Sonic Adventure DX on PC.Know it's time for Rayman 1 and Rayman 3 shading packs.


Carrot-master
Murray
Posts: 1578
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 5:46 pm
Tings: 21715

Re: Rayman 2 Graphics Mod Reshade / SweetFX - Preset

Post by Carrot-master » Tue Mar 08, 2016 7:24 pm

There's for Rayman 1 as well, kind of at least. You can download these extensions to DosBox which will have better shading, I believe Rayman Optimum came with it.


Carrot-master
Murray
Posts: 1578
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 5:46 pm
Tings: 21715

Re: Rayman 2 Graphics Mod Reshade / SweetFX - Preset

Post by Carrot-master » Tue Mar 08, 2016 8:31 pm

Not sure, I've never tried it myself. I just go with the scalers that come with DosBox as they're good enough. Though the one used in for example Optimum is nicer.

gamerz31w
Poilu
Posts: 687
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:35 pm
Tings: 520

Re: Rayman 2 Graphics Mod Reshade / SweetFX - Preset

Post by gamerz31w » Wed Mar 09, 2016 12:15 am

Did I mention you about Sega Master System emulator on PC that generate hyper realistic render plugins?I think it's mostly use to old school 2d platformers video games only.So you(Carrot-master),Ribshark and deton24 are working on high resolution textures for Rayman 2 on PC.


gamerz31w
Poilu
Posts: 687
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:35 pm
Tings: 520

Re: Rayman 2 Graphics Mod Reshade / SweetFX - Preset

Post by gamerz31w » Wed Mar 09, 2016 8:10 pm

deton24 wrote:I can't really understand what you have written.
So PC is better, right?
Well it's the best solution to modify PC game if it's PC platform.

deton24
Dora Dodemer
Posts: 717
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:22 am
Location: Poland
Tings: 5371

Re: Rayman 2 Graphics Mod Reshade / SweetFX / 32 bit depth fix

Post by deton24 » Fri Apr 06, 2018 11:10 pm

Fix for achieving around 15 FPS+ more during using my SweetFX/Reshade preset!

Just press very fast scroll lock - it will change colors a bit, and sometimes motion focus effect will disappear, but you will see more FPS.
43>63 FPS increase!

Disabling motion focus effect doesn't help in such drastic performance increase.
I think even colors looks better now, and not, MF disabling also not affects graphics in a similar way.

Tested on Reshade 1.0 (with other effects) all attached in my package.


______ (nothing related to Reshade)
For fixing DX6 framerate dips from 60 to 30, install DXwrapper. For fullscreen, edit wraper's ini. Disable or hide any overlays in case of performance issues. Just to let you know (nothing to do with my presets working with nGlide).

Download https://github.com/elishacloud/dxwrapper/releases
Copy dxwrapper.ini, dxwrapper.dll, ddraw.dll (stub directory), into Rayman 2 directory
Edit dxwrapper.ini: FullScreen = 1
If you previously used Glide, run GXSetup to choose DirectX renderer.
The best DX6 wrapper performance for this game. Behaves smoother than dgVoodoo and WineD3D.

______________
I actually noticed that colors on my SweetFX preset on 32 bit with scroll lock toggle on/off FPS fix, are better however (they changed a bit)

Post Reply