[WIP] Rayman 2 Tools

Discuss tools to aid in the modification and running of Rayman games.

Moderators: English moderators, Modding and utilities team

Master
Rayman Origins
Posts: 49982
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 10:14 am
Location: Somewhere specific, I'd assume.
Tings: 404000

Re: [WIP] Rayman 2 Tools

Post by Master » Thu Oct 22, 2015 10:28 pm

Importing textures into Rayman 2 PC is already possible, though we have no idea how it works, the tool does exist. Check the 2nd thread I linked.
Image

GOT4N
Électoon
Posts: 3425
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 7:10 pm
Tings: 10

Re: [WIP] Rayman 2 Tools

Post by GOT4N » Fri Oct 23, 2015 10:04 am

deton24 wrote:That would be nice to finally get opportunity for saving textures again. That will open a way to copy DC textures to PC version. They have a better resolution or something.
You can already do it, follow what Master said, we did a Dark Rayman mod

Shrooblord
Froutch
Posts: 15670
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 5:07 pm
Location: The Buccaneer MK. II
Tings: 64530

Re: [WIP] Rayman 2 Tools

Post by Shrooblord » Fri Oct 23, 2015 10:39 am

Seems cool. I'll be closely following this project.
Image
Play Rayman Arena (PC) online with friends~!
Dart wrote:Sometimes life just comes out of nowhere and demands a lot of your attention.


GOT4N
Électoon
Posts: 3425
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 7:10 pm
Tings: 10

Re: [WIP] Rayman 2 Tools

Post by GOT4N » Fri Oct 23, 2015 2:14 pm

deton24 wrote:
You can already do it, follow what Master said
Ok, I will ask in other way. Does it make any sense?
I can't handle it myself (maybe new topic or something).
http://raymanpc.com/forum/viewtopic.php ... e#p1109222

deton24
Dora Dodemer
Posts: 717
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:22 am
Location: Poland
Tings: 5371

Re: [WIP] Rayman 2 Tools

Post by deton24 » Fri Oct 23, 2015 5:10 pm

Ok, I undestand that it is executable with Rayman Legends/nvidia texture tools tools?
Maybe that would be better to start new topic to request people to help in this project.
That will be a lot of work I guess, anyway.
That would be good to stretch these textures with filters, to raise their resolution too.

Master
Rayman Origins
Posts: 49982
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 10:14 am
Location: Somewhere specific, I'd assume.
Tings: 404000

Re: [WIP] Rayman 2 Tools

Post by Master » Fri Oct 23, 2015 5:14 pm

GOT4N, I think you might have linked to the wrong topic.
Image


RibShark
Électoon
Posts: 1619
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 8:03 pm
Contact:
Tings: 0

Re: [WIP] Rayman 2 Tools

Post by RibShark » Fri Oct 23, 2015 6:27 pm

The dreamcast textures are stored in the .tex files and are compressed using a custom version of the LZSS algorithm. It shouldn't be too hard to write an extractor.

GOT4N
Électoon
Posts: 3425
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 7:10 pm
Tings: 10

Re: [WIP] Rayman 2 Tools

Post by GOT4N » Fri Oct 23, 2015 7:33 pm

Master wrote:GOT4N, I think you might have linked to the wrong topic.
Oops, yep, sorry I meant to link this one: http://raymanpc.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=12592

Harpic fraîcheur
Rayman Origins
Posts: 26035
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 7:57 pm
Location: Au pays des prouts
Tings: 1236419

Re: [WIP] Rayman 2 Tools

Post by Harpic fraîcheur » Wed Nov 11, 2015 3:56 pm

I would like to download the tool but it seems the link is dead. Can anyone who downloaded this tool upload it for me ?

EDIT : It's ok GOT4N gave me the tool. Thanks to him. :)
Une nouvelle vague de fraîcheur, Harpic fraîcheur verte ! 8)
Image Image
boomboleros7 wrote:Harpic est imbattable. Harpic est légendaire. Harpic est divin.

szymski
Ambre Écueil
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2014 5:16 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:
Tings: 6300

Re: [WIP] Rayman 2 Tools

Post by szymski » Wed Nov 11, 2015 4:13 pm

[quote="Harpic fraîcheur"]I would like to download the tool but it seems the link is dead. Can anyone who downloaded this tool upload it for me ?

Link updated. I got a new domain.
Good morning, that's a nice Tnetennba.

Raymayen
Électoon
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 4:01 pm
Tings: 10

Re: [WIP] Rayman 2 Tools

Post by Raymayen » Sat Nov 05, 2016 4:08 pm

i really dont understand this, also im really new to the forum, i cant open rayman 2 in the texture thing, i drop it into the specified folder it wants me to select the cnt file but it wont come up, how do i turn my rayman 2 into a cnt file? my rayman 2 was bought from GOG.com :confus: :confus: :confus:

Carrot-master
Murray
Posts: 1578
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 5:46 pm
Tings: 21715

Re: [WIP] Rayman 2 Tools

Post by Carrot-master » Sat Nov 05, 2016 4:19 pm

In the data folder you've got two .cnt files you can use in the tool.

Raymayen
Électoon
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 4:01 pm
Tings: 10

Re: [WIP] Rayman 2 Tools

Post by Raymayen » Sat Nov 05, 2016 7:57 pm

thanks for the fast reply
i found it ^.^ :mrgreen: :mrgreen: thanks!

MixerX
Poilu
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2013 1:59 pm
Tings: 550

Re: [WIP] Rayman 2 Tools

Post by MixerX » Fri Nov 18, 2016 1:10 pm

Finally someone used my notes and made them into a proper tool with GUI :). Just not sure why it can't handle texture compression and CNT import. I had ideas how to handle Rayman 3 mip-mapping and was curious how someone else would tackle this but seems like it's only a planned feature on this one.

Yes, my tools weren't open-source, they were just quick prototypes that I wanted to use for myself but after all decided to give them out at least as executables along with description of file formats. If I made them today I'd code them with better maintainability in mind but that wasn't the case back then. I only wanted to make a Slovak translation and that was it :).

Good work, especially decrypting whole SNA files. Looks like you were able to generate the Vernam cipher key whereas I made it static. Did that key calculation come from an executable disassembly?

I knew this game had a huge fan base so I'm glad my original tools kind of made the modding possiblities wider. Cool to see someone pick up on that and make even modelling possible. Keep it up!

Harpic fraîcheur
Rayman Origins
Posts: 26035
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 7:57 pm
Location: Au pays des prouts
Tings: 1236419

Re: [WIP] Rayman 2 Tools

Post by Harpic fraîcheur » Fri Nov 18, 2016 5:11 pm

szymski wrote:Link updated. I got a new domain.
Thanks. :mrgreen:
Une nouvelle vague de fraîcheur, Harpic fraîcheur verte ! 8)
Image Image
boomboleros7 wrote:Harpic est imbattable. Harpic est légendaire. Harpic est divin.

szymski
Ambre Écueil
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2014 5:16 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:
Tings: 6300

Re: [WIP] Rayman 2 Tools

Post by szymski » Fri Nov 18, 2016 7:06 pm

MixerX wrote:Finally someone used my notes and made them into a proper tool with GUI :)
Did you include any notes? I only had your executables. I had to recreate file formats by reverse engineering R2 executable.
Good morning, that's a nice Tnetennba.

MixerX
Poilu
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2013 1:59 pm
Tings: 550

Re: [WIP] Rayman 2 Tools

Post by MixerX » Fri Nov 18, 2016 9:52 pm

Yes, I shared the file formats several times as it was asked by several people. I think they're even posted in my original topic. Anyway good luck with future work, I'm looking forward to what all the tools will include in the end :). The modelling demo looked cool.

Post Reply