Project: UnLockRay ( ULR / REL )

Discuss tools to aid in the modification and running of Rayman games.

Moderators: English moderators, Modding and utilities team

Drolpiraat
Oumbr
Posts: 4895
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 7:31 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Tings: 52485

Project: UnLockRay ( ULR / REL )

Postby Drolpiraat » Mon Jan 14, 2008 5:25 pm

UnLockRay Subreddit

Hello there!

In the French forums, this project was posted by LunaVorax, as REL ( “Rayman Est Libre” ). Luckily, Hunch told me about it, otherwise I’d never have noticed the topic.

In the past, some games had very much players. So much, that they started creating modifications, new levels, etc. So far, this hasn’t happened with the Rayman games yet. True, for Rayman 1, there is a level designer. But it doesn’t include everything ( for example, you can’t place Moskito that follows you in your levels, etc. ). And there’s nothing for the other games.

So, why not make our own? If there are some people interested in programming some of these, we could do it!
Let’s make a series of programs ( Open Source would be good - http://www.sourceforge.net/ ) that’d be able to do the following actions:
- Extraction of the dialogues - Very easy
- Font, Image and Texture extraction – Fairly Easy
- Sound Extraction ( SFX & Music ) – Not so Hard
- 3D Model ( and right textures on it ) Extraction – Hard
- Level Extraction ( 2D/3D ) - Hard
- Model Editor – Very Difficult
- Level Editor – Extremely Difficult
- A rewrite/editor of the game’s engine. - To kill yourself
- [ Add another idea here ]

Why us?
Why not? It has already been done for other games by other people, so why not for the Rayman games and why not us?

But, um… what is it for?
Well… have you already thought of playing Rayman M online ( but you can already play Rayman Arena online, hehe )? You’d also be able to extract & change the models, so that means: other racers, other levels, and more!
And not only for Rayman M!
Also, you’d be able to make mods for other games, if you just had the models!

Hey! I’d like to be part of this project, but I can’t program.
Well, I know it’s gonna be hard. But I can’t program ( well, I can, but only Gamemaker ), and still I did a lot already! I’d be a lot easier if you could program though, so you could always start learning C or C++ here ( http://www.cprogramming.com/ ) or others here (http://www.programmingtutorials.com/ ).

Great! But is it legal?
Well, who cares? Ubisoft isn’t going to do anything to stop us…
They didn’t do anything with RayTunes, which is more illegal than this, yet, you know.

What? A level editor for the 3D Rayman games? Are you crazy?
No, I’m not. Super Mario 64 even has its own level editor ( here - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7uCLaxTlD3w ), and that is a ROM, which is even harder to handle than normal PC files!

A rewrite of the game’s engine? Eh?
Well… it’s something very difficult, but you could make the game work on other platforms ( Linux, Mac, GP2X, Nintendo DS, PSP, etc. ) and add a good number of functionalities ( bigger resolutions, filters, bug correction, realistic blood XD, etc. ).

ROMs or the PC version?
If you don’t know what these are, I’ll tell ya.
ROMs are downloaded files that only work on other platforms ( like Nintendo 64 ) or on emulators for these platforms ( like Project64, which emulates the N64 ). Everybody who is able to read this text most probably has the PC version, which only works on the PC.

Now, the question is, what will we work with, ROMs or PC?
My personal answer would then be PC.
Why? The PC version is the most used version, and the easiest to modify. And not all people can run ROMs.

But…

There has been more progress in the ROMs section. For example, I know how to rip music, sounds and text from the PS2 games. I know how to rip images ( including the font and the textures ) from the N64 version of Rayman 2, AND from the Dreamcast version. I can also rip from the PSOne version of R1 and R2, if only the program I used would be fixed ( it keeps giving me an error since a while ago o_O ).
You can also add gameshark cheats to the games, enabling other characters to play as, though I have not found any code that does that yet. In fact, I don’t know anything about Gameshark codes. XD
And here’s the best thing I discovered, and I guess many others did:

Image

That’s right, I modified a texture there. The butterfly texture. I even added resolution to it. And it works! Great, huh?

But still, it’d be better just to ‘hack’ the PC version. There has also been some progress there. For example, I forced the people at XeNTaX ( My posts there - http://forum.xentax.com/search.php?sear ... or=Droolie ) to make them support the *.cnt files in the games that contain the various images & textures ( including the font, which is a texture ). But sadly, the images in there are still unknown, in *.gf format. The *.cnt files are supported by MultiEx Commander ( MexCom - http://multiex.xentax.com/ ) and Game Extractor (http://www.watto.org/extract/info.html ). Only that in Game Extractor, you can WRITE to the cnt files ( I haven’t tried it myself yet though )! =D
Now, for the other things.
In Rayman 3 and M, there are hxd files that have sounds, right? In Rayman M, you can easily obtain all of the normal sounds by just analyzing these hxd files with Nova Extractor (http://www.volny.cz/nova-software/ ). You can also analyze the data.hos ( I guess that’s what it was called ) file in Rayman 3 with it to get all sound effects ( includes Rayman saying ‘Hup!’ and such things ). However, the MUSIC for Rayman 3 cannot be obtained in the full version, because it is compressed in the ADPCM format ( though you can still see all the different files with Nova Extractor ), which is unreadable unless you have Rayman 3’s engine’s decoder. But, you can listen to the music from the beta demo. It's encoded in another way. That way, by comparing, we might be able to decode the compression system.

Some other progress: I know it’s not what this is for, but I also got to make a ‘3D screenshot’ of Rayman 3. It’s bugged all over though, so you wouldn’t like to see it.

I’ll help! Where to begin?
Great! But we won’t start just yet. First, we need your opinion.

So please tell me what you think about this ( and about the ROMs vs. PC question ). If you have other questions than the ones I answered here, I’ll be happy to answer whenever possible.

Droolie.

PS: Oh, now this topic HAS been translated after all ;)

L.M. Murphy
Ptizêtre du Feu
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 7:27 am
Tings: 2391

Re: Project: UnLockRay ( ULR / REL )

Postby L.M. Murphy » Tue Jan 15, 2008 9:47 am

I would LOVE to see a Ray1 level editor since Designer is missing a number of things such as the pond background for Dream Forest, the cool cave background for Cave of Skops, the blue sky background for Band Land(a purple version does exist, though), the drummers in Band Land, land tiles for Band Land, hill background for Band Land, paint can background for Picture City, and purple stone men for Blue Mountains.

Also, if the music for for M and 3 can't be extracted, then how come we have it at RayTunes?
Image
Rayman...forever?

Drolpiraat
Oumbr
Posts: 4895
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 7:31 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Tings: 52485

Re: Project: UnLockRay ( ULR / REL )

Postby Drolpiraat » Tue Jan 15, 2008 1:29 pm

Yeah, and you could also have Moskito following you throughout the level, since this isn't included as well =D

And... The music for Rayman 3 was ripped from the PS2 version and the music for Rayman M IS rippable in the PC version.

However, the MUSIC for Rayman 3 cannot be obtained in the full version


As you can see, I didn't say Rayman M here ;)

Hunchman801
Bad Rayman
Posts: 75145
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2003 6:50 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:
Tings: 536250

Re: Project: UnLockRay ( ULR / REL )

Postby Hunchman801 » Tue Jan 15, 2008 1:33 pm

I would also love to use the textures from Rayman Junior games, like thorn lianas :)
Image
incognito wrote:Saucisson pastèque

stan423321
Murfy
Posts: 7312
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 3:22 pm
Location: Poland, of Union of Socialistic European Republics
Tings: 63250

Re: Project: UnLockRay ( ULR / REL )

Postby stan423321 » Tue Jan 15, 2008 4:32 pm

Well, that is good idea... but is anybody here good in programming?

BTW another thing can be Win32 version of R1. I am sure you understand why.

bunnieblaster
Deadman
Posts: 781
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 4:43 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Tings: 5983

Re: Project: UnLockRay ( ULR / REL )

Postby bunnieblaster » Tue Jan 15, 2008 7:32 pm

I ripped rayman 2 sound effects. here they are:
download

btw, i can program in gamemaker (http://www.yoyogames.com) one of my games: http://www.yoyogames.com/games/show/13876
tell me if you liked it.

also i would REALLY like a rayman 2 level editor and a rayman revolution for the pc :D
Image

Drolpiraat
Oumbr
Posts: 4895
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 7:31 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Tings: 52485

Re: Project: UnLockRay ( ULR / REL )

Postby Drolpiraat » Tue Jan 15, 2008 8:19 pm

Hunchman801 wrote:I would also love to use the textures from Rayman Junior games, like thorn lianas :)


Haha, you said exactly the same thing in the French version of the topic! XD
I'm going to dig in R1 a little tomorrow ( together with a RayTunes update ), because... I still have work to do for school now. :(

@stan: I'm not very good at programming in C, C++ ( but I did learn to make a "hello world"-program in C++ ) or visual basic, but I can program in Gamemaker, just like bunnieblaster, who also seems to know a little 3D, which is good if we ever want to decompile Rayman 2, M or 3.
Yeah, a Win32 version ( I'd like one too! ) of it wouldn't be so very hard, I guess.

@bunnieblaster: Thanks! ^^ Your game seems good. Better than what I can do ( I can't do any 3D )! =D But I guess we'd need the level editor first, and then a remake of Revolution for PC ;)

Henchman1028
Razoff
Posts: 1075
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 4:30 am
Tings: 7406

Re: Project: UnLockRay ( ULR / REL )

Postby Henchman1028 » Wed Jan 16, 2008 12:04 am

I would also like a level editor for rayman 2.

Drolpiraat
Oumbr
Posts: 4895
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 7:31 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Tings: 52485

Re: Project: UnLockRay ( ULR / REL )

Postby Drolpiraat » Sat Jan 19, 2008 8:59 pm

Yeah, alright, but first, we'll have to start with Rayman 1. For Rayman 1, it'd be kinda easy, I guess. We'll just have to manage to decompile the level editor and look into it.

EDIT -> Looked into the source of the level editor a little, and, I've found a way to modify some text in the Windows mapper and the in-game object placer, the object descriptions.
MS_flamme1 Background torch Sprite of animated decoration.

Just change the description after each of these MS_ubi_insertnameheres in the EVNAME*number*.WLD files in the folder in Rayman Gold/designer folder\PCMAP\

I've also found a way to rip the mapper sprites ( the world sprites ). You can just access them by opening the world folders in Rayman Gold/designer folder\ and open the PCX files in a graphics editing program.

Normally, you can also edit the music just by modifying the audio tracks on the disk.

I've even found a way to activate the seed planting in a non-jungle world XD
To modify the powers you have in a level without opening the level editor, just open the MAP folders in the world folders in Rayman Gold/designer folder\, then
open the Map.ini file in there. You'll see
[Power]
Hanging=1
Fist=1
Helico=1
SuperHelico=0
Run=1
Seed=0

You can change the values ( 1 = yes, 0 = no ) if you want another power. You can also change the music track that plays and the background in there, but I still need to test that.

I've also found this in the EVENT.SEV file found in the same folder:
event_mev:
incbin "01.jun/event.mev"
dcb.w 414,0
event_offlist:
dc.w 0
dcb.w 511,0
event_event:
ev_ty1 1,61,0,MS_goto,0,4,4

ev_ty1 1,0,0,MS_ray_in_map,0,7,0

ev_end

These are the events happening when you start the level/the object modifier? I dunno. But it looks like it.
MS_ray_in_map is the initial position in the map for Rayman. I've found that in the EVE.MLT file in the world folder.
œdef,MS_ray_in_map,RAY, 7 , /SEB NEW/
/ Position initiale de rayman dans la map /
RAY.ETA,
33 , 255,
450,320,
0 , 19 ,
80,78,20,
0,0,0,
99 ,0, 1 ,

This file is the most interesting. It contains every single name included in the world, and defines variables for it, I guess ( looking at "def" which could mean define XD ). For example, in the CAKE folder ( Candy Chateau ): gendoors, killdoors, balloons, counting wizards(? are they in designer as well?), black toon ( antitoon? ), Mr. Dark, Rayman's feet ( haha ), flying clowns, etc.
But I'll have to look into it a little more, I guess.
Bye for now!

Beebop
Joe
Posts: 22876
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2004 11:56 am
Location: Home, England
Contact:
Tings: 56660

Re: Project: UnLockRay ( ULR / REL )

Postby Beebop » Thu Jan 24, 2008 2:36 pm

If you wanted to edit or modify Rayman games, you would need a very experienced Programmer and you would need to get the Source code from Ubisoft (for a price, of course).

Matyuv
Gangsta Globox
Posts: 21247
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 10:22 am
Tings: 49391

Re: Project: UnLockRay ( ULR / REL )

Postby Matyuv » Thu Jan 24, 2008 8:26 pm

too complicated and not worth it
MandM81 wrote:YYYYYYYRRRHLHLPYYYYYYPDPPPYYYYYYYYYYYYRRRRRR

bunnieblaster
Deadman
Posts: 781
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 4:43 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Tings: 5983

Re: Project: UnLockRay ( ULR / REL )

Postby bunnieblaster » Sat Feb 09, 2008 4:28 pm

isn't it possible to convert Rayman Revolution to pc?

*bump*
Image

Hoodcom
Rayman Origins
Posts: 36167
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2003 5:32 pm
Location: Rayman Pirate-Community Lodge
Contact:
Tings: 375385

Re: Project: UnLockRay ( ULR / REL )

Postby Hoodcom » Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:09 pm

Sounds very complicated, I think I'd have better chances with being able to use Gamemaker then edit an actual game. O___o; xD
Image

ImageRaymanPC III: LeHumch's Revenge
System requirements: 386SX at 16MHz, 640k RAM, 720k floppy disk drive, and Ad Lib sound card.

My Minecraft 1.11.2 Server: play.reeseriverson.com - Staff: Hoodcom (Admin) | Master (Mod) | Serza5 (Mod) - Status: Pending Update

LunaVorax
Robot
Posts: 96
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 11:31 pm
Location: Lune
Tings: 2480

Re: Project: UnLockRay ( ULR / REL )

Postby LunaVorax » Sat Feb 09, 2008 8:54 pm

The main idea of the project is decompile the game, NOT to redo the game under GameMaker.
If you want to do some, then run another project : RRCP, Rayman ReCreation Project for example

Hunchman801
Bad Rayman
Posts: 75145
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2003 6:50 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:
Tings: 536250

Re: Project: UnLockRay ( ULR / REL )

Postby Hunchman801 » Sat Feb 09, 2008 11:46 pm

I've been very busy lately, but I'll work on Rayman 1 soon ;)
Image
incognito wrote:Saucisson pastèque

Hoodcom
Rayman Origins
Posts: 36167
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2003 5:32 pm
Location: Rayman Pirate-Community Lodge
Contact:
Tings: 375385

Re: Project: UnLockRay ( ULR / REL )

Postby Hoodcom » Sat Feb 09, 2008 11:52 pm

LunaVorax wrote:The main idea of the project is decompile the game, NOT to redo the game under GameMaker.
If you want to do some, then run another project : RRCP, Rayman ReCreation Project for example


I never said ANYTHING on redoing the game under GameMaker. I was meaning I have better chances on understanding GameMaker then any C++ or decompiling.
Image

ImageRaymanPC III: LeHumch's Revenge
System requirements: 386SX at 16MHz, 640k RAM, 720k floppy disk drive, and Ad Lib sound card.

My Minecraft 1.11.2 Server: play.reeseriverson.com - Staff: Hoodcom (Admin) | Master (Mod) | Serza5 (Mod) - Status: Pending Update

LunaVorax
Robot
Posts: 96
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 11:31 pm
Location: Lune
Tings: 2480

Re: Project: UnLockRay ( ULR / REL )

Postby LunaVorax » Sun Feb 10, 2008 9:40 am

So, my mistake.
Excuse me :D

Hoodcom
Rayman Origins
Posts: 36167
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2003 5:32 pm
Location: Rayman Pirate-Community Lodge
Contact:
Tings: 375385

Re: Project: UnLockRay ( ULR / REL )

Postby Hoodcom » Sun Feb 10, 2008 10:18 pm

Though, getting some game fonts, textures, and sounds from the Rayman Games would be very nice. ^^
Image

ImageRaymanPC III: LeHumch's Revenge
System requirements: 386SX at 16MHz, 640k RAM, 720k floppy disk drive, and Ad Lib sound card.

My Minecraft 1.11.2 Server: play.reeseriverson.com - Staff: Hoodcom (Admin) | Master (Mod) | Serza5 (Mod) - Status: Pending Update

Kelvin12
Pâquerette
Posts: 1773
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 7:26 pm
Location: In the back of your head, destroying every bit of knowledge you have.
Contact:
Tings: 13791

Re: Project: UnLockRay ( ULR / REL )

Postby Kelvin12 » Thu Feb 21, 2008 12:36 am

Hope I'm not too late.

Check this out:

http://www.deep-shadows.com/hax/3DRipperDX.htm

Drolpiraat
Oumbr
Posts: 4895
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 7:31 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Tings: 52485

Re: Project: UnLockRay ( ULR / REL )

Postby Drolpiraat » Sat Feb 23, 2008 7:40 pm

Yeah, I know that program already. It rips the models as they are in-game. Sadly, it doesn't work with R3, neither with R2. It doesn't work if you run R2 in an emulator either. If you run a gamecube emulator with the Rayman 3 ISO it enables you to view the textures, which is how I will possibly make the R3 font. If you run a dreamcast emulator with Rayman 2 with it, it lets you rip textures, which is kinda interesting, because there are other textures in the dreamcast version ( the map textures are entirely different, etc. ).

Why doesn't it work? Simple, it's only for DirectX9 games :(

But you know what? I know another thing like that that DOES work with 2 Rayman games.
It's called 3DVia Printscreen: http://www.3dvia.com/pros/3DVIA_PrintScreen/
With RRR: It rips, you can view the rabbids ( oh no I'd rather not look at them XD ), though everything is completely messed up because it doesn't rip everything.
With R3: You can clearly see some hoodlums, cages, diamonds, etc. but all with messed up textures. The map is one big gray mess though... :(
So it doesn't really work either.
Ah, by the way, if you follow that link and go to the 3D models tab, search for a rabbid there. I think I remember there were two models for them. You can only view them with their 3D viewer though...

But... We'd rather like a model ripper that doesn't capture the models but rips them from the game files.


Return to “Modding and utilities”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests