[CANCELLED] Rayman 2 – installer for newer systems

Discuss tools to aid in the modification and running of Rayman games.

Moderators: English moderators, Modding and utilities team

Hoodcom
Bad Rayman
Posts: 37253
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2003 5:32 pm
Location: R̸̨̧̛̝͎͔̹͉̫̞͚͎͈̫̲̘͕̞͔̼̣͍̞̤̹̫̘̼͚̤̮̟͍̺̯͍̜̹͓̤͖͎͌̀̿͗̍͌̈́̿̿͑̄̀͌̒̅͛̄̾̈͠ͅayman Pirate-Community Lodge
Contact:
Tings: 369275

Re: Rayman 2 – installer for newer systems

Post by Hoodcom » Sat Jul 02, 2016 4:45 pm

I'm quite curious as to what they did to make that work.

Considering the DRM was 16-bit, and usually 64-bit operating systems absolutely don't run 16-bit software.

Fifo
Garatta Ciatik
Posts: 8315
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2013 7:08 pm
Location: :(){ :|:& };:
Contact:
Tings: 11000

Re: Rayman 2 – installer for newer systems

Post by Fifo » Sat Jul 02, 2016 4:48 pm

Awesome, my installer is obsolete. >_<

Hoodcom
Bad Rayman
Posts: 37253
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2003 5:32 pm
Location: R̸̨̧̛̝͎͔̹͉̫̞͚͎͈̫̲̘͕̞͔̼̣͍̞̤̹̫̘̼͚̤̮̟͍̺̯͍̜̹͓̤͖͎͌̀̿͗̍͌̈́̿̿͑̄̀͌̒̅͛̄̾̈͠ͅayman Pirate-Community Lodge
Contact:
Tings: 369275

Re: Rayman 2 – installer for newer systems

Post by Hoodcom » Sat Jul 02, 2016 4:49 pm

Fifo wrote:Awesome, my installer is obsolete. >_<
I wouldn't go as far to saying that, plenty of folks refuse to go to Windows 10 anyway. :lol:

RibShark
Électoon
Posts: 1619
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 8:03 pm
Contact:
Tings: 0

Re: Rayman 2 – installer for newer systems

Post by RibShark » Sat Jul 02, 2016 4:55 pm

Hoodcom wrote:I'm quite curious as to what they did to make that work.

Considering the DRM was 16-bit, and usually 64-bit operating systems absolutely don't run 16-bit software.
The DRM actually wasn't, as the game only used a simple CD check IIRC. The problem was with the installer, and Windows 8 and above simply detects 16-bit installers and silently replaces the exe with a 32 bit equivalent.

Hoodcom
Bad Rayman
Posts: 37253
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2003 5:32 pm
Location: R̸̨̧̛̝͎͔̹͉̫̞͚͎͈̫̲̘͕̞͔̼̣͍̞̤̹̫̘̼͚̤̮̟͍̺̯͍̜̹͓̤͖͎͌̀̿͗̍͌̈́̿̿͑̄̀͌̒̅͛̄̾̈͠ͅayman Pirate-Community Lodge
Contact:
Tings: 369275

Re: Rayman 2 – installer for newer systems

Post by Hoodcom » Sat Jul 02, 2016 5:04 pm

RibShark wrote:
Hoodcom wrote:I'm quite curious as to what they did to make that work.

Considering the DRM was 16-bit, and usually 64-bit operating systems absolutely don't run 16-bit software.
The DRM actually wasn't, as the game only used a simple CD check IIRC. The problem was with the installer, and Windows 8 and above simply detects 16-bit installers and silently replaces the exe with a 32 bit equivalent.
Ah, that clears things up then. Got to say that is a pretty good solution in the end then. :)

IIITA
Mouru
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 2:08 pm
Tings: 885

Re: Rayman 2 – installer for newer systems

Post by IIITA » Thu Aug 11, 2016 1:00 pm

Fifo wrote:
IIITA wrote:Hi I am not so good at the programming work, but would like to know how to use the Installshield Wrapper for installing I mean make "setup.exe on CD" work in newer systems ?
I installed this wrapper, and noticed that it is installed to C:\Windows\SysWOW64\InstallShield, now what the next step to install Rayman 2?
I can send you an updated installer that’ll work without issues on newer systems without having to mess around with the InstallShield wrapper.
Fifo, are you still in the forum ?
I need your installer now as I lost it and original CD got some "CD not found error" if I use deton24's Widescreen exe in Windows 10 Pro 64bit Redstone !
Besides Ribshark's R2_patcher.exe will mot work in W10 Redstone I found.
If you still have your new installer I would like to try in W10 Redstone and I will report you how it works.
Last edited by IIITA on Sun Aug 14, 2016 3:22 am, edited 4 times in total.

Fifo
Garatta Ciatik
Posts: 8315
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2013 7:08 pm
Location: :(){ :|:& };:
Contact:
Tings: 11000

Re: Rayman 2 – installer for newer systems

Post by Fifo » Thu Aug 11, 2016 1:05 pm

IIITA wrote:Fifo, are you still in the forum ?
I need your installer now as I lost it and original CD got some "CD not found error" in Windows 10 Pro 64bit Redstone !
Besides Ribshark's R2_patcher.exe will mot work in W10 Redstone I found.
If you still have your new installer I would like to try in W10 Redstone and I will report you how it works.
I’ve sent you a PM with the link.

IIITA
Mouru
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 2:08 pm
Tings: 885

Re: Rayman 2 – installer for newer systems

Post by IIITA » Thu Aug 11, 2016 1:20 pm

Oh thank you for your quick reply.
As I could not find PM button in your post I posted my message to the forum thread.

I found your installer size is 416Mb, looks like file extractor including whole installed files of R2 ?
That's the one I am looking for !
Yes with whole files extracted to HDD R2 must work as it did in old OS.
Thank you again . After I tested it in W10 Redstone, I will report you as soon as possible. :-)

EDIT;
OK now I completed the test run of your new installer R2.
Perfect !! The installer worked fine without any compatibility setting in W10 Redstone !
And game could start without any compatibility setting.
Windowed game screen can be fixed using Ribshark's files;
http://raymanpc.com/forum/viewtopic.php ... 94#p981764

Thanks for your perfect file !

Fifo
Garatta Ciatik
Posts: 8315
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2013 7:08 pm
Location: :(){ :|:& };:
Contact:
Tings: 11000

Re: Rayman 2 – installer for newer systems

Post by Fifo » Thu Aug 11, 2016 8:06 pm

You’re welcome, I’m glad it works ;)

IIITA
Mouru
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 2:08 pm
Tings: 885

Re: Rayman 2 – installer for newer systems

Post by IIITA » Sun Aug 14, 2016 3:21 am

IIITA wrote:OK now I completed the test run of your new installer R2.
Perfect !! The installer worked fine without any compatibility setting in W10 Redstone !
And game could start without any compatibility setting.
Windowed game screen can be fixed using Ribshark's files;
http://raymanpc.com/forum/viewtopic.php ... 94#p981764

Thanks for your perfect file !
And this time, deton24's widescreen exe worked perfect after the installation with Fifo's installer !

Fifo
Garatta Ciatik
Posts: 8315
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2013 7:08 pm
Location: :(){ :|:& };:
Contact:
Tings: 11000

Re: Rayman 2 – installer for newer systems

Post by Fifo » Sun Aug 14, 2016 6:18 am

IIITA wrote:And this time, deton24's widescreen exe worked perfect after the installation with Fifo's installer !
Awesome! Enjoy! :)

IIITA
Mouru
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 2:08 pm
Tings: 885

Re: Rayman 2 – installer for newer systems

Post by IIITA » Mon Aug 15, 2016 1:36 pm

Comparing retail Rayman2 game CD with Fifo's, I found something.

1 Original installer on the retail CD will not install 2 files, which are Vignette.cnt ( should be placed under DATA) and LEVELS0.DAT(should be placed under \DATA\World\Level).

This causes "Please insert the CD" pop-up when using GOG type No-CD exes including deton24's widescreen exe.
As far as playing with the original exe and CD in the drive that is 4:3 aspect screenplay , I had no problem . But switching to No-CD type exe say widescreen.exe, game sensed missing two files. I had to copy those to HDD manually for eliminating the nag.

2. Original exe has also "SafeDisc" DRM that check whether CD is in the drive nevertheless those 2 files exist in game installed directory.

Fifo's installer extracts No-CD Rayman2.exe capsuled in the "file extractor" that installs all files along with those 2 files, which is his sales point to those who like to play R2 with no CD in the drive.

Now we have Fifo's one, I am glad to have this.

PluMGMK
Pizzicatta
Posts: 28566
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Tír an "Tuisil Ghinidigh" agus an "Mhodha Choinníollaigh"
Contact:
Tings: 3780

Re: Rayman 2 – installer for newer systems

Post by PluMGMK » Mon Aug 15, 2016 1:56 pm

Maybe that's why the operations the game performs on LEVELS0.DAT are so convoluted: there's some kind of DRM in there.

Fifo
Garatta Ciatik
Posts: 8315
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2013 7:08 pm
Location: :(){ :|:& };:
Contact:
Tings: 11000

Re: Rayman 2 – installer for newer systems

Post by Fifo » Mon Aug 15, 2016 2:08 pm

I’m glad I’m starting to receive positive feedback :)

TheRayman2Fan
Électoon
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2016 3:54 pm
Tings: 10

Re: Rayman 2 – installer for newer systems

Post by TheRayman2Fan » Fri Aug 19, 2016 4:00 pm

Hey Fifo ! I sent you a PM ! Read please. :D

Fifo
Garatta Ciatik
Posts: 8315
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2013 7:08 pm
Location: :(){ :|:& };:
Contact:
Tings: 11000

Re: Rayman 2 – installer for newer systems

Post by Fifo » Fri Aug 19, 2016 5:28 pm

TheRayman2Fan wrote:Hey Fifo ! I sent you a PM ! Read please. :D
Stop sending me those useless PMs and stop requesting payment. You don’t deserve to be rich.

TheRayman2Fan
Électoon
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2016 3:54 pm
Tings: 10

Re: Rayman 2 – installer for newer systems

Post by TheRayman2Fan » Fri Aug 19, 2016 5:43 pm

Alright. You will bow before the Great Flying Poo then. :hinhinhin:

Harpic fraîcheur
Rayman Origins
Posts: 26035
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 7:57 pm
Location: Au pays des prouts
Tings: 1236419

Re: Rayman 2 – installer for newer systems

Post by Harpic fraîcheur » Fri Aug 19, 2016 5:51 pm

Glory to the Great Flying Poo!
Une nouvelle vague de fraîcheur, Harpic fraîcheur verte ! 8)
Image Image
boomboleros7 wrote:Harpic est imbattable. Harpic est légendaire. Harpic est divin.

Fifo
Garatta Ciatik
Posts: 8315
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2013 7:08 pm
Location: :(){ :|:& };:
Contact:
Tings: 11000

Re: Rayman 2 – installer for newer systems

Post by Fifo » Fri Feb 16, 2018 12:53 pm

SORRY for the bump.

Just wanted to say that I’m no longer working on my installer for a couple of reasons:
  1. The installer was made with a pirated copy of Advanced Installer
  2. The installer included all game files, taken from a pirated GOG copy of the game

Lysol
Bétilla
Posts: 1051
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 9:52 am
Tings: 80042

Re: Rayman 2 – installer for newer systems

Post by Lysol » Tue Feb 27, 2018 12:25 pm

I remember days back then when I used pirating games and computer softwares.

All those free downloads everyday, all those free games and softwares all the time! Watching YouTube videos like "How to crack Photoshop CC" and such! It was so good to have people providing me all I needed for free. Later, I discovered about torrenting. It was even better! I didn't even need to watch those stupid videos to look for my shit anymore. Though, my father has been once very curious on how did I install all of those paid softwares for free while we didn't even have Paypal years ago! He made some researches on the internet to understand what was going on and quickly understood. Tomorrow, after getting up, I was having my mug of coffee with some biscuits like every morning. He came to me with the laptop and then asked me what µTorrent was. Actually, he did knew what µtorrent was so he was definitely testing me to figure out if I'd lie to him or not but I kept trying to convince him it was a pre-installed computer software I never used so I don't get problems with him. He is very serious toward illegal activities and lies so he took me to the garage, called me a moron and beat the living shit out of me with a set of jumper cables.
Last edited by Lysol on Sun Mar 04, 2018 4:09 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image Image
Fifo wrote:I’m an imbecile and an asshole

Post Reply