RayTwol ~ Rayman 2 level editor (1.0 release)

Discuss tools to aid in the modification and running of Rayman games.

Moderators: English moderators, Modding and utilities team

Adsolution
Dora Dodemer
Posts: 21905
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2009 4:55 pm
Tings: 5007

Re: RayTwol ~ Rayman 2 level editor (1.0 release)

Post by Adsolution »

If anyone's curious, I was writing a PS1 level format documentation: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1ac0 ... pSeL5CuvGc

ori0749
Électoon
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2018 2:53 am
Tings: 5

Re: RayTwol ~ Rayman 2 level editor (1.0 release)

Post by ori0749 »

It can be nice if you'll be able to add the Rayman 2 Boss on PS1 and the Rayman Revolution Levels and bosses (from PS2) that we will be able to play to full game in PC.
I want to add the levels and bosses from Rayman 2 (On PS1) and From Revolution version, to the PC version for making a Complete game Which includes all changes from all remastered versions that Ubisoft created.

Adsolution
Dora Dodemer
Posts: 21905
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2009 4:55 pm
Tings: 5007

Re: RayTwol ~ Rayman 2 level editor (1.0 release)

Post by Adsolution »

Porting over level geometry would be straightforward if it didn't require generating new relocation tables (essentially impossible), but bosses are another story altogether, since they have custom animations and programming which tie together with level logic; Revolution doesn't even run on the same engine as the original game. It doesn't matter the game though, that's asking too much. :P

bunnieblaster
Bégoniax
Posts: 804
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 4:43 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Tings: 6098

Re: RayTwol ~ Rayman 2 level editor (1.0 release)

Post by bunnieblaster »

Adsolution wrote:Revolution doesn't even run on the same engine as the original game.
It does, but the rendering engine is different (RenderWare).
Image

Juan_m_2
Bébé Globox
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 5:34 pm
Tings: 35

Re: RayTwol ~ Rayman 2 level editor (1.0 release)

Post by Juan_m_2 »

Adsolution wrote:If anyone's curious, I was writing a PS1 level format documentation: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1ac0 ... pSeL5CuvGc
That's cool! That would allow to make custom Rayman PSX games, or porting Rayman to new platforms (like HTML5) using the original level files.

Rock_TBT
Mouru
Posts: 171
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 8:40 am
Tings: 855

Re: RayTwol ~ Rayman 2 level editor (1.0 release)

Post by Rock_TBT »

Is it possible to add custom models into the game usin the RayTwol program?

There are some models in Rayman M (Rayman Arena, Rayman Rush), which would be great to include in the game.

The models in Rayman 2 look dated.

Adsolution
Dora Dodemer
Posts: 21905
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2009 4:55 pm
Tings: 5007

Re: RayTwol ~ Rayman 2 level editor (1.0 release)

Post by Adsolution »

Juan_m_2 wrote:
Adsolution wrote:If anyone's curious, I was writing a PS1 level format documentation: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1ac0 ... pSeL5CuvGc
That's cool! That would allow to make custom Rayman PSX games, or porting Rayman to new platforms (like HTML5) using the original level files.
Well yeah, though even if you had to re-create the levels from scratch, that'd save pretty much no time compared to how long it'd take to re-program the rest of the game. :P
Rock_TBT wrote:Is it possible to add custom models into the game usin the RayTwol program?

There are some models in Rayman M (Rayman Arena, Rayman Rush), which would be great to include in the game.

The models in Rayman 2 look dated.
No. I've said quite a few times now that importing geometry is pretty much out of the question, since the pointers for each mesh and its structure are stored statically and all over the place. All you can realistically do is modify the positions of already-existing vertices, which is something that could be used to create kind-of custom levels, which is something I'm working on every now and then.

IMPORTING MODELS IS A TOTAL NO-GO!

Rock_TBT
Mouru
Posts: 171
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 8:40 am
Tings: 855

Re: RayTwol ~ Rayman 2 level editor (1.0 release)

Post by Rock_TBT »

Adsolution wrote:No. I've said quite a few times now that importing geometry is pretty much out of the question, since the pointers for each mesh and its structure are stored statically and all over the place. All you can realistically do is modify the positions of already-existing vertices, which is something that could be used to create kind-of custom levels, which is something I'm working on every now and then.

IMPORTING MODELS IS A TOTAL NO-GO!
Ok.

May be someone has already checked this, but I guess it should be possible to access the area of Globox village from the first level using this tool.

If that doesn´t work, then may be it could be possible to re-create Globox village using the tool (if those meshs are in the game)?

Adsolution
Dora Dodemer
Posts: 21905
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2009 4:55 pm
Tings: 5007

Re: RayTwol ~ Rayman 2 level editor (1.0 release)

Post by Adsolution »

Globox Village didn't exist until the Dreamcast version.

Rock_TBT
Mouru
Posts: 171
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 8:40 am
Tings: 855

Re: RayTwol ~ Rayman 2 level editor (1.0 release)

Post by Rock_TBT »

Has someone created any modded levels using this tool?

It would be fun to play some levels that are really hard but playable. The ones that are in the game are a bit a too easy.

Many of the abilities introduced in the game are mostly only used in one level, which is a shame.

PluMGMK
Estellia
Posts: 30674
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Tír an "Tuisil Ghinidigh" agus an "Mhodha Choinníollaigh"
Contact:
Tings: 7000

Re: RayTwol ~ Rayman 2 level editor (1.0 release)

Post by PluMGMK »

Bump.

I decided to do a little messing in the Hall of Doors. I tried moving the entity YAM_Cam_Oriente_Ly10, which apparently governs the way the camera points while standing at the Walk of Life spiral door. If I move it a short distance it seems to have no effect, but if I move it further the game seems to abort trying to use it, and instead the camera faces the waterfall, just like it does while standing at the Bayou (this happens even if I load a save file where Rayman is already standing at the Walk of Power).
The most interesting part is that, when this happens, I need to press Left to get back to the Bayou; usually one needs to press Down. So the controls for moving between the spiral doors actually are relative to the camera, while I would've expected them to be hard-coded.

Nve
Bracadabreur
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 12:44 pm
Tings: 1874

Re: RayTwol ~ Rayman 2 level editor (1.0 release)

Post by Nve »

Link is dead.

Steo
Globox
Posts: 26991
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: na Corcaí Buafacha
Tings: 125645

Re: RayTwol ~ Rayman 2 level editor (1.0 release)

Post by Steo »

I wasn't aware of this, and I don't have a copy of Raytwol myself anymore. I don't think there's an easy way to contact Adsolution at this stage either. :|
GLOBOX MOMENT!
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687

RayCarrot
Uglette
Posts: 1893
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 5:46 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:
Tings: 25814

Re: RayTwol ~ Rayman 2 level editor (1.0 release)

Post by RayCarrot »


Steo
Globox
Posts: 26991
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: na Corcaí Buafacha
Tings: 125645

Re: RayTwol ~ Rayman 2 level editor (1.0 release)

Post by Steo »

Thanks! I guess I should add it as a mirror in the first post for now, so others that might want the link will be able to find it easier.
GLOBOX MOMENT!
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687

gamerz31w
Mouru
Posts: 762
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:35 pm
Tings: 895

Re: RayTwol ~ Rayman 2 level editor (1.0 release)

Post by gamerz31w »

It seems download link is broken.
Image

Steo
Globox
Posts: 26991
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: na Corcaí Buafacha
Tings: 125645

Re: RayTwol ~ Rayman 2 level editor (1.0 release)

Post by Steo »

gamerz31w wrote:
Sun Oct 13, 2019 12:34 am
It seems download link is broken.
I was going to say use the mirror I put below, but since the original download link is likely gone forever (including the domain by the looks of it), I'll just put RayCarrot's link as the main one for now.
GLOBOX MOMENT!
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687

gamerz31w
Mouru
Posts: 762
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:35 pm
Tings: 895

Re: RayTwol ~ Rayman 2 level editor (1.0 release)

Post by gamerz31w »

Will I be able to export and then import Rayman level maps to Unreal Editor 1?
Image It's not working properly.Fix it,please?


Steo
Globox
Posts: 26991
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: na Corcaí Buafacha
Tings: 125645

Re: RayTwol ~ Rayman 2 level editor (1.0 release)

Post by Steo »

Oh crap, I wasn't aware of this. :roll:
GLOBOX MOMENT!
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687

Post Reply