Rayman 3 (Dolphin Emulator) HD Texture Pack

Discuss tools to aid in the modification and running of Rayman games.

Moderators: English moderators, Modding and utilities team

haker120
Paluchard
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2015 8:14 pm
Tings: 200

Re: Rayman 3 (Dolphin Emulator) HD Texture Pack

Post by haker120 »

My settings are default, except turned on two options to load custom textures and changed from DX11 to Vulcan in graphics. Also yes, in resource pack manager both are installed, unless it's Ishiiruka Dolphin then copied files manually to textures. Now I have only HD Textures and GC HD HUD and works for me, shame cause on PC I use either DS3 or X360 controller. ;)
deton24
Photographe
Posts: 915
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:22 am
Location: Poland
Tings: 7521

Re: Rayman 3 (Dolphin Emulator) HD Texture Pack

Post by deton24 »

Hi folks. Good news.
RayCarrot made a modification of his Rayman Control Panel which allows modifying Rayman 2, 3, M, Arena to use high resolution textures in PC versions.
Easy and comfortable tool with texture browser, allowing also multiple edits.
viewtopic.php?f=89&t=12592&p=1365628#p1365617
viewtopic.php?f=89&t=12592&p=1365628#p1365028

Bad news -
Filenames won't match from this mod, though, so if no one will find better solution, all Dolphin texture names will have to be renamed to PC names manually.
And I afraid it will take ages if no one gets on a better idea. Maybe sorting all textures by size will help to match them? I don't know. I don't even think about some software recognizing duplicate images. It would be too great. Still, it could take ages as well if it won't have some auto renaming feature.

Another idea is to upscale existing PC textures by AI upscaler called ESRGAN using an e.g. Fatality algorithm like Granville did in Rayman 2, but it won't look as good as ICUP321 tex mod based on console official HD textures, but still, it will be noticeably better.
But, in case of using ICUP321 tex mod, I'd highly recommend using my upscaled version of these textures (not by ESRGAN, but Lanczos filter in XnView Classic, but they're sharper in FHD and greater resolutions):
https://yadi.sk/d/5EpdhiN2aY6NZQ For some reason, I've never even linked to this package anywhere before -.-
They're already in form of separate texture files instead of package for Dolphin, so they're easy to convert/edit/view.

On the other hand, for people using my Reshade mod for PC version, tex mod is not absolutely necessary since I've used there few good sharpening shaders, and these textures doesn't look bad in comparison to HD version counterparts:
viewtopic.php?f=89&t=28380
But for vanilla PC version, HD tex mod would be like a salvation. Even ESRGAN Fatality upscale with PC textures as a base would make a difference.
ICUP321
Poilu
Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:37 pm
Tings: 515

Re: Rayman 3 (Dolphin Emulator) HD Texture Pack

Post by ICUP321 »

deton24 wrote: Fri Jan 31, 2020 8:36 pm Hi folks. Good news.
RayCarrot made a modification of his Rayman Control Panel which allows modifying Rayman 2, 3, M, Arena to use high resolution textures in PC versions.
Easy and comfortable tool with texture browser, allowing also multiple edits.
viewtopic.php?f=89&t=12592&p=1365628#p1365617
viewtopic.php?f=89&t=12592&p=1365628#p1365028

Bad news -
Filenames won't match from this mod, though, so if no one will find better solution, all Dolphin texture names will have to be renamed to PC names manually.
And I afraid it will take ages if no one gets on a better idea. Maybe sorting all textures by size will help to match them? I don't know. I don't even think about some software recognizing duplicate images. It would be too great. Still, it could take ages as well if it won't have some auto renaming feature.

Another idea is to upscale existing PC textures by AI upscaler called ESRGAN using an e.g. Fatality algorithm like Granville did in Rayman 2, but it won't look as good as ICUP321 tex mod based on console official HD textures, but still, it will be noticeably better.
But, in case of using ICUP321 tex mod, I'd highly recommend using my upscaled version of these textures (not by ESRGAN, but Lanczos filter in XnView Classic, but they're sharper in FHD and greater resolutions):
https://yadi.sk/d/5EpdhiN2aY6NZQ For some reason, I've never even linked to this package anywhere before -.-
They're already in form of separate texture files instead of package for Dolphin, so they're easy to convert/edit/view.

On the other hand, for people using my Reshade mod for PC version, tex mod is not absolutely necessary since I've used there few good sharpening shaders, and these textures doesn't look bad in comparison to HD version counterparts:
viewtopic.php?f=89&t=28380
But for vanilla PC version, HD tex mod would be like a salvation. Even ESRGAN Fatality upscale with PC textures as a base would make a difference.
Don't get too excited, the PC version of Rayman 3 still has limited memory, I tried injecting the HD textures from the PS3 version already and what happens is that if you put too many of them the game runs out of memory and crashes. However, this is a what the PC version looks like if you only upscale the stage textures to HD, it's not very noticeable, but look closely at the grass texture, it looks more detailed:
https://i.imgur.com/QnmFOFB.png
And for comparison here's what it looks like originally:
https://i.imgur.com/qMs6cW1.png

EDIT: Holy crap, it turns out it I was wrong, it was actually a bug with Rayman Control Panel so it turns out Rayman 3 PC does NOT have any texture memory limitations, which means HD textures are indeed possible on PC now! You may download it from here: https://docs.google.com/document/d/e/2P ... NhGc9y/pub
Last edited by ICUP321 on Tue Aug 25, 2020 5:20 am, edited 1 time in total.
ICUP321
Poilu
Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:37 pm
Tings: 515

Re: Rayman 3 (Dolphin Emulator) HD Texture Pack

Post by ICUP321 »

Hi, just wanted to say I updated the download link in this thread to a new one, as the old one wasn't working anymore.

Also, I've just made a new HD Texture Pack, this time for the GameCube version of Rayman Arena, it's still WIP because I haven't up-scaled the lower quality multi-player texture variants, but that will be added in an update hopefully very soon: viewtopic.php?f=89&t=74302
Post Reply