Rayman 2 Revolution 60fps hack (requires PCSX2 and good PC)

Discuss tools to aid in the modification and running of Rayman games.

Moderators: English moderators, Modding and utilities team

PluMGMK
Pizzicatta
Posts: 29039
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Tír an "Tuisil Ghinidigh" agus an "Mhodha Choinníollaigh"
Contact:
Tings: 3500

Re: Rayman 2 Revolution 60fps hack (requires PCSX2 and good PC)

Post by PluMGMK » Sun Feb 25, 2018 10:44 pm

They're not that different though, are they? :?

Steo
Globox Origins
Posts: 23138
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: na Corcaí Buafacha
Tings: 138225

Re: Rayman 2 Revolution 60fps hack (requires PCSX2 and good PC)

Post by Steo » Sun Feb 25, 2018 11:19 pm

You know what I'm actually going to try this out once I finish the Dreamcast version. A 7700k and a GTX970 should be powerful enough for it right?

A little weird one I noticed also is in the PAL Dreamcast version if you have the rumble pack connected to the controller it asks would you like to use the vibration pack and in the NTSC version it asks would you like to use the jump pack.
Glas an dath is fearr liom!
Image
R4Y_ANC3L wrote:
Fri Mar 29, 2019 7:44 pm
I have never thought Globox and Steo shared the exact traits after all until now.

PluMGMK
Pizzicatta
Posts: 29039
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Tír an "Tuisil Ghinidigh" agus an "Mhodha Choinníollaigh"
Contact:
Tings: 3500

Re: Rayman 2 Revolution 60fps hack (requires PCSX2 and good PC)

Post by PluMGMK » Sun Feb 25, 2018 11:26 pm

Possibly too powerful! I had a glitch a few years ago where cutscenes ran slightly too quickly. Not sure what exactly the factors were for that though…

Steo
Globox Origins
Posts: 23138
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: na Corcaí Buafacha
Tings: 138225

Re: Rayman 2 Revolution 60fps hack (requires PCSX2 and good PC)

Post by Steo » Sun Feb 25, 2018 11:46 pm

PluMGMK wrote:Possibly too powerful! I had a glitch a few years ago where cutscenes ran slightly too quickly. Not sure what exactly the factors were for that though…
I know the epsxe runs too fast if the frame limiter is off and vsync is off so maybe that's a factor. I'll look into the mod because people are saying the PS2 version is better apart from the framerate. Most people don't care but I'm just fussy.

The game is hilarious by the way. It's OK it's just a big nosed Bush, door opening :mrgreen:
Glas an dath is fearr liom!
Image
R4Y_ANC3L wrote:
Fri Mar 29, 2019 7:44 pm
I have never thought Globox and Steo shared the exact traits after all until now.

Harpic fraîcheur
Rayman Origins
Posts: 26046
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 7:57 pm
Location: Au pays des prouts
Tings: 1234050

Re: Rayman 2 Revolution 60fps hack (requires PCSX2 and good PC)

Post by Harpic fraîcheur » Mon Feb 26, 2018 12:24 am

Greeness wrote:That's true, but to me it is just more aesthetically pleasing and has a much greater emphasis on movement.
Yeah the Hall of Doors is so far a more magical place than the Isle of Doors and so it suits better to the Rayman 2 universe. :)
PluMGMK wrote:They're not that different though, are they? :?
:boon:
Une nouvelle vague de fraîcheur, Harpic fraîcheur verte ! 8)
Image Image
boomboleros7 wrote:Harpic est imbattable. Harpic est légendaire. Harpic est divin.

PluMGMK
Pizzicatta
Posts: 29039
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Tír an "Tuisil Ghinidigh" agus an "Mhodha Choinníollaigh"
Contact:
Tings: 3500

Re: Rayman 2 Revolution 60fps hack (requires PCSX2 and good PC)

Post by PluMGMK » Mon Feb 26, 2018 10:32 am

Well they've got the same structure, both consist of a series of twenty spiral doors, which are found near features that give an impression of the world you're about to enter. Nothing like the differences with the Front.
But yes, the Hall is better. :hap:

Steo
Globox Origins
Posts: 23138
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: na Corcaí Buafacha
Tings: 138225

Re: Rayman 2 Revolution 60fps hack (requires PCSX2 and good PC)

Post by Steo » Mon Feb 26, 2018 4:32 pm

I tried this and left all the textures default for now and ticked the box to enable cheats. It still seems to be just going 30fps unless I missed something. I created the file and enabled cheats anyway. I made sure to use the USA version of the game even though I have the retail PAL disc here. Using OpenGL as the renderer.

OK so I figured it out. In the PCSX2 log that it was looking for the cheats folder in Documents but I had the pnach file in the program files one. Simple mistake really.
Glas an dath is fearr liom!
Image
R4Y_ANC3L wrote:
Fri Mar 29, 2019 7:44 pm
I have never thought Globox and Steo shared the exact traits after all until now.

Pixelise
Tribelle
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:53 am
Location: Poland
Tings: 90

Re: Rayman 2 Revolution 60fps hack (requires PCSX2 and good PC)

Post by Pixelise » Wed Feb 28, 2018 1:01 pm

steocullen91 wrote:I know this thread is a year old. I used to love the first Rayman game as a kid on PS1. I went years without playing any other Rayman games thinking it won't be the same new ones never are. I played origins only 2 months ago and I loved it so much that I got every achievement for it on XBOX 360 then bought it for PS3 and Vita. Then got legends and loved that so bought that on every console too. I dug through my PS2 games and found Rayman 3 so played it and completed it and liked that one too. Now I go take out my Dreamcast and fire up Rayman 2 since I've never played it and it's great so far. I seen the PS1 version of it looks absolutely awful compared to the Dreamcast and runs at half the framerate then found out revolution is the same game so thought great I've to try that out.

It runs absolutely awful. I'm in a PAL area (Ireland) and it's 25fps and less (it actually drops from 25fps).

It looks very colourful and vibrant compared to the dreamcast version and the PlayStation versions speak English instead of Raymanian but that's about it. The Dreamcast version is way better at 60fps. I think it was just a lazy PS2 port seeing as Rayman 3 runs a lot better. Still gets drops but it's way way better.

You can see here that the PS2 copy (top) has brighter colours than the Dreamcast one (bottom). That's about it but it runs so much better on Dreamcast and only drops from 60fps when there's smoke being rendered for like 1 second or so. I missed out for years but I'm catching back up and playing every one of the Rayman games now to make up for it. The whole series seems brilliant. Collage 2018-02-25 14_51_47.jpg
The problem with Revolution is that it was made on RenderWare. Which run like shish on PS2
I'm mystery... Can call me Shadow.... I like cookies.

Steo
Globox Origins
Posts: 23138
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: na Corcaí Buafacha
Tings: 138225

Re: Rayman 2 Revolution 60fps hack (requires PCSX2 and good PC)

Post by Steo » Wed Feb 28, 2018 1:07 pm

Pixelise wrote: The problem with Revolution is that it was made on RenderWare. Which run like shish on PS2
Yeah it doesn't run the best tbh but I'm still gonna play it because behind that low framerate is a brilliant game to be played :)
Glas an dath is fearr liom!
Image
R4Y_ANC3L wrote:
Fri Mar 29, 2019 7:44 pm
I have never thought Globox and Steo shared the exact traits after all until now.

The Jonster
Magicien
Posts: 25210
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2018 6:15 am
Location: The Bog of Murk
Tings: 71880

Re: Rayman 2 Revolution 60fps hack (requires PCSX2 and good PC)

Post by The Jonster » Sat Jul 28, 2018 4:38 am

Too bad I'm using laptops to play these games. I tried the hacks but for me it seems the game runs MUCH slower than it normally did when I first played. I might have to play through the game a little more but so far that's how it's looking for both of my laptops. (If only I could have a desktop but that's not for a long time :? )

(Plus I'm pretty much stuck with a near shitty graphics card too tbh)
Image
Condition: Blue
Steo wrote:
Thu Oct 04, 2018 5:26 pm
^ reminds me of someone who can take a lot of criticism and still refuses to get angry with me. ^ is really friendly with others and < is actually impressed at this stage :)
Harpic fraîcheur wrote:
Wed Jun 27, 2018 8:16 pm
Frisco, Frisco, watcha gonna do, watcha gonna do when he comes for you? :hap:
Rayman 3 (PC) score: FC: 33608 | CF: 88622 | BOM: 58063 | TLOTLD: 107189 | DOTK: 103915 | TLS: 40980 | SBTC: 76805 | HH: 97162| TOTL: 94702| Total: 701046

Steo
Globox Origins
Posts: 23138
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: na Corcaí Buafacha
Tings: 138225

Re: Rayman 2 Revolution 60fps hack (requires PCSX2 and good PC)

Post by Steo » Mon Aug 06, 2018 10:35 pm

Laptops can run it, but probably very good laptops that cost like €2000 which not many people would have :lol:
Glas an dath is fearr liom!
Image
R4Y_ANC3L wrote:
Fri Mar 29, 2019 7:44 pm
I have never thought Globox and Steo shared the exact traits after all until now.

Post Reply