Re-create Rayman 3D games

Discuss tools to aid in the modification and running of Rayman games.

Moderators: English moderators, Modding and utilities team

Rock_TBT
Reclu
Posts: 120
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 8:40 am
Tings: 600

Re-create Rayman 3D games

Postby Rock_TBT » Thu May 25, 2017 11:55 am

What do you think about re-creating the 3D installments of Rayman in a game engine, such as Unity or Unreal Engine? That would be easier to mod and add NEW levels and character, than creating a modding tool. Game such as Rayman 3 is very hard to mod.

______________________________________________
THE ASSETS BELOW ARE NOT CONNECTED TO THE 3D RE-CREATION OF RAYMAN GAMES!

Here are assets in case someone is interested.
Unity scripts: https://mega.nz/#%21CsJBGaYI%21-Ov1kbb2 ... tM5w793FQ8
RPG KIT Unity: https://mega.nz/#!3lJTjTpJ!uferdo__rCVj ... gIDgy6DnCM

Rayman Characters: https://mega.nz/#!q94C3YAD!eDPQtcAPydQW ... kpCKcuas-k
Rayman Objects: https://mega.nz/#!WlB2naSD!fjCy73jlVVSQ ... 4Rl6rubxwM

Character animations (open in QuckTIme): https://mega.nz/#%21T84U3I5T%21mXfSZoFC ... R38hxIJ57Q
Last edited by Rock_TBT on Thu May 25, 2017 3:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Drolpiraat
Oumbr
Posts: 4895
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 7:31 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Tings: 52485

Re: Re-create Rayman 3D games

Postby Drolpiraat » Thu May 25, 2017 12:34 pm

Well obviously recreating whole games in Unity is just a matter of copy-pasting scripts, unrigged (probably, didn't really check) 3D assets and animations all from different sources, right?

Rock_TBT
Reclu
Posts: 120
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 8:40 am
Tings: 600

Re: Re-create Rayman 3D games

Postby Rock_TBT » Thu May 25, 2017 2:56 pm

Drolpiraat wrote:Well obviously recreating whole games in Unity is just a matter of copy-pasting scripts, unrigged (probably, didn't really check) 3D assets and animations all from different sources, right?


The RPG Kit is a package that I have bought from Unity Store. The animations are all from one place. The models are all rigged.

I never claimed that these assets are going to be used in the re-creation. I just putted the assets there, in case someone isn´t aware of their existence. I never intended there to be a connection between the assets that I put in the post and the re-creation. Just to clarify, these assets do NOT necessarily have to be included in a re-creation.

Oh right. I forgot to include the rigged versions of the characters in the Rayman M rips. Anyway, the rigged versions are in the animation zip-file.

Drolpiraat
Oumbr
Posts: 4895
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 7:31 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:
Tings: 52485

Re: Re-create Rayman 3D games

Postby Drolpiraat » Thu May 25, 2017 3:43 pm

Why even post these assets if they have nothing to do with the topic?

In any case, recreating the games properly would involve:
  • Decompiling the game mechanics' code properly
  • Creating a working copy of this code based on the quasi incomprehensible results from the decompilation phase
  • Extracting all of the assets properly. Not just models but also the animations made for those models, textures, text, sound effects, music, level files and more. You can't just use random assets like animations you downloaded somewhere in their place, that will look horrible on those models.
  • Importing all of the assets properly
  • Probably even getting a Cease & Desist from Ubisoft

Considering the level files from most of the games can barely be read and we have no clue what half of the data means or where it is even located, it is absolutely an impossible task.

Rock_TBT
Reclu
Posts: 120
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 8:40 am
Tings: 600

Re: Re-create Rayman 3D games

Postby Rock_TBT » Thu May 25, 2017 3:58 pm

Drolpiraat wrote:Why even post these assets if they have nothing to do with the topic?

In any case, recreating the games properly would involve:
  • Decompiling the game mechanics' code properly
  • Creating a working copy of this code based on the quasi incomprehensible results from the decompilation phase
  • Extracting all of the assets properly. Not just models but also the animations made for those models, textures, text, sound effects, music, level files and more. You can't just use random assets like animations you downloaded somewhere in their place, that will look horrible on those models.
  • Importing all of the assets properly
  • Probably even getting a Cease & Desist from Ubisoft

Considering the level files from most of the games can barely be read and we have no clue what half of the data means or where it is even located, it is absolutely an impossible task.


Haven´t everything that you mentioned already been extracted, except for animations and the code? The code and animations would need to be created from scratch, and there is non need to use the level files, since it is going to be created in a game engine that is different from the one used for the game.

I have never heard of an animation exporter.

Raymanni
Pâquerette
Posts: 1073
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 5:11 pm
Location: Skaro
Tings: 12785

Re: Re-create Rayman 3D games

Postby Raymanni » Thu May 25, 2017 4:30 pm

One could easily make a R2/R3 styled 3D platformer in unity if that person had time, interest and skill.

-> viewtopic.php?f=51&t=21612


Return to “Modding and utilities”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests