Rayman Control Panel (Rayman PC tools & utilities)

Discuss tools to aid in the modification and running of Rayman games.

Moderators: English moderators, Modding and utilities team

yakyak102
Électoon
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2020 11:23 pm
Tings: 15

Re: Rayman Control Panel (Rayman PC tools & utilities)

Post by yakyak102 »

Sorry, what I explained is what happens when I run the setup. What do you mean by the RCP config? I see the config menu but there isn't anything to 'run' there as far as I can tell?
RayCarrot
Uglette
Posts: 2121
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 5:46 pm
Contact:
Tings: 29064

Re: Rayman Control Panel (Rayman PC tools & utilities)

Post by RayCarrot »

You need to configure the game before it can run. If the normal setup doesn't launch you can do it in RCP. Set the resolution etc. and press save. If it still doesn't launch, can you send me the file under C:\Windows\Ubisoft\ubi.ini and I'll have a look.
Image
gianrobo
Électoon
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2020 9:56 pm
Tings: 10

Re: Rayman Control Panel (Rayman PC tools & utilities)

Post by gianrobo »

Is playing Rayman Forever(Rayman 1) with this program better than playing the game on the PS1 emulator?
RayCarrot
Uglette
Posts: 2121
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 5:46 pm
Contact:
Tings: 29064

Re: Rayman Control Panel (Rayman PC tools & utilities)

Post by RayCarrot »

That's up to personal preference. Most people agree the PS1 version is better since it has more graphical effects, like fog, more colors, new MIDI music etc. This program won't really change any of that. What it can do is bring over the per-level soundtrack from PS1.
Image
gianrobo
Électoon
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2020 9:56 pm
Tings: 10

Re: Rayman Control Panel (Rayman PC tools & utilities)

Post by gianrobo »

What Emulator would you recommend to play it if that's the case?
RayCarrot
Uglette
Posts: 2121
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 5:46 pm
Contact:
Tings: 29064

Re: Rayman Control Panel (Rayman PC tools & utilities)

Post by RayCarrot »

I'm not very familiar with PS1 emulators. Personally I use BizHawk.
Image
Infomaniac95
Bébé Globox
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2020 11:45 am
Tings: 45

Re: Rayman Control Panel (Rayman PC tools & utilities)

Post by Infomaniac95 »

I seem to be having some weird crashing issues happening on my end. Any idea what could be going on? I've attached a log file.
Attachments
crashlog.rtf
Crashlog from Rayman Control Panel
(3.34 KiB) Downloaded 10 times
RayCarrot
Uglette
Posts: 2121
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 5:46 pm
Contact:
Tings: 29064

Re: Rayman Control Panel (Rayman PC tools & utilities)

Post by RayCarrot »

That's very odd. It seems the Registry method doesn't exist for you. Are you perhaps on Linux or some other non-Windows system?
Since the error is happening in the PostUpdate method you could try resetting your app data. You can do this by going to %LocalAppData%\Rayman Control Panel\RCP_Metro and deleting the data from there.

Edit: I just remembered it's using the .NET Standard API. If you're on Windows 10, are you on an older version? I think RCP requires version 1803 as minimum, unless you manually update .NET.
Image
Infomaniac95
Bébé Globox
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2020 11:45 am
Tings: 45

Re: Rayman Control Panel (Rayman PC tools & utilities)

Post by Infomaniac95 »

I should be on the latest Windows 10 build (Version 2004). I think maybe my .NET versions are messed up or something, but, IDK. I attached a screenshot of versions I have installed. If there is any runtime you think I should get to try and resolve the issue, please send it my way, as I do recall this program working once a while back. Oh, and I did try deleting AppData stuff, to no luck, either.
Attachments
Versions of .NET I have installed
Versions of .NET I have installed
RayCarrot
Uglette
Posts: 2121
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 5:46 pm
Contact:
Tings: 29064

Re: Rayman Control Panel (Rayman PC tools & utilities)

Post by RayCarrot »

That is very odd. Version 4.8 should work fine as I'm targeting 4.7.2. After you deleted the app data, did you get the same crashlog? In the log you sent it crashed in PostUpdate, which shouldn't get called if you start with no data.
Image
Infomaniac95
Bébé Globox
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2020 11:45 am
Tings: 45

Re: Rayman Control Panel (Rayman PC tools & utilities)

Post by Infomaniac95 »

I seem to be getting the same crash, if im not mistaken. If you want to talk about this more, without clogging this place up, you should be able to DM me on twitter, @lebrickster.
PluMGMK
Dora Dodemer
Posts: 32051
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: An tír ina labhraítear (beagán ar fad) an teanga ina bhfuil sé seo scríofa
Contact:
Tings: 5635

Re: Rayman Control Panel (Rayman PC tools & utilities)

Post by PluMGMK »

I wouldn't worry about "clogging up" the forum. Hopefully the discussion could be helpful to others who might find it in the future…
Infomaniac95
Bébé Globox
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2020 11:45 am
Tings: 45

Re: Rayman Control Panel (Rayman PC tools & utilities)

Post by Infomaniac95 »

Hm, very well. In that case, here is the crash log from this time. Unless im mistaken, still the same issue here :/
Attachments
crashlog_2.rtf
Crashlog from when after I cleared my AppData
(3.16 KiB) Downloaded 6 times
RayCarrot
Uglette
Posts: 2121
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 5:46 pm
Contact:
Tings: 29064

Re: Rayman Control Panel (Rayman PC tools & utilities)

Post by RayCarrot »

It runs out that the PostUpdate code does run even with resetting the app data since it sets the last recorded version to 1.0 by default, which is then seen as less than the current one. I'll fix that in the next update.

Still no closer to figuring out this issue though. It seems the method which "doesn't exist" is actually a method in my own library, which is bundled with the exe. I did several tests myself and I can't reproduce your error.

These are my suggestions:
- Try updating to the latest RCP beta (https://github.com/RayCarrot/RayCarrot. ... o/releases)
- Try installing the .NET Framework 4.7.2 runtime
- Try replacing your user data file with the one I've attached here. That will have the latest version set to the current version, thus skipping the PostUpdate function. This would however only be a temporary solution.

Edit: If the last option is the only one which works and you can get the app to start, could you please set the user level to "debug", go to the debug page, set the data output to "ReferencedAssemblies", press refresh and send me the output? That will show all assemblies which have been loaded.
Attachments
appuserdata.7z
(870 Bytes) Downloaded 6 times
Image
Infomaniac95
Bébé Globox
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2020 11:45 am
Tings: 45

Re: Rayman Control Panel (Rayman PC tools & utilities)

Post by Infomaniac95 »

The latest RCP release did not work. I can't install 4.7.2, since it says I have a newer version installed, and I can't find a way to remove it from Programs and Features, and I have no clue where the appuserdata goes, im afraid. I did at one point have Visual Studio on my PC, but removed it sometime back. I wonder if that caused something to go wrong?
deton24
Photographe
Posts: 915
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:22 am
Location: Poland
Tings: 7521

Re: Rayman Control Panel (Rayman PC tools & utilities)

Post by deton24 »

Maybe some compatibility options will help?
Eventually try to run RCP from other location, e.g. Program Files, or from root X:
RCP works below build W10 1803 and with .NET Framework 4.7 normally.
@I didn't even think about appdata in any way.
Last edited by deton24 on Sat Aug 01, 2020 3:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
RayCarrot
Uglette
Posts: 2121
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 5:46 pm
Contact:
Tings: 29064

Re: Rayman Control Panel (Rayman PC tools & utilities)

Post by RayCarrot »

The app user data goes in the folder I mentioned before. So %LocalAppData%\Rayman Control Panel\RCP_Metro.
Changing where it's run from etc. won't help.
Image
Infomaniac95
Bébé Globox
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2020 11:45 am
Tings: 45

Re: Rayman Control Panel (Rayman PC tools & utilities)

Post by Infomaniac95 »

Using the appuserdata gets me further in, but a new error arises.
Attachments
crashlog_3.rtf
There's just no end to these, huh?
(5.86 KiB) Downloaded 4 times
RayCarrot
Uglette
Posts: 2121
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 5:46 pm
Contact:
Tings: 29064

Re: Rayman Control Panel (Rayman PC tools & utilities)

Post by RayCarrot »

Could you try this build? I disabled some of the functions using that method causing it to crash. If you get in with it, could you then send me the output I mentioned before please.
Image
RayCarrot
Uglette
Posts: 2121
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 5:46 pm
Contact:
Tings: 29064

Re: Rayman Control Panel (Rayman PC tools & utilities)

Post by RayCarrot »

Version 10.2.0 is now available. Major changes:

Code: Select all

• The program has now been translated to Polish (thanks Fabiosek & Pixelise!)
• Added the progression tab for Rayman M/Arena
• Added a utility for converting Rayman M/Arena save files
• The UbiArt localization converter utility can now handle Rayman Origins (3DS) files
• The disc check removal option now supports a second version of Rayman M
• Added an option to convert .gf files to 32-bit on import
Rayman_Control_Panel_2020-08-05_11-50-45.png
Image
Post Reply