Rayman 3 & Rayman Arena - Xbox Widescreen Hack, 720p hack

Discuss tools to aid in the modification and running of Rayman games.

Moderators: English moderators, Modding and utilities team

Post Reply
Steo
Rayman 2
Posts: 26674
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: na Corcaí Buafacha
Tings: 183583

Rayman 3 & Rayman Arena - Xbox Widescreen Hack, 720p hack

Post by Steo » Mon Jun 18, 2018 3:10 am

I've updated the post again. I've added IPS patches to the bottom of the post, and also a 720p patch for Rayman 3.

OK so I've updated this and there's a much better way of doing it. I slaved away at editing and testing for days because I love this game and I got the result I wanted :)

Anyway, grab a hex editor and open your default.xbe file (or alternatively use the IPS patch from the bottom of this post).

Code: Select all

Find:

D9 44 24 10 68 00 00 00 3F

Replace with:

D9 44 24 10 68 00 00 1C 3F
This will make the game widescreen, but you will have a rendering problem on both screen edges where stuff will disappear onscreen. Apply this fix:

Code: Select all

Find:

8B 46 58 D9 5C 24 18 68 00 00 00 3F

Replace with:

8B 46 58 D9 5C 24 18 68 00 00 1C 3F
Also the cutscene edge fix.

Code: Select all

Find:

5C 24 18 68 00 00 00 3F D9 46 58 51

Replace with:

5C 24 18 68 00 00 1C 3F D9 46 58 51
Note that the main menu font will no longer be in widescreen doing this but it's the perfect aspect ratio compared to the PC version and the menu font isn't really a priority. I can find a fix for it but I doubt people will mind as other consoles don't change the menu font either.

I've also added a 720p patch. The game won't manage to run at 60fps while using it, but it still runs at a playable framerate if you prefer the graphics over the framerate.

Note: There are a couple of bugs with 720p, mainly that the Ubisoft logo, intro video, and loading screen are 640x480 in the upper left corner of the screen, though the actual game is in full screen. There is also some flickering during the Ubisoft logo and first intro video, and there are also some slight reflections that can be seen in the upper left near the score. I have yet to test an in game cutscene, but they'll likely be played on the upper left of the screen also. I'm sure this stuff can be fixed eventually, but the main thing is that the game is playable in 720p.

I still wouldn't recommend using it in 720p for scoring purposes, as fps variations effect the physics, such as the jump height. It's mainly just a case that it can run in 720p is all.

Screenshot comparison, including 720p:
LOTLD.png
480p 4:3
LOTLD Wide.png
480p 16:9
Rayman 3 720p.png
720p
For Rayman Arena:

Open default.xbe with a hex editor (or alternatively use the IPS patch from the bottom of this post).

Code: Select all

Find:

8B 4E 58 68 00 00 00 3F

Replace with:

8B 4E 58 68 00 00 1C 3F
There are also pop ins on the sidescrolling levels, this will fix them:

Code: Select all

Find:

00 8B 56 58 D9 5C 24 14 68 00 00 00 3F

Replace with:

00 8B 56 58 D9 5C 24 14 68 00 00 1C 3F
The only glitch I've noticed with Arena is that the circle for character selection now has the character off centre to the right (due to the extra port on screen at the left)

I'll find a fix for this eventually but it isn't too important as it doesn't affect the gameplay in any way.
Rayman IPS patches.zip
(853 Bytes) Downloaded 6 times
Last edited by Steo on Thu Jun 28, 2018 8:17 pm, edited 15 times in total.
How much Ray may a Rayman man if a Rayman may Man Ray?
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687

PluMGMK
Pizzicatta
Posts: 30442
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Tír an "Tuisil Ghinidigh" agus an "Mhodha Choinníollaigh"
Contact:
Tings: 3993

Re: Rayman 3 Xbox Widescreen Hack

Post by PluMGMK » Mon Jun 18, 2018 9:49 pm

Nice work!
And I've moved it to the modding section for you. ;)

Steo
Rayman 2
Posts: 26674
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: na Corcaí Buafacha
Tings: 183583

Re: Rayman 3 Xbox Widescreen Hack

Post by Steo » Mon Jun 18, 2018 10:29 pm

PluMGMK wrote:Nice work!
And I've moved it to the modding section for you. ;)
Thanks Plum :)

I wasn't thinking properly because I spent so long trying to figure it out :mrgreen:

I haven't noticed any glitches except that enemies at the very side of the FOV will disappear since they're too far outside the original 4:3 window. This isn't really a problem though since it literally only happens if they're right at the edge and almost completely out of the FOV. They appear again once they're far enough into the FOV. I'm guessing it's just a way of helping the console save resources. Nevertheless I'll still try figure out if it's fixable though it's not important :P
How much Ray may a Rayman man if a Rayman may Man Ray?
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687

PluMGMK
Pizzicatta
Posts: 30442
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Tír an "Tuisil Ghinidigh" agus an "Mhodha Choinníollaigh"
Contact:
Tings: 3993

Re: Rayman 3 Xbox Widescreen Hack

Post by PluMGMK » Mon Jun 18, 2018 10:43 pm

Is it as bad as it was on PC with the older versions of RibShark's patch I wonder?

Steo
Rayman 2
Posts: 26674
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: na Corcaí Buafacha
Tings: 183583

Re: Rayman 3 Xbox Widescreen Hack

Post by Steo » Mon Jun 18, 2018 10:55 pm

Here's a short video of it. Sorry for the quality, I was using my phone and can't be bothered to Jerry rig composite video just to show it. I'm getting a capture card tomorrow anyway :)
How much Ray may a Rayman man if a Rayman may Man Ray?
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687

Pixelise
Tribelle
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:53 am
Location: Poland
Tings: 90

Re: Rayman 3 Xbox Widescreen Hack

Post by Pixelise » Tue Jun 19, 2018 6:41 pm

Now all versions of Rayman 3 can be played in widescreen! Thank you sir! Now if only someone did a widescreen patch for Rayman Arena on Xbox
I'm mystery... Can call me Shadow.... I like cookies.

Steo
Rayman 2
Posts: 26674
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: na Corcaí Buafacha
Tings: 183583

Re: Rayman 3 (and Arena) Xbox Widescreen Hacks

Post by Steo » Sun Jun 24, 2018 2:14 am

So as an update I finally got everything working the way I wanted to and I'm delighted :)

I'm celebrating by having a few beers :P

Arena has been added to the first post :D
How much Ray may a Rayman man if a Rayman may Man Ray?
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687

The Jonster
Murfy
Posts: 27140
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2018 6:15 am
Location: En el más largo de los atajos
Tings: 64310

Re: Rayman 3 (and Arena) Xbox Widescreen Hacks

Post by The Jonster » Sun Jun 24, 2018 2:42 am

Seriously, this is well done!! :)
Life happens. Just gotta roll with it!
Image
Steo wrote:
Thu Aug 15, 2019 5:05 pm

^ reminds me of mixing up directions and breaking the forum. :lol:

Pixelise
Tribelle
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:53 am
Location: Poland
Tings: 90

Re: Rayman 3 (and Arena) Xbox Widescreen Hacks

Post by Pixelise » Sun Jun 24, 2018 8:23 am

Well done man! Out of curiosity. Did you used the Xbox emulator to do them or did you have some other tactics for these kind of modifications?
I'm mystery... Can call me Shadow.... I like cookies.

Steo
Rayman 2
Posts: 26674
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: na Corcaí Buafacha
Tings: 183583

Re: Rayman 3 (and Arena) Xbox Widescreen Hacks

Post by Steo » Sun Jun 24, 2018 12:35 pm

Pixelise wrote:Well done man! Out of curiosity. Did you used the Xbox emulator to do them or did you have some other tactics for these kind of modifications?
I have a softmodded Xbox, so I was literally changing a few bytes at a time on a hex editor, FTPing the xbe to the Xbox and then running it to test it. I had to do that literally thousands of times but the fact that it ended up working makes it worth it :)
How much Ray may a Rayman man if a Rayman may Man Ray?
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687

PluMGMK
Pizzicatta
Posts: 30442
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Tír an "Tuisil Ghinidigh" agus an "Mhodha Choinníollaigh"
Contact:
Tings: 3993

Re: Rayman 3 (and Arena) Xbox Widescreen Hacks

Post by PluMGMK » Sun Jun 24, 2018 1:28 pm

Congratulations! :teuf:

Steo
Rayman 2
Posts: 26674
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: na Corcaí Buafacha
Tings: 183583

Re: Rayman 3 (and Arena) Xbox Widescreen Hacks

Post by Steo » Sun Jun 24, 2018 11:49 pm

Thanks :)

I haven't fully tested Arena yet but it was definitely in widescreen. I'm guessing the character on the character selection screen being to the right of that circle isn't a problem people would really mind. I'll run some other tests but if it doesn't work it's not a big deal. The sides of the screen not being rendered was far worse :lol:

Just letting you know there's another fix for Rayman 3. This is a fix for the screen edges in cut scenes. I've added it to the first post :)

Here's a video of the problem then it fixed also :)
How much Ray may a Rayman man if a Rayman may Man Ray?
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687

Steo
Rayman 2
Posts: 26674
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: na Corcaí Buafacha
Tings: 183583

Re: Rayman 3 (and Arena) Xbox Widescreen Hacks

Post by Steo » Mon Aug 27, 2018 7:21 pm

After playing this for the last week, I noticed there's some very slight minor issues with textures at the screens edges, but I think that's just the effect of when the camera protrudes a wall and the texture behind it isn't rendered. I wouldn't even call it an issue but I just noticed it a couple of times. Though saying that, the end of TOTL part 1 is missing and everything (no textures) in this version so when you complete the level, Rayman is just walking in the air :mrgreen:

I guess that's just the nature of the game.

Either way the Xbox version with the Widescreen hack works better than the GameCube version. It annoys me that the sides of the screen have the cutting issue, I'm fussy like that OK :lol:
How much Ray may a Rayman man if a Rayman may Man Ray?
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687

Steo
Rayman 2
Posts: 26674
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: na Corcaí Buafacha
Tings: 183583

Re: Rayman 3 (and Arena) Xbox Widescreen Hacks

Post by Steo » Mon Sep 30, 2019 5:29 am

I just want to note that I've added IPS patches to the first post that can be applied with Lunar IPS instead of hex editing to make it even easier. I'm not sure why I didn't think of doing that last year.

UPDATE:

I've managed to get the game to run in 720p. The minor setbacks are that there's flickering during the Ubisoft logo and intro videos which are 640x480 in the upper left corner. After those screens, the only problem is that the loading screen is in the upper left, and likely cutscenes too (which I haven't tested yet), though I'm sure that can all be fixed in time.

I used OgXHD after applying the widescreen hex edit, but then I had to modify some other values myself, as the menus were stretched vertically, and the view was also way too narrow in game.

You won't get 60fps in 720p, but the game is playable, and it still runs at a higher frame rate than Revolution does. It looks pretty nice too for an original Xbox game.

Here's a screenshot comparison:

480p (from the OP):

Image

720p:

Image

Viewing the images full size gives a better comparison. I've added the IPS patch to the zip in the first post. I'll try look into getting this to work on Arena too when I have time.
Attachments
Rayman 3 720p.png
How much Ray may a Rayman man if a Rayman may Man Ray?
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687

Steo
Rayman 2
Posts: 26674
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: na Corcaí Buafacha
Tings: 183583

Re: Rayman 3 (and Arena) Xbox Widescreen Hacks

Post by Steo » Mon Dec 02, 2019 2:55 am

I started playing Arena on Xbox since M runs like crap on PS2. Anyway, I noticed some texture pop ins on the sides of the screen in some levels using the widescreen patch, and I managed to solve the issue.

Code: Select all

Find:

00 8B 56 58 D9 5C 24 14 68 00 00 00 3F

Replace with:

00 8B 56 58 D9 5C 24 14 68 00 00 1C 3F
How much Ray may a Rayman man if a Rayman may Man Ray?
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687


Steo
Rayman 2
Posts: 26674
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: na Corcaí Buafacha
Tings: 183583

Re: Rayman 3 & Rayman Arena - Xbox Widescreen Hack, 720p hack

Post by Steo » Thu Dec 05, 2019 7:13 pm

Thanks for the tip. The 720p hack doesn't run at an amazing framerate, and has a slight issue with a bloom effect being in the wrong reaolution as of now, but it's more just the fact that it does work at all that I added it. I also need to make a new ips patch for Arena now that I noticed the pop ins.
How much Ray may a Rayman man if a Rayman may Man Ray?
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687

Post Reply