Rayman Origins - Debug options

Discuss tools to aid in the modification and running of Rayman games.

Moderators: English moderators, Modding and utilities team

Post Reply
dalib
Électoon
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:11 pm
Tings: 5

Rayman Origins - Debug options

Post by dalib » Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:20 pm

I just learned that there are hidden debug options for Rayman Origins (and I've heard they work with Rayman Legends too).

Go to your Rayman Origins installation directory and create this file:

cmdline.txt

It's just a plain text file. You will add commands to that file to edit the game. Here are all the commands I've found. Can you find a command to disable the hud? I don't need to see rayman's portrait or to know how many lums I've collected.

player_nodamage=1
region=us
CTRDisableAudio=0
camera_maxdezoom
fullscreen=1
width=1280
height=720
fps=60
PageLoading=1
enable_multi_autoconnexion=0
map=world/1_jungleworld/level/ju_a5/ju_a5_swingingcaves.isc
language=0

When using the cmdline.txt, the game will ignore your fullscreen and resolution options set in game, so you MUST set the fullscreen and width and height options in the cmdline.txt file.

I don't know what all the commands do. I tested these:

player_nodamage=1 (makes it so you can't get hurt (you can still die if you fall into a pit though).)
camera_maxdezoom (zooms out to show more of the game)
fullscreen (makes game run in fullscreen)
width & height (lets you set the game resolution)
fps (default is 60. Lower numbers make the game run in slow motion)
map (lets you go to different maps immediately. Player abilities are not included (meaning you can't punch, hover, etc). Maybe someone can figure out what the command to give all abilities is.

Here are all the map names:

<map=world/1_jungleworld/level/ju_a0/ju_a0.isc>
<map0=world/1_jungleworld/level/ju_a1/ju_a1_geyserblast.isc>


<map=world/1_jungleworld/level/ju_chest_a/ju_chest_a.isc>
<map=world/1_jungleworld/level/ju_a3/ju_a3_growurpath.isc>
<map=world/1_jungleworld/level/ju_a4/ju_a4_gowithflow1.isc>
<map=world/1_jungleworld/level/ju_a5/ju_a5_swingingcaves.isc>
<map=world/1_jungleworld/level/bonusmap/ju_bonusmap.isc>
<map=world/1_jungleworld/level/ju_shooter_a/ju_shooter_a.isc>

<map=world/2_musicworld/level/mu_a1/mu_a1_crazybouncing.isc>
<map=world/2_musicworld/level/mu_a2/mu_a2_firststaffs.isc>
<map=world/2_musicworld/level/mu_chest_a/mu_chest_a.isc>
<map=world/2_musicworld/level/mu_b1/mu_b1_gonewiththewind.isc>
<map=world/2_musicworld/level/mu_a5/mu_a5_snakeride.isc>
<map=world/2_musicworld/level/bonusmap/mu_bonusmap.isc>
<map=world/2_musicworld/level/mu_shooter_a/mu_shooter_a.isc>

<map=world/3_foodworld/level/fo_a1/fo_a1.isc>
<map=world/3_foodworld/level/fo_a2/fo_a2.isc>
<map=world/3_foodworld/level/fo_chest_a/fo_chest_a.isc>
<map=world/3_foodworld/level/fo_a3/fo_a3.isc>
<map=world/3_foodworld/level/bonusmap/fo_bonusmap.isc>
<map=world/3_foodworld/level/fo_shooter_a/fo_shooter_a.isc>

<map=world/4_oceanworld/level/oc_a1/oc_a1.isc>
<map=world/4_oceanworld/level/oc_a2/oc_a2.isc>
<map=world/4_oceanworld/level/oc_chest_a/oc_chest_a.isc>
<map=world/4_oceanworld/level/oc_a3/oc_a3.isc>
<map=world/4_oceanworld/level/bonusmap/oc_bonusmap.isc>
<map=world/4_oceanworld/level/oc_shooter_a/oc_shooter_a.isc>

<map=world/6_mountainworld/level/mo_a1/mo_a1.isc>
<map=world/6_mountainworld/level/mo_a2/mo_a2.isc>
<map=world/6_mountainworld/level/mo_chest_a/mo_chest_a.isc>
<map=world/6_mountainworld/level/bonusmap/mo_bonusmap.isc>
<map=world/6_mountainworld/level/mo_a3/mo_a3.isc>
<map=world/6_mountainworld/level/mo_shooter_a/mo_shooter_a.isc>

<map=world/1_jungleworld/level/ju_b1/ju_b1_outtamyway.isc>
<map=world/1_jungleworld/level/ju_b2/ju_b2_upanddown.isc>
<map=world/1_jungleworld/level/ju_chest_b/ju_chest_b.isc>
<map=world/1_jungleworld/level/ju_shooter_b/ju_shooter_b.isc>
<map=world/1_jungleworld/level/ju_b4/ju_b4_climbout.isc>
<map=world/1_jungleworld/level/ju_b5/ju_b5_gowithflow2.isc>
<map=world/1_jungleworld/level/ju_bosspursuit/bossplant.isc>
<map=world/1_jungleworld/level/ju_bossmaster/ju_bossmaster.isc>

<map=world/2_musicworld/level/mu_a4/mu_a4_swarm.isc>
<map=world/2_musicworld/level/mu_a3/mu_a3_trickywinds.isc>
<map=world/2_musicworld/level/mu_shooter_b/mu_shooter_b.isc>
<map=world/2_musicworld/level/mu_b2/mu_b2_hightdangerwaves.isc>
<map=world/2_musicworld/level/mu_chest_b/mu_chest_b.isc>
<map=world/2_musicworld/level/mu_b5/mu_b5_doublesnake.isc>
<map=world/2_musicworld/level/mu_boss/bossbird.isc>

<map=world/3_foodworld/level/fo_b1/fo_b1.isc>
<map=world/3_foodworld/level/fo_shooter_b/fo_shooter_b.isc>
<map=world/3_foodworld/level/fo_b2/fo_b2.isc>
<map=world/3_foodworld/level/fo_chest_b/fo_chest_b.isc>
<map=world/3_foodworld/level/fo_b3/fo_b3.isc>

<map=world/4_oceanworld/level/oc_b1/oc_b1.isc>
<map=world/4_oceanworld/level/oc_shooter_b/oc_shooter_b.isc>
<map=world/4_oceanworld/level/oc_b2/oc_b2.isc>
<map=world/4_oceanworld/level/oc_b3/oc_b3.isc>
<map=world/4_oceanworld/level/oc_chest_b/oc_chest_b.isc>
<map=world/4_oceanworld/level/oc_bossmoray/oc_boss_moray.isc>

<map=world/6_mountainworld/level/mo_b1/mo_b1.isc>
<map=world/6_mountainworld/level/mo_b2/mo_b2.isc>
<map=world/6_mountainworld/level/mo_chest_b/mo_chest_b.isc>
<map=world/6_mountainworld/level/mo_b3/mo_b3.isc>
<map=world/6_mountainworld/level/mo_boss_meca/mo_boss_meca.isc>
<map=world/6_mountainworld/level/mo_shooter_b/mo_shooter_b.isc>

<map=world/7_landofthedead/level/de_a1/de_a1.isc>
<map=world/7_landofthedead/level/de_boss_bigmama/de_boss_bigmama.isc>

Steo
Globox Origins
Posts: 20762
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: Globox Village
Tings: 121895

Re: Rayman Origins - Debug options

Post by Steo » Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:26 pm

First of all, welcome to RPC. I find this quite interesting as I'm a huge fan of Rayman Origins and never knew about this :)

I have used texmod and stuff, but I've never heard of these debugging features. Also I wonder what the region flag is for unless it just changes the language.
Image
Image
Rayman 3 scores:

FC: 36178 CF: 103059 BOM: 81495 LOTLD: 120486 DOTK: 106819 LS: 37470 SBTC: 86068 HH: 95088 TOTL: 100563 TOTAL: 767226

PluMGMK
Pizzicatta
Posts: 28553
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Tír an "Tuisil Ghinidigh" agus an "Mhodha Choinníollaigh"
Contact:
Tings: 3715

Re: Rayman Origins - Debug options

Post by PluMGMK » Fri Nov 09, 2018 6:54 pm

I guess those strings should be somewhere in thebinary, right? So finding other commands should be a matter of searching for possible other strings in there.

Actually, it's sort of tangential (and most likely already known), but I find the map filenames interesting. Seemingly there's a scrapped world 5. What was it going to be?

Steo
Globox Origins
Posts: 20762
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: Globox Village
Tings: 121895

Re: Rayman Origins - Debug options

Post by Steo » Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:10 pm

I searched with a hex editor and seen these strings (I excluded some still)

I find "waitvbl" interesting and it makes me wonder if the game will go too fast with it disabled or just be limited to 60 with screen tearing.

Code: Select all

opengl
nosound
GAME_START
LANGUAGE=%s&VERSION=%d
player_nodamage
camera_maxdezoom
scheduleroff
fps
waitvbl
screencapture
disablestats
disablescheduler
disableautofocus
disableundo
nocookedtexture

//I just included this as it seems to mention a Wiimote
port
simulatecrash
language
bundle
final
root
silent
remote
assert
wiiremote
nomouse
fastexit
nologos
norewards
notrc
no_soundfree
no_warnings
I wonder if disablestats would get rid of the HUD then.

EDIT: Also that's interesting about the world numbers excluding 5 as Plum said, bundle_PC.ipk doesn't even mention a world 5.
Image
Image
Rayman 3 scores:

FC: 36178 CF: 103059 BOM: 81495 LOTLD: 120486 DOTK: 106819 LS: 37470 SBTC: 86068 HH: 95088 TOTL: 100563 TOTAL: 767226

ICUP321
Obus à Pattes
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:37 pm
Tings: 335

Re: Rayman Origins - Debug options

Post by ICUP321 » Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:45 pm

Those debug strings were actually discovered a few months ago by Got4N:


And to answer your question, no, there aren't any commands that allow you to disable the HUD.

Steo
Globox Origins
Posts: 20762
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: Globox Village
Tings: 121895

Re: Rayman Origins - Debug options

Post by Steo » Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:51 pm

In any case it's not working for me for some reason :lol:

I created the cmdline.txt file but the game just starts as normal. I have the GoG version.

It's not that I need to cheat or anything but I just want to try it out of curiosity :P

EDIT: Never mind, it does work and my monitor was just being stupid. I set it to 144Hz for a laugh to test it just because I knew it would go over twice the speed.
Image
Image
Rayman 3 scores:

FC: 36178 CF: 103059 BOM: 81495 LOTLD: 120486 DOTK: 106819 LS: 37470 SBTC: 86068 HH: 95088 TOTL: 100563 TOTAL: 767226

Carrot-master
Murray
Posts: 1578
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 5:46 pm
Tings: 21715

Re: Rayman Origins - Debug options

Post by Carrot-master » Fri Nov 09, 2018 10:21 pm

I recently added support for this in Rayman Control Panel, although I never got it working for Legends (Steam version). Anyone had any luck with that?

Post Reply