Hype: The Time Quest Widescreen

Discuss tools to aid in the modification and running of Rayman games.

Moderators: English moderators, Modding and utilities team

lk19
Bébé Globox
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2021 8:52 pm
Tings: 35

Re: Hype: The Time Quest Widescreen

Post by lk19 »

I added patches for the following aspect ratios:
25:16, 16:10, 15:9, 16:9, 21:9, 32:9

I also wrote a short readme with instructions and known issues.
I called it version "3.1", but it is essentially just version 3 with more aspect ratios. So no need to download it, if you already have the 16:9 patch I uploaded earlier ;)

@deton24: Would you mind updating the PcGamingWiki entry? Thank you! :)
Attachments
HypeWidescreenV31.7z
(1.04 MiB) Downloaded 8 times
lk19
Bébé Globox
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2021 8:52 pm
Tings: 35

Re: Hype: The Time Quest Widescreen

Post by lk19 »

Hi there! So I figured out how to run the widescreen patch in dgVoodoo instead of nGlide. The only real "advantage" is that it uses the direct3D backend (with nGlide, only Vulkan mode seems to be stable, direct3D crashes randomly). However it also causes two additional (but very minor) glitches. Therefore, I haven't uploaded a separate version of the patch, but instead I will provide instructions how to change the nGlide version of the patch to make it work with dgVoodoo. Of course, if many people are interested in running the game through dgVoodoo, I could upload a separate version of the patch here.

Remember how we passed custom Glide-window resolutions to the Glide API instead of pre-defined video modes? This ONLY works with nGlide, so we have to revert this change and switch back to video mode 0x7 (meaning 640x480). So all you have to do is the following:
Open the patched binary corresponding to your desired aspect ratio in a hex-editor. Look at the byte sequence at offset 9C915. It should look something like this: 68 80 02 68 01 (the last two bytes may be different depending on the aspect ratio). Simply replace this with 6A 07 90 90 90.

Now we're back at the good old widescreen image inside a 4:3 window that doesn't get properly stretched problem! But instead of using SWRU or reshade to fix this, we can use dgVoodoo's very own ROI (region of interest) functionality for this. So copy the necessary dll files into the game's directory and start the dgVoodoo configurator (make sure that you select the game's folder in the configurator). Then right click anywhere in the configurator window and select "Show all sections of the configuration". This will enable advanced settings. Here are the settings that I used:
  • On the Glide tab, select "Enable inactive app state"
  • On the General tab, select "Scaling mode" = "Stretched, keep aspect ratio" (you won't be able to change the next setting unless you do this first)
  • On the GeneralExt tab, look at the field "Display ROI". Do not select any of the pre-defined options, but instead type in "16_9, pos:(0|0)", or whatever corresponds to your aspect ratio.
  • Now there are 2 options:
    1. (Fullscreen Mode, lower resolution): On the Glide tab, select the highest 4:3 resolution that your screen supports (for me this is 1280x960); on the General tab, make sure that "Full Screen" is selected.
    2. (Borderless Window Mode, enables higher resolution): On the Glide tab, MANUALLY type in a 4:3 resolution that matches the x-resolution of your screen's native resolution (for me this would be 1920x1440); on the General tab, select "Windowed"; on the GeneralExt tab, select "Borderless".
Once you start the game, it may take a few seconds for the image to resize!

The two new glitches I experienced with dgVoodoo (these are independent of the widescreen modifications I made to the file; they also occur with the original binary):
  • When you first start the game, the framerate seems to be very low (~20fps). Once you Alt+Tab out of it and go back, this should be fixed and you get a stable 48fps. Make sure you have checked "Enable inactive app state" in the dgVoodoo control panel, or the game will crash on alt-tabbing!
  • Whenever you select a resolution that is greater than native (i.e. 640x480), you get "ghost images" on the inventory screen. E.g. if you scroll through the navigation pane on the left hand side of the inventory screen, you will still see fragments of the last item you have selected in the place where the newly selected item is displayed.
Post Reply