Rayman 1 Level Editor/Viewer (Ray1Map)

Discuss tools to aid in the modification and running of Rayman games.

Moderators: English moderators, Modding and utilities team

RayCarrot
Uglette
Posts: 2151
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 5:46 pm
Tings: 29219

Re: Rayman 1 Level Editor/Viewer (Ray1Map)

Post by RayCarrot »

The web version of Ray1Map is now available! :)

Hunchman801
Bad Rayman
Posts: 79857
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2003 6:50 pm
Location: Paris, France
Contact:
Tings: 575975

Re: Rayman 1 Level Editor/Viewer (Ray1Map)

Post by Hunchman801 »

Wow, this is great news! It works wonders, and I love being able to explore the levels freely (and most of all, the Pirate-Community theme :mrgreen:).

On a side note, what is the auto palette selector based on? I've noticed that the wooden platforms from Picture City in Rayman Junior only display correctly when I select the right palette manually.
Image
RayCarrot
Uglette
Posts: 2151
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 5:46 pm
Tings: 29219

Re: Rayman 1 Level Editor/Viewer (Ray1Map)

Post by RayCarrot »

In the PC versions of Rayman 1 each level has 3 possible palettes. Due to the full tileset needing to use colors from multiple palettes, and the game only being able to have one loaded at a time, the game uses special triggers in the levels to swap between the currently loaded one. These palette swapper triggers are shown like this as an example:
1 - 13 (2).gif
1 - 13 (2).gif (13.43 KiB) Viewed 185 times
This trigger changes from palette 1 to palette 2 as you walk to the right.

Since the majority of levels are linear in Rayman 1 we can use the placement of these triggers to approximate which tiles should use what palette based on their location in the level. This is what the "auto" setting does. This works in the vast majority of levels in Rayman 1. But since the educational games have a lot less linear stages, with you moving around both horizontally and vertically, this method more than not will miss some tiles. Sadly there's no accurate way to fix these since it all depends on the path the player takes when playing the level (which we can't know from just the map data).
Hunchman801
Bad Rayman
Posts: 79857
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2003 6:50 pm
Location: Paris, France
Contact:
Tings: 575975

Re: Rayman 1 Level Editor/Viewer (Ray1Map)

Post by Hunchman801 »

Thanks for the detailed explanation, makes perfect sense. It's already pretty cool that you bothered to implement this auto setting. :up:
Image
Steo
Rayman 3
Posts: 30927
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: Globox Village
Tings: 231436

Re: Rayman 1 Level Editor/Viewer (Ray1Map)

Post by Steo »

This is really nice to hear! Well done on this! :D
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687
Electoon
Garatta Ciatik
Posts: 1252
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 3:19 pm
Location: Picture City
Contact:
Tings: 11880

Re: Rayman 1 Level Editor/Viewer (Ray1Map)

Post by Electoon »

One thing I really appeciate about this tool is getting to see all the animations from Rayman and it's spinoffs. Would it be possible to add a feature or make a separate tool for exporting the sprites as GIF files? It's been something I've been after for a very long time for Rayman sprite acessibility for fan games, sprite comics etc.
RayCarrot
Uglette
Posts: 2151
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 5:46 pm
Tings: 29219

Re: Rayman 1 Level Editor/Viewer (Ray1Map)

Post by RayCarrot »

This can be done in the Unity version. I sent you a pm with a link to all the exported animations using that. :)
Post Reply