NEW RELEASE! - Rayman 3: Hoodlum Havoc HD for PC v2.1

Discuss tools to aid in the modification and running of Rayman games.

Moderators: English moderators, Modding and utilities team

TRJTA
Lums Vert
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 11:04 am
Tings: 75

NEW RELEASE! - Rayman 3: Hoodlum Havoc HD for PC v2.1

Post by TRJTA »

Image
Image


Rayman 3: Hoodlum Havoc has never looked better before on PC!

The last few months I have been working on remastering Rayman 3 on PC with improved HD textures. Since v2.0 it turned into a collaborative project with Hakyra. This HD mod combines the very best of Hakyra's 4K textures with loads of textures manually remade and improved by me.

I would like to give credits to: Hakyra for the 4K upscaled textures, RayCarrot for the Rayman Control Panel tool, and Droolie with Robin who also worked for making HD textures importing to PC version possible.


Installation Instructions:

1. Install Rayman 3: Hoodlum Havoc, both and original disc copy or GOG version should work.

2. Install 'Better Rayman 3' by RibShark for proper Widescreen Support and various other QoL improvements.
Link to download: viewtopic.php?t=12854

3. Download 'Rayman 3: Hoodlum Havoc HD for PC v2.1'. Once downloading is finished, extract the archive.
Link to download: https://www.mediafire.com/file/soaxxd08 ... 1.rar/file (Filesize is 1.46 GB)

4. Copy the 'Gamedatabin' folder to your Rayman 3 installation directory and paste it there. When asked if you want to overwrite, click 'Yes to All'.

5. Download Rayman Control Panel:
Link to download: viewtopic.php?t=25761

6. Open Rayman Control Panel and add Rayman 3 to the Rayman Control Panel.

7. Click on the arrow pointing down on the right of the the Launch button, and click on 'Options'. A new window opens. Click on 'utilities' on the far right. Click on 'Synchronize'. Wait a little until a message pops up that the texture infos have been synchronized.

8. That's it! The HD textures will now show up in-game. Have fun!


Changelog:

v2.1
- Replaced menu background texture with 1024x1024 texture, should fix issues with black menu some people had.
- After much request: changed Rayman power ups looks to include the original changed hair color and original shirt circle colors.
- Changed metal parts of hoodie (only of the standard outfit) to actual metal color instead of red. In promotional renders of Rayman these were metal colored, whilst they have always been red in-game. This fixes that.
- Improved seamlessness of fairy council wall texture.
- Improved land of the livid dead vegetation textures.
- Fixed seamlessness and added detail to a few of the of 'The Desert of the Knaaren' rock textures.
- Improved 'The Desert of the Knaaren' climbable wall texture.

v2.0
- The project turned into a collaborative project. The remaster now combines the best of this project with the best of Hakyra's 'Rayman 3 4K Texture Mod', which results in the best texture set available for Rayman 3! Because of this the difference between v2.0 and v1.0 is very large.

v1.0
- Initial release.
Last edited by TRJTA on Sun Apr 18, 2021 3:06 pm, edited 8 times in total.
Alltech
Barbara
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed May 13, 2020 6:39 pm
Location: The Desert of the Knaaren
Tings: 10293

Re: Rayman 3: Hoodlum Havoc HD - Remaster for PC

Post by Alltech »

Outstanding work! I will try this out soon. 😊
😎
Image
Steo
Globox
Posts: 31250
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: Globox Village
Tings: 91195

Re: Rayman 3: Hoodlum Havoc HD - Remaster for PC

Post by Steo »

Oh nice! This will be much better than "Rayman 3 HD". :D
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687
Rycer
Gandalf
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2016 9:16 pm
Tings: 4430

Re: Rayman 3: Hoodlum Havoc HD - Remaster for PC

Post by Rycer »

Time to play Rayman 3 again!
Steo
Globox
Posts: 31250
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: Globox Village
Tings: 91195

Re: Rayman 3: Hoodlum Havoc HD - Remaster for PC

Post by Steo »

This is really interesting, it seems there are multiple HD texture packs in the works too, so people will also have the right to nitpick if need be. :P

I'll be sure to try this out once I have my system properly up and running again. ;)
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687
deton24
Roméo Patti
Posts: 1010
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:22 am
Location: Poland
Tings: 7996

Re: Rayman 3: Hoodlum Havoc HD - Remaster for PC

Post by deton24 »

Looks like we've just received a definitive edition of AI Rayman 3 texture upscale here:
viewtopic.php?f=89&t=74275

Don't know how many, and which of the textures in this topic were remade from scratch. I'd gladly look closer specifically into them, since any of the common textures between both packs, will be better in the topic linked above.

If I didn't mess up something, and "con_gi" in this mod is 512x512, then comparison of the exemplary common texture between the projects is as follows (thank you angzaf13 for comparison):

TRJTA (R3HD textures + AI [?]):
Image
angzaf13 (R3 PC textures + ESRGAN Fatality V2):
ImageICUP (PS3) (Rayman 3 HD [presumably Lanczos+sharpening filter])
Image
Last edited by deton24 on Wed Jul 15, 2020 1:30 am, edited 7 times in total.
The Jonster
Globox
Posts: 30656
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2018 6:15 am
Location: Somewhere in a kingdom of mushroomy people
Tings: 93131

Re: Rayman 3: Hoodlum Havoc HD - Remaster for PC

Post by The Jonster »

Nice! Can't wait to give this a try soon! :D
Image
Steo
Globox
Posts: 31250
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: Globox Village
Tings: 91195

Re: Rayman 3: Hoodlum Havoc HD - Remaster for PC

Post by Steo »

The Jonster wrote: Tue Jul 14, 2020 11:48 pm Nice! Can't wait to give this a try soon! :D
Not if I try it first! :lol:

Seriously though, in comparison to "Rayman 3 HD", this actually looks amazing. Now I have more than one HD remake to try. 😃

The ESRGAN upscale Hakyra done seems to be an extremely high resolution and looks so smooth also. 😮
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687
Hakyra
Bouillaboue
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat May 23, 2015 8:11 pm
Tings: 225

Re: Rayman 3: Hoodlum Havoc HD - Remaster for PC

Post by Hakyra »

My upscale has 3 problems tho:

The first one is that it takes much more longer to load, around 10-15 seconds or so per level.
The second one is that by using ESRGAN and AI i screwed up a little the seamlessness of some textures, and i made worse some that the original dev team didn't fix.
And the third one is that you'll have to swap cnt's halfway through the game because of Memory limitations (if you use the 4K edition)

but well... i guess that Quality has it's price...
-Hakyra
The Jonster
Globox
Posts: 30656
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2018 6:15 am
Location: Somewhere in a kingdom of mushroomy people
Tings: 93131

Re: Rayman 3: Hoodlum Havoc HD - Remaster for PC

Post by The Jonster »

Yeah, the ESRGAN upscale really looks amazing! This is very impressive! :smile:

I just realized I have to download RCP for this. Been meaning to do that eventually, but better now than later. :P
Image
Steo
Globox
Posts: 31250
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: Globox Village
Tings: 91195

Re: Rayman 3: Hoodlum Havoc HD - Remaster for PC

Post by Steo »

I wouldn't mind trying out the 4K version though despite having to switch CNT files, but either way, both of these mods are going to be better than the default textures. :)
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687
TRJTA
Lums Vert
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 11:04 am
Tings: 75

Re: Rayman 3: Hoodlum Havoc HD - Remaster for PC

Post by TRJTA »

Yes I know that several HD texture packs use upscaled textures, and I also know that there is a limitation in the size of the .cnt files. Which is why I actually played the whole game and looked which textures actually stood out in a bad way and needed to be upscaled/remade or altered to look good and where there were tiling/seam issues etc. This way I only increased the resolution of textures that actually needed it instead of all of them. On top of that I also deliberately changed a few graphics here and there to make those areas look better.

I think the best thing would be is for people to play my HD remaster, see if they find textures that still need a bit of an upscale and then implement those from the upscale texture pack(s) talked about above. Merging the two together would be awesome :D Perhaps we could keep the name and trailer I made and update the project this way, so that we will end up with the best version, which will always be playable without having to swap the .cnt files. What do you think?
deton24
Roméo Patti
Posts: 1010
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:22 am
Location: Poland
Tings: 7996

Re: Rayman 3: Hoodlum Havoc HD - Remaster for PC

Post by deton24 »

Yes, it's good idea. I talked about it before.
But I'd rather don't care about tiling/seamlessness issues. We can sacrifice it over better quality of the textures like in Hakyra/angzaf13 pack.

Probably you know better which of your textures were made from scratch or are different from original ones and not only in matter of resolution. You could upload them separately. It will make any comparisons easier.
TRJTA
Lums Vert
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 11:04 am
Tings: 75

Re: UPDATED! - Rayman 3: Hoodlum Havoc HD for PC v2.0

Post by TRJTA »

Version 2.0 of the Remaster is released! See the first post for more info
Hakyra
Bouillaboue
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat May 23, 2015 8:11 pm
Tings: 225

Re: UPDATED! - Rayman 3: Hoodlum Havoc HD for PC v2.0

Post by Hakyra »

YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAASSS I will definetly check it out!!
-Hakyra
Snagglebee
Pti-lote
Posts: 11791
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 6:22 pm
Location: Yes
Tings: 2750

Re: UPDATED! - Rayman 3: Hoodlum Havoc HD for PC v2.0

Post by Snagglebee »

Awesome work you guys! I got this working through Wine on Linux as well! Though the Menu UI seems weird? Also is the detailed draw distance supposed to be this short?
https://media.discordapp.net/attachment ... 151544.png
https://media.discordapp.net/attachment ... 151815.png

This is how I got it to work:
1- Installed Rayman 3 GOG using that install Lutris install script: https://lutris.net/games/install/22107/view
1.5- Downloaded and Replaced the new Textures from above.
2- Had .NET 4.8 installed on the home system wine (5.13) prefix and disabled Avalon HW-Accelleration as seen here: https://www.reddit.com/r/Rayman/comment ... inuxmacos/ ,to get RCP working.
3- Launched RCP from System Wine, added Rayman 3 and did the Texture Synchronization.
Image
OCG
Le Capitaine
Posts: 18569
Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 9:24 am
Location: RPC Pirate Ship
Contact:
Tings: 9905

Re: UPDATED! - Rayman 3: Hoodlum Havoc HD for PC v2.0

Post by OCG »

Amazing remaster, truly a definitive way to play the game.
I have a two questions though:

1. Is it possible to improve menu UI to be closer to HD release? I know GameCube texture pack nailed it and also made buttons be shown like it's Xbox 360
2. Is it possible to add opening with song Madder which was sadly never in PC version?
Image
Image [YouTube] [Facebook] [Twitter] [DeviantART]

[Skype: アンドリヤ (OCG)] [Xbox Live: OldClassicGamer] [PSN: OldClassicGamer] [Steam: OldClassicGamer] [Nintendo Network ID: OldClassicGamer] [3DS FC: 0275-8128-3030]

Thank Mr. Skeltal Image
TRJTA
Lums Vert
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 11:04 am
Tings: 75

Re: UPDATED! - Rayman 3: Hoodlum Havoc HD for PC v2.0

Post by TRJTA »

Snagglebee wrote: Wed Jul 22, 2020 2:42 pm Awesome work you guys! I got this working through Wine on Linux as well! Though the Menu UI seems weird? Also is the detailed draw distance supposed to be this short?
https://media.discordapp.net/attachment ... 151544.png
https://media.discordapp.net/attachment ... 151815.png

This is how I got it to work:
1- Installed Rayman 3 GOG using that install Lutris install script: https://lutris.net/games/install/22107/view
1.5- Downloaded and Replaced the new Textures from above.
2- Had .NET 4.8 installed on the home system wine (5.13) prefix and disabled Avalon HW-Accelleration as seen here: https://www.reddit.com/r/Rayman/comment ... inuxmacos/ ,to get RCP working.
3- Launched RCP from System Wine, added Rayman 3 and did the Texture Synchronization.
The menu thing is really weird. It's what happens when I try to alter the menu texture too much. Weirdly enough the glitched background you see is not present when I play it. But it's a fiddly weird texture that's prone to have this glitch.

The detailed 'draw distance' limit you mention is there because you probably didn't activate Anisotropic Filtering through your graphics card drivers. If you set it to 8x or 16x the textures should look more detailed in the distance.
Hakyra
Bouillaboue
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat May 23, 2015 8:11 pm
Tings: 225

Re: UPDATED! - Rayman 3: Hoodlum Havoc HD for PC v2.0

Post by Hakyra »

I also encountered some problems with the menu with my 4K Texture mod, for me the 4K version didn't have any problems whatsoever when I played it at native 4K but when i switched to 1080p and 720p it started glitching up.
-Hakyra
Post Reply