Ray2Fix

Discuss tools to aid in the modification and running of Rayman games.

Moderators: English moderators, Modding and utilities team

Post Reply
Steo
Rayman 3
Posts: 30913
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: Globox Village
Tings: 231346

Ray2Fix

Post by Steo »

A mod for the PC version of Rayman 2 has been released recently by a spitfirex86, a speedrunner and modder/programmer in the Rayman community. The mod basically fixes some issues and saves having to jump through hoops in order to get the game functioning properly on modern hardware.

One of the main complaints from people who want to play Rayman 2 is that they can't run in windowed mode or even alt+tab out of the game, this tool solves all those problems without the need to go through much effort.

All you have to do is extract the contents to your Rayman 2 installation directory, then run R2FixCfg.exe, then simply select a display resolution, and whether you want windowed or full screen.

It also mentions using Steam to remap the controller, meaning you can fix the swapped jump and shoot buttons (assuming you want to use a controller).

Notes for Linux users:

1. Since Linux is case sensitive with its filesystem (unlike Windows), copying the files over won't overwrite the existing files if they have the same name, but the capitalisation differs (for example, Glide2x.dll will copy alongside glide2x.dll instead of overwriting it, same with the folder being named dll vs DLL), so you will need to manually remove the original versions of duplicate files, and be sure to copy the DLLs into the existing DLL folder (make sure there's only one folder named either "dll" or "DLL").

2. You will need dedcompiler_47, otherwise you'll have flickering textures. Either use winetricks and run "wine d3dcompiler_47", or else manually obtain dedcompiler_47.dll and place it in the game directory.

The latest version of the mod can be found on his Github: here.
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687
Retrofuge
Aéroniflard
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2020 12:18 am
Location: Land of the Livid Dead
Tings: 1390

Re: Ray2Fix

Post by Retrofuge »

Wow, it's nice to know there's actual fix for these issues with Rayman 2. Thanks for sharing! :D
Hunchman801
Bad Rayman
Posts: 79809
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2003 6:50 pm
Location: Paris, France
Contact:
Tings: 575610

Re: Ray2Fix

Post by Hunchman801 »

Like I said, this is a really nice tool! We're lucky to have such an active modding community. :D
Image
PluMGMK
Pizzicatta
Posts: 32574
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: An tír ina labhraítear (beagán ar fad) an teanga ina bhfuil sé seo scríofa
Contact:
Tings: 3410

Re: Ray2Fix

Post by PluMGMK »

Well, this does indeed let me run Raymap locally and switch away from the game without hosing it! :) The windowing doesn't seem to work for me, but that's probably because I haven't read the instructions closely enough (I can't remember whether or not I'm using nGlide for example). :P
Image
Saint Brigid's Day was 1 Feb, but I can wear this for the rest of the month, especially since I can't enter it in the SOTM!

Android: How to block an image you don't like
It's good to learn from the past: read the Pirate-Community Documentary!
Other things you should know about this site
Steo
Rayman 3
Posts: 30913
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: Globox Village
Tings: 231346

Re: Ray2Fix

Post by Steo »

Deleting "glide2x.dll" so it used "Glide2x.dll" (case sensitive on Linux) is what made windowed work for me, but that's where I had graphical issues which I'm not sure how to resolve. It's Linux related clearly, but I'm trying to figure out how to resolve it.
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687
hoodlumsworld
Sandra Misu
Posts: 164
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2020 1:12 am
Tings: 4180

Re: Ray2Fix

Post by hoodlumsworld »

Love it! Maybe this will get me back into the game...
deton24
Photographe
Posts: 969
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:22 am
Location: Poland
Tings: 7791

Re: Ray2Fix

Post by deton24 »

Steo wrote: Tue Jan 19, 2021 2:05 am Deleting "glide2x.dll" so it used "Glide2x.dll" (case sensitive on Linux) is what made windowed work for me, but that's where I had graphical issues which I'm not sure how to resolve. It's Linux related clearly, but I'm trying to figure out how to resolve it.
Looks like a problem with a Glide wrapper.
Is it dgVoodoo or nGlide?
Try out both.
Here are some libraries (probably from nGlide):
https://yadi.sk/d/C_p47lJ5y-DuEw
Steo
Rayman 3
Posts: 30913
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: Globox Village
Tings: 231346

Re: Ray2Fix

Post by Steo »

I think this fix uses dgVoodoo. nGlide seems to work with the exception of just being stuck in fullscreen again, which the one spitfire shared actually fixes. I'm just not sure what's happening on Linux that's causing the graphical glitches. I tried the DLLs from the above link, it results in the 3dfx screen having an epileptic fit, then it just shows a white screen and doesn't seem to do anything else.

EDIT: I got it to work with Ray2Fix. It seems the issue was simply because d3dcompiler_47 wasn't installed in my wine prefix. I installed this, and that seems to have fixed the issue.
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687
PluMGMK
Pizzicatta
Posts: 32574
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: An tír ina labhraítear (beagán ar fad) an teanga ina bhfuil sé seo scríofa
Contact:
Tings: 3410

Re: Ray2Fix

Post by PluMGMK »

Ah yes, those two things you mentioned (getting rid of the wrong-case DLL and installing d3dcompiler_47 with Winetricks) made it work for me in windowed mode too! Of course, it still looks a bit gammy, since Ray2Fix only seems to support non-widescreen resolutions, while my EXE has the wide-FoV patch. :P
Image
Saint Brigid's Day was 1 Feb, but I can wear this for the rest of the month, especially since I can't enter it in the SOTM!

Android: How to block an image you don't like
It's good to learn from the past: read the Pirate-Community Documentary!
Other things you should know about this site
Steo
Rayman 3
Posts: 30913
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: Globox Village
Tings: 231346

Re: Ray2Fix

Post by Steo »

PluMGMK wrote: Tue Jan 19, 2021 10:09 pm Ah yes, those two things you mentioned (getting rid of the wrong-case DLL and installing d3dcompiler_47 with Winetricks) made it work for me in windowed mode too! Of course, it still looks a bit gammy, since Ray2Fix only seems to support non-widescreen resolutions, while my EXE has the wide-FoV patch. :P
Maybe he could add this later if people request it, but I assume you manually editing the ubi.ini would be a quick fix for now, though I haven't tried it myself.
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687
PluMGMK
Pizzicatta
Posts: 32574
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: An tír ina labhraítear (beagán ar fad) an teanga ina bhfuil sé seo scríofa
Contact:
Tings: 3410

Re: Ray2Fix

Post by PluMGMK »

I tried changing it from 1024 × 768 to 1366 × 768 but then I just get a little white window. :(
Image
Saint Brigid's Day was 1 Feb, but I can wear this for the rest of the month, especially since I can't enter it in the SOTM!

Android: How to block an image you don't like
It's good to learn from the past: read the Pirate-Community Documentary!
Other things you should know about this site
Steo
Rayman 3
Posts: 30913
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: Globox Village
Tings: 231346

Re: Ray2Fix

Post by Steo »

Same result here if I do it, that's interesting. I tried changing dgVoodoo.conf too, but it doesn't make a difference.
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687
PluMGMK
Pizzicatta
Posts: 32574
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: An tír ina labhraítear (beagán ar fad) an teanga ina bhfuil sé seo scríofa
Contact:
Tings: 3410

Re: Ray2Fix

Post by PluMGMK »

Arguably, all I really need myself from Ray2Fix is the hook FIX_fn_SuspendGame, since otherwise I'm really happy with how well the game runs on my system. Maybe I'll look into just hacking that.
Image
Saint Brigid's Day was 1 Feb, but I can wear this for the rest of the month, especially since I can't enter it in the SOTM!

Android: How to block an image you don't like
It's good to learn from the past: read the Pirate-Community Documentary!
Other things you should know about this site
Steo
Rayman 3
Posts: 30913
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: Globox Village
Tings: 231346

Re: Ray2Fix

Post by Steo »

I guess it's the same in my case even with DX6, but Rib mentioned that the texture fading doesn't work with DX6, yet I guess it does with nGlide. I'd be ok with playing it in 4:3 or 5:4 though, unless of course there's a way to fix the screen edges when playing in 16:9 (which there probably is at this stage).

EDIT: The only thing I can't get to work on Linux is the controller configuration (to swap the jump and shoot buttons). I tried making a .desktop file that should run Rayman 2, then adding it as a non-Steam game, but the .desktop file doesn't seem to work, unless I'm making a silly mistake.

EDIT2: I managed to get it to launch with Steam, but the controller doesn't work for some reason, and it's using Proton to run since I'm not sure how to make it use my default prefix. By default without Steam, my Xbox controller acts as if I'm holding down the left trigger (Rayman strafes), and the jump and shoot buttons are switched is all. It should be working, but for some reason it doesn't. I'll try look at it again later.
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687
Steo
Rayman 3
Posts: 30913
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: Globox Village
Tings: 231346

Re: Ray2Fix

Post by Steo »

I've tried this, but for some reason the controller just doesn't work. If I launch the exe with wine, it works, but then I can't remap the buttons. I guess the issue is that I need proton to load dinput.dll, and it's probably not doing that.
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687
Steo
Rayman 3
Posts: 30913
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: Globox Village
Tings: 231346

Re: Ray2Fix

Post by Steo »

Ray2Fix had a new update with some bugfixes recently. spitfirex86 released version 1.1.

His changelogs:
Fixed duplicate resolutions in R2FixCfg
Replaced temporary hack with a more correct way of determining best resolution for windowed mode
Fixed issue #1 (Glide requires specific resolutions to properly initialize)
Fixed game window sometimes missing the title bar and border
Issue #1 related to Glide being strict with resolutions, which caused a white screen if certain ones were set in the ubi.ini. The fix (quoted from spitfirex86):
Instead of changing the resolution in ubi.ini, I chose to provide the correct resolution directly to GLI_DRV_xInitDriver.
EDIT:
PluMGMK wrote: Tue Jan 19, 2021 10:09 pm Of course, it still looks a bit gammy, since Ray2Fix only seems to support non-widescreen resolutions, while my EXE has the wide-FoV patch. :P
If you set your resolution in dgVoodooCpl.exe, it will work. I just tried mine in 1280x720 as a test and it seemed to open up just fine. The problem only related to the ubi.ini file, but setting it in dgVoodoo works. You can just open up dgvoodoo.conf and change the line that says Resolution to whatever you want. I'm not sure if this worked in version 1.0, but it definitely does in 1.1.

My ubi.ini is set to 1600 x 1200, but because my dgvoodoo.conf is 1280 x 720, that's what resolution the game seems to run at.
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687
Post Reply