Rayman Revolution In Rayman 2 PC

Discuss tools to aid in the modification and running of Rayman games.

Moderators: English moderators, Modding and utilities team

Post Reply
TTK
Ptizêtre Ermite
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2021 8:39 pm
Tings: 1970

Rayman Revolution In Rayman 2 PC

Post by TTK »

Has anyone thought of reverse engineering Rayman Revolution Into Rayman 2 PC. With all the extra stuff, like music, assets, scripts, voice acting, bosses, levels?
Moventur
Paluchard
Posts: 111
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2022 8:39 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:
Tings: 528

Re: Rayman Revolution In Rayman 2 PC

Post by Moventur »

Just download emulator ps2 for pc
Garo
Tribelle
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2021 1:37 pm
Location: Vegetables' HQ
Contact:
Tings: 295

Re: Rayman Revolution In Rayman 2 PC

Post by Garo »

PS2 emulators generally require very good specs to get playable (at least with PCSX2), so this really doesn't seem like a bad idea to me. This would take a lot of effort though so I don't see this happening anytime soon. But I heard there is an HD remake for Rayman 2 coming out soon called "Rayman 2 HD". More about it will be revealed in the upcoming Rayman: Alive so stay tuned! (Sorry if I mention Rayman: Alive a lot, I'm a little excited for it.)
"Troublesome isn't it, and untidy too." - The Magician from Rayman
deton24
Garatta Ciatik
Posts: 1075
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:22 am
Location: Poland
Tings: 8322

Re: Rayman Revolution In Rayman 2 PC

Post by deton24 »

I wouldn't call it very demanding for today's conditions for achieving stock 30FPS.

PCSX2 got Vulkan and DX12 support in recent nightly builds and Revolution greatly benefits from it.

There might be some drops here and there on some poor PCs like on the bridge in Minisarious Plains, but they are completely fixed now on decent CPUs and the game is fully playable in 60 FPS using specific hack.
Personally, I was emulating this game in 2014 on some ancient C2D and had 30 FPS in many areas (with some drops of course and with specific settings).
So it's rather not a challenge for anyone using CPU with more than two threads now.
Garo
Tribelle
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2021 1:37 pm
Location: Vegetables' HQ
Contact:
Tings: 295

Re: Rayman Revolution In Rayman 2 PC

Post by Garo »

Oh I wasn't aware of that. I should really try the nightly builds at some point. Thanks for bringing this to my attention!
"Troublesome isn't it, and untidy too." - The Magician from Rayman
TTK
Ptizêtre Ermite
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2021 8:39 pm
Tings: 1970

Re: Rayman Revolution In Rayman 2 PC

Post by TTK »

Thanks guys.
Post Reply