Rayman 2 PC Widescreen Patch Update (16:9, 16:10, 21:9, 32:9, ..) | PC 32 bit depth fix | + widescreen for DC, PSX, PS2

Discuss tools to aid in the modification and running of Rayman games.

Moderators: English moderators, Modding and utilities team

deton24
Photographe
Posts: 924
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:22 am
Location: Poland
Tings: 7566

Rayman 2 PC Widescreen Patch Update (16:9, 16:10, 21:9, 32:9, ..) | PC 32 bit depth fix | + widescreen for DC, PSX, PS2

Post by deton24 »

Widescreen Patch for Rayman 2 PC
(for PS2, PSX (PS1), Dreamcast, see on the bottom)
Image

Check out complete HD Texture Mod as well!
See also here for my Reshade.

Widescreen for PC:

Method of changing horizontal FOV discovered by RibShark, implemented in attached binaries by AuToMaNiAk005.
It relies on replacing modified Rayman2.exe, with changed one hex value inside, depending on proportions, for 16:9 or 16:10.
Here are the technical details:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PUXZYOiCP-U

Update!
We received a new version of the widescreen patch. Now HUD properly scales.
Offset in binary found for text resizing by RibShark
(all three offsets for horizontal, vertical FOV, and text width, attached in every archive)
Icons and textures modified for each proportion by AuToMaNiAk005.
(source: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gt2CaaDk1JE)

Update 2 (optional):
Finally, someone managed to find FOV value, and it prevents from disappearing objects on edges with widescreen.
The downside is - it needs to be done in Cheat Engine, every time on game launch.
Here's how to do it:
https://youtu.be/6xLr9dGxTY4?t=117
32:9 value - 2.128
Be aware that the above solution won't work if you can't successfully use ALT+TAB in this game in case of being in full screen mode.

Update 3
Seems like patched GliVd1vf.dll and GliDX6vf.dll by Dege (Rayman 2\DLL) fixes FPS issues for both DX6 and Glide.

Update 4
It also looks like DLL patch above, along with lower FOV binary (at least 16:10) fixes the issue of disappearing objects on the edges without the need of using Cheat Engine value.

Widescreen download (lower FOV):
https://yadi.sk/d/GCv8tY-R3UBCFF
[separate zip archives available to download for each proportion inside this link/folder]

Widescreen download (by Automaniak) (bigger FOV):
16:9: https://www86.zippyshare.com/v/iFULcQbU/file.html
16:10: https://www86.zippyshare.com/v/ikE6xNpS/file.html
~21:9: https://www86.zippyshare.com/v/8pSHsj34/file.html
25:16: https://www86.zippyshare.com/v/WC5fjhf1/file.html
15:9: https://www86.zippyshare.com/v/Ags3KWsZ/file.html
32:9: https://www102.zippyshare.com/v/Q9ZdWOOn/file.html

For comparisons see here: viewtopic.php?p=1414456#p1414456

Instruction

0. Install dgVoodoo "latest stable version X.XX" (it supports HD Tex mod) -
copy all the files from dgVoodoo folder and copy MS\x86\ddraw.dll, D3DImm.dll to the Rayman 2\ folder).
If you can't manage it to work, install nGlide (incompatible with HD Tex Mod).
Dege - developer of DgVoodoo repaired all FPS issues with DX6/tex mod in Rayman 2 by patching the game files (not only giving DX6 wrapper but also below fix). Replace these files in Rayman 2\DLL folder: https://www.vogons.org/download/file.php?id=83792
Now the game should keep constant 60 FPS even in DX6 and not only using nGlide (it also fixes dgVoodoo Glide FPS issues).
Keep scalling in dgVoodoo settings "unspecified". Otherwise, the 30 FPS lock will appear again.

1. Choose and download your package for your display proportion

List of resolutions for each proportion (16:9, 10 and others)
http://www.overclock.net/t/539967/list- ... ect-ratios

2. Replace .exe and textures.cnt with vignette.cnt in Rayman 2\data
3. Set your resolution and renderer (DX6 (dgVoodoo) or eventually Glide) in GXSetup.exe, or in UBI.ini,
always use x 16
(in the stock game "x 32" doesn't work - see at the bottom for fix [Glide only]).
If you can't run GXSetup, edit ubi.ini by content in boxes below.
4. If game is still stretched using nGlide, go to nglide_config and set the same resolution as in ubi.ini, there (for those using nGlide, with Glide renderer set in GXsetup/ubi.ini)
5. In case of any problems configuring GXSetup, additionally run it in Windows XP SP2 compatibility mode and as admin in case of resolution enumerating errors or see below for ready ubi.ini content.

For people using Rayman Control Panel:
"there's an option inside of RCP that runs the program as an administrator, that fixed the FPS dips when running the game through RCP"

7. Set your current resolution in dgVoodoo configurator after copying all the necessary files (MS\ddraw.dll and main wrapper libraries from the root folder.

The patched binary originally comes from GOG non-DRM version.
Enjoy!

It was for tex mod but - "I've had to enable "Fast video memory access" on my RX 580 - otherwise the textures were literally turning into white polygons if they were close to the camera."

Sometimes you need to run GXSetup if game doesn't work but using old GOG version choosing renderer may fail.
If you have any further problems with setting resolution, GXsetup crashes, and using just ubi.ini doesn't help, check this out:
http://raymanpc.com/forum/viewtopic.php ... 94#p981787
https://pcgamingwiki.com/wiki/Rayman_2: ... en_fix.29

If you still encounter FPS issues, install nGlide (incompatible with tex mod), run "nGlide Configurator" (search for it in OS, or look into Menu Start) and chose your resolution. I recommend turning off vertical synchronization and FPS will be capped to 63 FPS, but the game will run faster, and smoother than with V-Sync enabled. One downside is tearing, though. In 9xxx GT GPUs, quite contrary, turning off V-Sync can be required to fix the problem of too fast game. Afterwards, run GXsetup and choose nGlide, or replace content of ubi.ini from below.
I had one report that camera behind Rayman was too close in comparison to DX6 (dgVoodoo).

If you cannot run the game with dgVoodoo on fullscreen, or the game has very low FPS, and you still want to play the game with tex mod, but with 30 FPS, replace these files in Rayman 2\DLL folder: https://www.vogons.org/download/file.php?id=83792, and use dxwrapper instead of dgVoodoo:
https://www.pcgamingwiki.com/wiki/Rayma ... een_fix.29
But it's incompatible with Reshade yet.

For Nvidia 9xxx GT and other DX10 cards with very low FPS issues, small game window, and no resolution to choose in "DirectX" in dgVoodoo there was a bug in newer versions above dgVoodoo 2.55.3 which is currently fixed in 2.7 and above versions.

For newest GOG release owners on current W10 build and e.g. RTX 2060 - on a problem of game crashes/exits and more when neither nGlide or dgVoodoo (DX6, Glide) doesn't work.
- All changes in GXSetup produce mistake in ubi.ini:
GLI_DllFile=Dll instead of correct GLI_DllFile=GliDX6 or GLI_DllFile=GliVd1
Which leads to error of "Graphics Dll not found, run install".
- Just copy all of these files to your Rayman 2 folder:
https://yadi.sk/d/C_p47lJ5y-DuEw
- It will use nGlide from now. Download it also separately and install, then run nGlide Configurator and set your resolution and set Vulkan renderer. That's all. I wasn't able to launch dgVoodoo DX6 on this machine/newer GOG release.

Exemplary content of ubi.ini for Glide for those who don't want to mess with GXSetup anymore:

Code: Select all

[Rayman2]Choose = 1GLI_DllFile=GliVd1
GLI_Dll=Glide2
GLI_Driver=
GLI_Device=
GLI_Mode=1 - 1920 x 1080 x 16
Language=English
GLI_DllFile=GliVd1
ParticuleRate=High
alternatively:

Code: Select all

[Rayman2]
GLI_DllFile=GliVd1
GLI_Dll=Glide2
GLI_Driver=
GLI_Device=
GLI_Mode=1 - 1920 x 1080 x 16
Language=English
For using DirectX 6 renderer instead of nGlide (DX6 was default on CD retail version by the way)

for DX6 (Uplay-Wine wrapper):

Code: Select all

[Rayman2]Choose = 1GLI_DllFile=GliDX6
GLI_Dll=DirectX6
GLI_Driver=display
GLI_Device=Direct3D HEL
GLI_Mode=1 - 1280 x 1024 x 16
DX6 DXwrapper/dgVoodoo:

Code: Select all

[Rayman2]Choose = 1GLI_DllFile=GliDX6
GLI_Dll=DirectX6
GLI_Driver=display
GLI_Device=Direct3D HAL
GLI_Mode=1 - 1920 x 1080 x 16
GLI_DllFile=GliDX6
Language=English
dgVoodoo also supports this game in Glide, but it doesn't support Tex Mod. Dxwrapper doesn't support Reshade yet.

If you have the insert disk dialogue while using retail version, use GOG version, or see here:
http://raymanpc.com/forum/viewtopic.php ... 0#p1188953

32 bit depth fix (fixing work of "x 32" in ubi.ini) for PC: (only for Glide)
http://raymanpc.com/forum/viewtopic.php ... 2#p1111432

Console versions widescreen

Rayman Revolution (PS2) widescreen guide:

First download the widescreen patch: https://forums.pcsx2.net/Thread-PCSX2-W ... #pid271674 from the attachment of above post.
Now in PCSX2, go to Config > Emulation Settings > GS Window, and
make sure Aspect Ratio is set to 16:9. Also, go to System, and make sure
Enable Cheats is checked. Now load the game and the widescreen patch should apply automatically. (if something is not clear, read the tutorial in the link).

60 FPS hack for Revolution (PCSX2):
viewtopic.php?f=13&t=25214

Widescreen on PSX (PS1) version can be achieved on ePSXe since version 2.0 (options>gte hacks>widescreen [stretched on other resolutions than 16:9).

Widescreen on Dreamcast version is possible in two ways. Native, and via hack.

Native widescreen is just option in-game menu which enables only anamorphic widescreen on 4:3 render resolution, so display should be stretched from 4:3 resolution to 16:9. That's how it was intended to work on DC which originally not renders above 640x480 (4:3), so TV's OSD was responsible for stretching display (if it was 16:9 then) from 4:3 input resolution, but in form of anamorphic widescreen.

Via hack, so emulators like nullDC allow setting widescreen in emulator options. But graphics artifacts are similar to these on PC widescreen.

__________
[outdated - old PC widescreen patch with wrong HUD scaling]

Ready .exe (already modified binary) to
download:
https://www.sendspace.com/file/a4pf70

link without issues on Google Chrome:
https://yadi.sk/d/qy7nQGebrQnUA

same here (mirror)
http://www.gry-online.pl/S030.asp?ID=58476

another mirror (and 21:9 as well!):
http://www.wsgf.org/dr/rayman-2-great-escape/en

HUD is stretched, and type sometimes, and probably loading screens.
There are also various graphical glitches visible.
Last edited by deton24 on Thu Oct 08, 2020 3:20 pm, edited 85 times in total.
Haruka
Rayman 2
Posts: 26719
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 9:19 pm
Tings: 178780

Re: Rayman 2 PC Widescreen Patch (16:9, 16:10)

Post by Haruka »

This is something I might give a try soon or later.
OCG
Roméo Patti
Posts: 18568
Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 9:24 am
Location: RPC Pirate Ship
Contact:
Tings: 9900

Re: Rayman 2 PC Widescreen Patch (16:9, 16:10)

Post by OCG »

First Rayman 3, now Rayman 2? Awesome to be able to experience them finally non stretched but also without black bars on widescreen monitors :D
Image
Image [YouTube] [Facebook] [Twitter] [DeviantART]

[Skype: アンドリヤ (OCG)] [Xbox Live: OldClassicGamer] [PSN: OldClassicGamer] [Steam: OldClassicGamer] [Nintendo Network ID: OldClassicGamer] [3DS FC: 0275-8128-3030]

Thank Mr. Skeltal Image
anaphasiia
Pizzicatta
Posts: 219
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 11:50 am
Location: Manhattan
Tings: 3495

Re: Rayman 2 PC Widescreen Patch (16:9, 16:10)

Post by anaphasiia »

Wooow, this is awesome! :o I tried playing around with some files before, but I don't know many advanced methods.

I've been waiting for this day for so long - thanks you guys!
Image
Shrooblord
Froutch
Posts: 15671
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 5:07 pm
Location: The Buccaneer MK. II
Tings: 64535

Re: Rayman 2 PC Widescreen Patch (16:9, 16:10)

Post by Shrooblord »

I'm wondering how many areas in the game will now have "camera glitches through the wall" type deals where you're seeing parts of the level you were never meant to see because of the game's intended aspect ratio (in your video, for example, I find this very evident on the main menu where there's a white area to the left when you choose your save file).

But disregarding that - thank you so much! Awesome work.
Image
Play Rayman Arena (PC) online with friends~!
Dart wrote:Sometimes life just comes out of nowhere and demands a lot of your attention.
Quotedabot
Électoon
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 3:26 am
Tings: 20

Re: Rayman 2 PC Widescreen Patch (16:9, 16:10)

Post by Quotedabot »

"Please insert CD."


:/
Fifo
Grand Mini
Posts: 9013
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2013 7:08 pm
Location: rm –rf /*
Contact:
Tings: 735

Re: Rayman 2 PC Widescreen Patch (16:9, 16:10)

Post by Fifo »

deton24 wrote:I using 4:3 ;p
And I use 5:4 (1280x1024). What is your screen resolution?
Image
Signature made with love by R4Y_ANC3L
Fifo
Grand Mini
Posts: 9013
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2013 7:08 pm
Location: rm –rf /*
Contact:
Tings: 735

Re: Rayman 2 PC Widescreen Patch (16:9, 16:10)

Post by Fifo »

deton24 wrote:It's my resolution too.
Cool, we have the same resolution! :)

I find 1280x1024 to be good enough for normal purposes. I don’t need a lot of screen space. ;)
Image
Signature made with love by R4Y_ANC3L
deton24
Photographe
Posts: 924
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:22 am
Location: Poland
Tings: 7566

Re: Rayman 2 Widescreen Patch (16:9, 16:10)

Post by deton24 »

Hey everyone,
I received a PM from JohnnyGui, and sharing with it after permission:
I have a question regarding this though. It seems that if I turn the camera around in a level, there are objects on the sides of the screen that pop up or vanish immediately while they're still on the screen. I know that this is a known glitch since the game isn't designed for widescreen. But is there any fix to make those objects appear for a longer time and to keep them present at a larger range of camera view? Maybe there's something to change in the .exe file to fix this?[/code]

and I tried to asnwer somehow though, my knowledge is limited:

In my opinion, it's gonna be difficult to do such a fix since because it may require some changes in engine/renderer, and most of possible stuff needed to do this, still doesn't exists, since it would take a lot of time to disassemble game's code.
If you looking for a real widescreen patch, try nullDC and it's Dreamcast version of Rayman 2, which has native option of 16:9. But, it's anamorphic widescreen. It needs to be stretched (from 4:3 running resolution to 16:9 in order to work). And I really like this version, and it runs very smooth.

and shortened answer

Code: Select all

Really hope some day this would be fixed since Rayman 2 looks a lot more beautiful with widescreen.
Some discussion is welcome.
Last edited by deton24 on Tue Nov 06, 2018 2:02 am, edited 3 times in total.
RibShark
Matuvu
Posts: 1633
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 8:03 pm
Contact:
Tings: 120

Re: Rayman 2 Widescreen Patch (16:9, 16:10)

Post by RibShark »

Theoretically possible but I've not found a way to fix that as of yet.
JohnnyGui
Tribelle
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2016 8:12 pm
Tings: 80

Re: Rayman 2 Widescreen Patch (16:9, 16:10)

Post by JohnnyGui »

RibShark wrote:Theoretically possible but I've not found a way to fix that as of yet.
So I've been reading a bit about changing the FOV in a game and I've come to the following conclusion. Mind you, I'm still very new to this and I could be very wrong:

If the FOV value is somehow integrated in the .exe file as a hexidecimal value, one could open the .exe file with a HEX editor and edit that part, just like you did for enabling widescreen. The problem however is finding that exact value first. If one would know the exact FOV value of the original .exe file, maybe one could search for that value in hexadecimals in a HEX Editor and increase that value? I read that FOV's are usually written in a IEEE 754 standard format (four hexadecimal pairs).

Again, I could be very wrong about this but I'm wondering if this is a way one could approach this problem?
JohnnyGui
Tribelle
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2016 8:12 pm
Tings: 80

Re: Rayman 2 Widescreen Patch (16:9, 16:10)

Post by JohnnyGui »

deton24 wrote:Good ideas are not bad, but try to look on fact that most games use fov parameter in some external files as configs etc.
You are right indeed. One would then have to search for that exact FOV HEX value in every one of those files. Is there a way to know the exact FOV of the original game?
JohnnyGui
Tribelle
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2016 8:12 pm
Tings: 80

Re: Rayman 2 Widescreen Patch (16:9, 16:10)

Post by JohnnyGui »

deton24 wrote:Maybe someone from unlockray topic would be useful. There is an access to all packed files required to that. Szymski was doing some unpackers. It's worse with pack it again sometimes.
http://raymanpc.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=2406
You can write request there.
I've sent him a PM, hopefully I'll hear something. Are there specific unpackers that one can use for this?
Harpic fraîcheur
Électoon
Posts: 26121
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 7:57 pm
Tings: 0

Re: Rayman 2 Widescreen Patch (16:9, 16:10)

Post by Harpic fraîcheur »

Looks great but I rather to play the Dreamcast version. :P

I'll try this the next time I want to play the PC version.
Une nouvelle vague de fraîcheur, Harpic fraîcheur verte ! 8)
ImageImage
boomboleros7 wrote:Harpic est imbattable. Harpic est légendaire. Harpic est divin.
Sanhedrin wrote:“Il est autorisé d’avoir des rapports sexuels avec une fille de trois ans et un jour »
deton24
Photographe
Posts: 924
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:22 am
Location: Poland
Tings: 7566

Re: Rayman 2 Widescreen Patch (16:9, 16:10)

Post by deton24 »

Yep, DC version rocks. It's prettier, more complex, and allows to emulate on Android with Reicast.
Turn your tablet to handheld game console.
Though, widescreen doesn't work too good, but 4:3 on 9,7'' IPS looks amazing.
Only touch controls are not so comfortable. And don't forget about two buttons above X,O,Tr,D buttons.
Post Reply