Rayman 1

Talk about Rayman himself and Rayman games!

Moderator: English moderators

Which version is your favourite?

Jaguar
8
4%
PC
43
24%
PlayStation
101
57%
Saturn
13
7%
Game Boy Colour
1
1%
Game Boy Advance
6
3%
DSi
6
3%
 
Total votes: 178

The Jonster
Murfy
Posts: 30960
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2018 6:15 am
Location: Somewhere in a kingdom of mushroomy people
Tings: 80931

Re: Rayman 1

Post by The Jonster »

It really just comes down to memorizing things I think. Once you have her patterns down, it gets easier, even if you only have 3 hit points. Especially watch when she initially attacks with pots.
Image
Steo
Globox
Posts: 31438
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: Globox Village
Tings: 95115

Re: Rayman 1

Post by Steo »

Yeah the pots have that pattern where you just barely make it, then you still have to avoid her as she drops down again almost immediately. I really like the difficulty level of the first game personally, but it does partially rely on memory. Then again, most retro games relied on memorising patterns.
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687
Hunchman801
Bad Rayman
Posts: 81009
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2003 6:50 pm
Location: Paris, France
Contact:
Tings: 585732

Re: Rayman 1

Post by Hunchman801 »

dr_st wrote: Mon Jul 06, 2020 1:53 pm If you practice a little, that level is a piece of cake (especially after you got all your powers). You should never die, instead getting 2-3 lives every trip. I seem to recall I specifically chose Allegro Presto for the best combination of tings per total level length versus difficulty.
I remember doing the exact same thing when I needed additional lives. I think another reason is that the lives to time spent ratio for that level is also pretty good.
RayCarrot wrote: Tue Jul 07, 2020 7:04 am For that part the trick is to slide down without pressing jump. If so you will always go through them all perfectly.
That part cost me many lives before I realized what I had to do. I think I was running and I had to walk instead.
Steo wrote: Fri Jul 10, 2020 6:33 pm Yeah you have to be quick on her initial attacks otherwise you will just get cornered in at the edge of the screen.
StelzenBomber wrote: Fri Jul 10, 2020 6:52 pm And her hitbox to hit her is stupidly small for some reason
Yeah, I remember finding that first bit tricky as well. I would almost always miss at least one hit.
Image
The Jonster
Murfy
Posts: 30960
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2018 6:15 am
Location: Somewhere in a kingdom of mushroomy people
Tings: 80931

Re: Rayman 1

Post by The Jonster »

That's true, thinking about it, bc of all the sliding one can actually get through most phases of Allegro Presto relatively quickly. And there are a lot of Tings in the first phase that can be grabbed especially, along with the powerups underneath the back to map sign.
Image
PluMGMK
Tily
Posts: 33774
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: The besht small country in the world in which to do business!
Contact:
Tings: 39565

Re: Rayman 1

Post by PluMGMK »

Hunchman801 wrote: Fri Jul 10, 2020 9:38 pm
RayCarrot wrote: Tue Jul 07, 2020 7:04 am For that part the trick is to slide down without pressing jump. If so you will always go through them all perfectly.
That part cost me many lives before I realized what I had to do. I think I was running and I had to walk instead.
I must confess that I doubt I'd have figured that out without the KMG Associates walkthrough. :sad: It's a pretty nightmarish puzzle in fairness – might have been more suited to the beginning of the level, rather than the third and last section, where there's so much more to lose by walking away!
Hunchman801
Bad Rayman
Posts: 81009
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2003 6:50 pm
Location: Paris, France
Contact:
Tings: 585732

Re: Rayman 1

Post by Hunchman801 »

Maybe they should have spelled "WALK" with Tings or something. :mrgreen:

Kinda annoying for localization though.
Image
PluMGMK
Tily
Posts: 33774
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: The besht small country in the world in which to do business!
Contact:
Tings: 39565

Re: Rayman 1

Post by PluMGMK »

They had no issue writing "NO" in Tings a few metres away though! :mrgreen:
Steo
Globox
Posts: 31438
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: Globox Village
Tings: 95115

Re: Rayman 1

Post by Steo »

I remember making the same mistake and running like an eejit. :mrgreen:
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687
RayCarrot
Creveton
Posts: 2164
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 5:46 pm
Tings: 29585

Re: Rayman 1

Post by RayCarrot »

Speaking of spelling out things with tings, I just recently noticed in the GBA port they changed the PS buttons to spell out "DE" (Digital Eclipse):

PS1/PC
RaymanPS1US - Image 02.png
RaymanPS1US - Image 02.png (10.3 KiB) Viewed 1487 times
GBA
RaymanAdvanceGBAUS - Image 02.png
RaymanAdvanceGBAUS - Image 02.png (6.52 KiB) Viewed 1487 times
They also oddly changed the tings in Bongo Hills to spell out "RAYMAN":

PC
RaymanPC - Music 04.png
GBA
RaymanAdvanceGBAUS - Music 04.png
StelzenBomber
Dragon mécanique
Posts: 2209
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:07 pm
Tings: 25632

Re: Rayman 1

Post by StelzenBomber »

Interesting changes

But why would they change it
StelzenBomber
Dragon mécanique
Posts: 2209
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:07 pm
Tings: 25632

Re: Rayman 1

Post by StelzenBomber »

Sorry for the double

But apearently rayman was planned for the sega 32x

PluMGMK
Tily
Posts: 33774
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: The besht small country in the world in which to do business!
Contact:
Tings: 39565

Re: Rayman 1

Post by PluMGMK »

Wow, a parallax version of the dark forest background! :o I wonder if this one was running on the Jaguar engine or the one they developed for the other ports…
Hunchman801
Bad Rayman
Posts: 81009
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2003 6:50 pm
Location: Paris, France
Contact:
Tings: 585732

Re: Rayman 1

Post by Hunchman801 »

StelzenBomber wrote: Sat Jul 11, 2020 7:46 am But why would they change it
For the first one it's pretty obvious, but for the second one they probably just wanted to add their own touch to the game.
PluMGMK wrote: Sun Jul 12, 2020 10:12 pm Wow, a parallax version of the dark forest background! :o I wonder if this one was running on the Jaguar engine or the one they developed for the other ports…
Is that background present in any version?
Image
StelzenBomber
Dragon mécanique
Posts: 2209
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:07 pm
Tings: 25632

Re: Rayman 1

Post by StelzenBomber »

Im guessing a new engine for the 32x , maybe based on the jaguar engine
Steo
Globox
Posts: 31438
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: Globox Village
Tings: 95115

Re: Rayman 1

Post by Steo »

The parallax background actually makes it look pretty interesting.
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687
StelzenBomber
Dragon mécanique
Posts: 2209
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:07 pm
Tings: 25632

Re: Rayman 1

Post by StelzenBomber »

This bg doesnt exist in any other version as well if i remember correctly

Should raywiki mention this version?
PluMGMK
Tily
Posts: 33774
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: The besht small country in the world in which to do business!
Contact:
Tings: 39565

Re: Rayman 1

Post by PluMGMK »

Yep, I've never before seen a parallax version of that background, and I often thought it was disappointing that it was so flat even on PS1 and Saturn. Maybe whoever made the parallax version moved it instead of copying it into the 32X port files, and then it got lost when the port was scrapped – D'oh! :fou:
The Jonster
Murfy
Posts: 30960
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2018 6:15 am
Location: Somewhere in a kingdom of mushroomy people
Tings: 80931

Re: Rayman 1

Post by The Jonster »

I agree, that background in the video looks very interesting. I've never seen one like it.
Image
Steo
Globox
Posts: 31438
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:57 pm
Location: Globox Village
Tings: 95115

Re: Rayman 1

Post by Steo »

I've seen many parallax backgrounds in games, but it's pretty interesting how they didn't make it like this on PS1. It's still parallax in the way that it moves at a different speed than the foreground, but not quite like this where both backgrounds move parallax to each other.
Image
FC: 40210 | CF: 103059 | BOM: 94388 | LOTLD: 120486 | DOTK: 110450 | LS: 40810 | SBTC: 99693 | HH: 100028 | TOTL: 100563

TOTAL: 809687
Zinx
Tribelle
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 12:23 pm
Tings: 270

Re: Rayman 1

Post by Zinx »

I think that they could have done something similar on the Saturn port because it was very powerful to work with on 2D related graphics.
In general i don't know how they coded the Saturn port so good seeing as it also got the same issue with the Jaguar being very hard to code and program for.
Post Reply